Humans logo

Oh! War You Stole Her: The Battle Of Shopain

Sorry to be too optimistic not to care for you This is my mistake I think just because I believed " Everything Is Fair In Love and War"

By Zeeshan Mushtaq LonePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
3

Every one of us has a loved one in our lives. We have a person in our life who cares and loves us. These loved ones can be anyone. They can be parents, friends, wife, husband or even an old one. We share our happiness and miseries with them and console ourselves. Humans are social animals and the word ‘social’ means we have to be with one another. This love that we share is the only thing that makes a man a real human. But, sometimes this love doesn't last too long even if you both love each other. Even if you love your friends and they also love you, still some things put you away. This is the story of two lovers Laila and Majnu, who loved each other more than anything. But destination has some other plans for them. Let's hop in to see what parts them away...

In the early 19th century, Kashmir was ruled by Afghans (Rulers from Afganistan). This story is plotted in the Afghanis era. Afghans ruled Kashmir from 1762-1819. The end of Afghans in Kashmir was when they fought a battle against Sikhs. This Battle is known as the 'Battle of Shopian'. It's known so, because it was fought in District Shopian, Kashmir. Let's go fast forward to the story...

Laila and Majnu were true friends from their school days. Laila was the daughter of a poor farmer, and Majnu was the son of a handicapped carpenter. Both Laila and Majnu lived below the poverty line. Let me tell you this story as if I'm Majnu...

She was my early childhood best friend. We studied in the same govt. School. In our village co-education was not supported so when we reached the middle school level, we had to separate from each other. Besides, as a best friend Laila was my relative also. After middle school, I never saw her then. I lost my hope. But one day, after 16 years, I heard my mom and dad talking about my marriage with someone. They repeatedly took the name, Laila. Let me tell you the actual name of Laila was Haba. We often called her Haba, not Laila. No one knew her nickname is Laila, I also didn't know. So, when I heard my parents talking regarding someone about Laila, I was upset. Like a normal village boy, I told my parents I'm not ready to get married. I made an excuse just because I wanted to marry Haba, not knowing Haba and Laila are the two names of the same girl. I made an excuse that I want to earn more money before I get married, and my parents hopefully agreed. Then I went in search of my love. Shockingly, I got to know that the girl Laila about whom my parents were talking was the same girl I loved. I went home and told my parents I was ready to get married. They informed the parents of Laila about the same. But, unfortunately, they replied 'sorry her engagement is next week'. They had fixed Laila's marriage with someone from Srinagar. This thing shocked me from the core of my heart. My parents couldn't say anything the same as I. But, as It's rightly said 'matches are made in Heaven'. So was ours. The boy with whom Laila was about to get married was murdered in a neighbor fight that was over land and I got a chance to marry Laila.

So, Now our marriage got fixed. Our engagement went smoothly on 15 March 1819. Everyone was happy and I was much happier than everyone. It's not only because I loved Laila but because I needed her. She was not only my support, she was the support of my parents also in their old age. We were supposed to get married on 3 July 1819. I was waiting for this for years. In Kashmir, marriages happen in a different way. First, the groom goes to the bride's home and then brings her with him to his home. So, when I said we were to marry on 3 July 1819 it means that I was supposed to go to Laila's home on 03 July and bring her to my home on the same day.

Everything happened smoothly at the beginning. I went to Laila's home, which was in Heerpora Shopian. The plan was simple I go there, have some time with her family and bring Laila back to my village Sedew Shopain, which is 20 km in distance. As I reached Heerpora i.e., Laila's home, I was having tea and suddenly the trumpet was blown. This trumpet was blown only at times of war. It was night, everyone tried to hide but no one knew what was happening. I and Laila were sitting in the guest room and were unaware of everything outside. Then after a long time, someone called loudly ' Empty your houses you slaves, we are Sikh (Empire based in Panjab)'. I got it, I knew here in Kashmir we have Afghan rulers, and Sikhs have attacked Afghans. I took Laila with me and as we went outside the guest room we saw the heap of dead people. Sikhs had killed everyone who was in marriage. Now only me and Laila were alive. We wouldn't have been but as we were in the guest room they couldn't see us because it was in the ground like a hood.

We spent two days in the guest room as the war between Afghans and Sikhs was still going on. We decided to get out of the guest room as there was no food left and we were hungry. The sight was clear and we got out running towards the forests. There we saw many dead soldiers, but we didn't know from which side they were. We unclothed two of them and wore that army uniform to get out of sight from the Sikh army. I and Laila were still in Heerpora and our plan was to go to my village Sedew. We decided to go through forests as the roads were occupied by the Sikh army.

We traveled day and night and rested under a tree for that night. Meanwhile, when Laila was sleeping, I was caring for her. I was thinking in my mind what if I had married Laila last year? At least we would have been in my village this time. At least we would have died in our home, not in a forest. While I was thinking all this, I heard some noise. Someone was approaching us, and they were speaking the Punjabi language. I knew they were the Sikh army. I thought they will not do us anything as we are in the uniform of the Sikh army, but unfortunately, when they saw us they locked our arms and took us with them. Then we realized the uniform we have worn is of the Afghan army, not the Sikhs. They took us as prisoners of war. We were kept tied with two different pine trees. I didn't have fear of myself, I only cared about Laila. They told us to take out uniform and when we did so. They saw Laila was not any army personal but just a normal girl. They killed her in front of me. They cut her in front of me. They did want they could. They took my life from me. I cried as loud as I could. I cried for help but no one helped. I told them we just got married, but they didn't listen. They broke me up. I still remember my Laila's face before death. She saw towards me and said;

Majnu, Everything is not fair in love and war'

I knew why she said so. I knew what she meant by this. I got her feelings about how much she loved me. Then the Sikh army took me to jail and left me there to decompose without food and water. At the time of my death, I replied to my Laila's last words by saying;

Sorry to be too optimistic not to care for you This is my mistake I think just because I believed " Everything Is Fair In Love and War"

humanity
3

About the Creator

Zeeshan Mushtaq Lone

I'm a student and I also have conducted a marketing survey with ITC Limited. Multinational conglomerate company.

Twitter

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.