Humans logo

Books to read during quarantine

An incomplete list of my favorites

By Zeeshan Mushtaq LonePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Books to read during quarantine
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I like to read a lot. This is a completely incomplete list of books I have liked, which I would recommend you read during these bizarre times. You will see that some details are better than others. I got a little tired and so I called in some. My list, my rules.

God of Small Things

The God of Small Things is the debut novel of Indian writer Arundhati Roy. It is a story about the childhood experiences of fraternal twins whose lives are destroyed by the "Love Laws" that lay down "who should be loved, and how. And how much."

When I was in my 10th standard, my state book had a chapter that was extracted from the book 'The God of Small Things'. I loved this chapter and decided to read this book. So I did...

Friday Black, Intense, Real by Nana Kwame Adje-Brenniah.

Stories about racism, consumerism, violence, such as wrapped in a plot: a Black Friday incident that is a zombie battleground or a violent amusement park out of an actual horror film. I've been told that if you have the Black Mirror enjoyed , if you found this collection will like.

Wings of Fire _ Book by A. P. J. Abdul Kalam

Wings of Fire: An Autobiography of A P J Abdul Kalam, former President of India. It was written by Dr. Abdul Kalam and Arun Tiwari. Dr. Kalam examines his early life, effort, hardship, fortitude, luck and chance that eventually led him to lead Indian space research, nuclear and missile programs.

Chemistry , by Weik Wang:

Anonymous narrator is my favorite character of the past few years. She grapples with her professional failures and uncertainty around her future, while still managing to see her surroundings, feelings and experiences through a scientific, analytical lens.

Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde :

This book is very surprisingly funny. I don't know what to tell you, you just have to believe me.

Boy Snow Bird , by Helen Oyemi:

Snow White's stunning retailing, with additional layers of how our identity develops based on what we see in the mirror.

The Whit Way Tree by Elizabeth Crook :

I think you will be very surprised by this book. Historical fantasy, some surrealism but not much, is told in a style, while trying to hunt down a boy and his sister with a deadly panther.

Growing a Tree in Brooklyn, by Betty Smith:

Fun Fact: I had my friends 10th grade book report on this book! I know that "coming of age" sounds like a cop-out to describe a book, but I haven't used it here for a time and it's really such a cute coming-of-age story.

Marilo Is Everywhere by Sarah Ellen Smith :

I don't know why this book wasn't on the "lists" of "all the years". It was very surprising, and the heart is terrifying, and you feel that you will stop feeling what you will feel.

Stone, cutting for Abraham Varghese :

Belongs to "catharsis" and is embedded in the medical world. If now is not the right time to read this, then it is fine! Books await you.

Think and Grow Rich Book by Napoleon Hill

Thirteen Principles of Think and Grow Rich

  1. Principle 1 – Desire.
  2. Principle 2 – Faith.
  3. Principle 3 – Self Suggestion.
  4. Principle 4 – Knowledge.
  5. Principle 5 – Imagination.
  6. Principle 6 – Planning.
  7. Principle 7 – Decision.
  8. Principle 8 – Persistence.
  9. Principle 9 – Mastermind.
  10. Principle 10 – Transmutation.
  11. Principle 11 – Subconscious Mind.
  12. Principle 12 – The Brain.
  13. Principle 13 – Sixth Sense.

Steve Jobs Book by Walter Isaacson

Steve Jobs is the authorized self-titled biography of Steve Jobs. The book was written at the request of Jobs by Walter Isaacson, a former executive at CNN and TIME who has written best-selling biographies of Benjamin Franklin and Albert Einstein.

literature
1

About the Creator

Zeeshan Mushtaq Lone

I'm a student and I also have conducted a marketing survey with ITC Limited. Multinational conglomerate company.

Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.