Humans logo

O'Connell Bridge - Pt. 5

Christian lite - fiction

By Dub WrightPublished 5 years ago 11 min read

LC thought about checking on Caitlin before he climbed the stairs to his apartment, but with exhaustion quickly overtaking his body, he forced himself up the stairs and to his room. The apartment was quiet and empty. “Good, Mac’s not back.” LC put on his noise suppression headphones and collapsed on his bed.

At 7:30 PM, his phone alarm warned him to get ready for work. “Man, what a dream.”

There still was no noise from the apartment so he gently tapped on Arthur’s door.

“Yeah,” came the voice from within.

“Just checking to see if there were any warm bodies around.”

Arthur’s voice got louder. “Mac was here, I guess he’s gone again.”

LC laughed. “You mean he’s gone if he’s not sitting on the couch playing a game. He’s probably at work tossing pizzas.”

“Yeah, something like that.”

LC grabbed a clean towel and medical scrubs and then headed for the bathroom. Minutes later, he picked up his keys and trotted down the stairs.

He looked in the girl’s window; Caitlin was on the computer with a textbook on her lap. Betty Jo was curled up on the couch reading a glossy new novel. “All is well once again.” He kept on moving. Driving up Market Street, he got a message beep on his phone. He pulled over in a Publix Grocery Store parking lot and looked at the message, again it was from a coded source. It read: “Follow my instructions exactly.”

“Well, this is different.”

He drove on to the Emergency Room, worked his shift, and at 5:30 AM, he drove to Waffle House. “Suzi, coffee and a waffle, that’s all today.”

He checked messages on his phone until Suzi delivered his breakfast. “Hot waffle.” She set the plate down on the table with a butter pad and syrup. She had a newspaper folded under her arm.

“Early edition, you interested?” She handed LC the sports page.

“About afraid to,” he mused. LC elected not to fill Suzi in on the fiasco of the last couple of days. He sat and sipped coffee and read the sports page while paranoia crept over his mind. “I gotta get it out of my head.” By 6:30 AM, he was on the road again headed home. Although the girl’s drapes were pulled, he could hear activity and when he opened his own apartment door, he met Arthur headed out. “Hey, good morning.”

“Hey yourself. Headed for PF for a quick workout and get ready. Catch you tonight.” Arthur pushed by and carefully stepped down the stairs balancing a to-go cup of coffee and his workout gear, including one finger hooked over a hanger with his clothes for the day.

LC closed the door and walked into the kitchen where Big Mac stood frying eggs.

“Breakfast?” Mac asked.

“Ate at the Waffle House. I’m going under. Saw our roomy headed to PF.”

Mac laughed. “He refuses to shower here. See, we are forcing him to do physical training. Have a nice sleep.”

LC dropped his scrubs in a pile on the floor, put on his noise suppression headset, and crawled under the sheet. His phone woke him at 12:30 PM.

“Yes,” his groggy voice could only utter one word.

“Mr. Brennan?”

“Yes.”

“This is George Macon at Belk at Mayfaire. Like, I was asked to call you to let you know your clothes are ready.”

“Uh, what clothes?”

“Well, there’s quite a few, the order was placed on line you see, and my manager insisted that I make this call. But it had to be after 11:30 AM.”

LC was confused. “I didn’t order any clothes.”

The man on the phone continued. “Uh, well these are all paid including suits, sports coats, several shirts, and shoe credit, plus other items; and the memo says Liam Brennan, and this phone number.”

“Hold for a second.” LC slipped on dirty scrub pants and went into the living room and searched, then he went to the bathroom and looked around. Finally, he opened the front door and noticed an envelope thumb-tacked to the guard rail. “I musta missed it this morning.” He tore the envelope open and a paper with the words in cutouts from a magazine read: “Do exactly as I say.”

“Mr. Macon, does it say who ordered the clothes.”

“No sir; just your name, paid, and a credit for a formal, all-weather jacket and shoes; which I will explain if you come to the store. Just ask for me in the men’s department.”

“How long are you open sir?”

“I’m here till six this evening. The fittings shouldn’t take too long.”

“I’ll be there as fast as I can.” LC disconnected and ran through the shower, put on clean clothes, and rushed out the door. Caitlin was sitting on a porch chair when he ran down the stairs.

“Where’ya headed in such a hurry. Sorry, just being nosey.”

“Belk.” He paused. “Crazy, somebody bought me clothes.”

Caitlin perked up. “Any ladies clothes?”

“I don’t know. The call just said clothes.”

“Can I ride along? I need to look at shoes. But, if there’s clothes involved, this girl is always interested.”

“I think the gift includes shoes.”

“Wow, you’ll introduce me to this sugar mama, right? I need a sugar daddy.” Caitlin started down the porch stairs. “Oops, be right back, forgot purse.” She turned and went into the apartment.

LC trotted to his truck and slid into the driver’s seat. “No note, this is starting well. I get a pretty girl to go shopping with me, albeit she’s looking for her own shoes.” A couple of minutes later, Caitlin joined him.

“Okay, let’s go.”

“Lose your purse?”

“No, why?”

“The just a second turned into several minutes.”

“LC, you need a trainer; a woman to teach you things. You never went shopping with your mother?”

“Nope, I had sisters.”

“Oh.”

“So, we are off to Belk for free clothes.”

Caitlin slid in and leaned against the door. “Who’s buying these clothes?”

“I don’t know.”

“You’re kidding.”

“No really. It’s all part of this mystery nonsense.”

“Wacko.” Caitlin giggled. “With money; that’s the kind of wacko I like. Aunt Tess pays my tuition, room, and board; and expects me to help her when not in school; but I doubt a 60 year old is stalking you. Ooh gross, just had a decadent thought. You hooking up with my aunt.”

“I don’t even know your aunt, maybe she’s available? Is she a looker, as cute as you? You don’t know if she needs a boyfriend, uh a younger one.”

Caitlin slapped his arm. “You know, you’re really grossing me out.

“Hey.”

Twenty minutes, later they parked at Mayfaire shopping center and in front of the Belk department store. Caitlin walked ahead. “I’ll be here on the first floor in women’s clothes, but if you take off your clothes in a dressing room, call me. I’ll come help.”

“Cait.”

“Fuddy duddy.” Caitlin waved as she walked into the women’s department while LC rode the escalator up to the second floor and men’s department. He asked a clerk for Mr. Macon and waited near the cashier’s station. A few minutes later, a pale-looking, balding man, dressed in a white shirt with blue tie, approached him.

“Mr. Brennan?”

“That I am. You must be Macon, at least that’s what your nametag says.”

“Yes, I’m the departmental assistant manager. This most unusual purchase, as I said on the phone, an order was placed through our online system and all the details specified. The only thing you have to do is be fitted for the sports jackets, and the suits, and then try on the dress pants, and shoes. I need to look at the list, there may be more.”

LC shook his head. “I’m baffled.”

“Well, let’s work in reverse order. First shoes; you get two pairs of athletic shoes, Polo or New Balance, the deck shoes are Dockers, and the dress shoes you can choose from Nunn Bush, Rockport, or Florsheim. My notes says you wear a size 10, is that correct?”

“Generally, yes.”

Several boxes of shoes were stacked around a bench and it took LC only minutes to try them all on and select the ones he liked, and disregard the ones he thought were old men’s shoes. “Okay, what’s next?”

“Okay, all of the shoe order will be duplicated, so you will have more than one of each style, my guess in at least two colors.”

“There are 12 sports shirts, eight are knit. Do you want to see them?”

“All size large?”

“Yes, I believe that is what was specified.”

“Good to me, what’s next.”

“Sport coats, you have two Cotton and Ivy jackets and three suits, all of which you must try on. Oh, ties and white shirts are included on the order. I see you have a size 16 neck line. And, two formal white shirts need cuff links, and I have several pairs laid out for you to choose.”

“You’ll put this stuff in boxes for me? I have a pickup; not a lot of room for fancy clothes.”

Macon looked up. “Oh, you don’t get any of this, I guess, for right now. After you are fitted, the whole lot, including suitcases, is due to be shipped to an address in Dublin, Ireland. Fees and shipping have already been paid, I understand.”

LC picked up his phone intending to call Caitlin, but a message popped up. “Do Exactly as I say.”

He finally dialed Caitlin, who was already on the escalator on her way to the second floor. “Hey, you gotta hear this.”

“I’ll be there in 10 seconds.”

LC turned to see Caitlin approaching. “Cait, I don’t get to keep any of this stuff.” He pointed to the cuff links and other clothes accumulated at the cashier’s table.

“What?”

“Oh, Mr. Macon, this my friend Cait.”

The manager smiled and offered his hand to Caitlin. “As I was telling Mr. Brennan. Absolutely all of the clothes he will be trying on are being shipped to Ireland.” He looked at LC. “I assumed that you were going to Ireland very soon?”

LC chuckled. “I guess if I want the clothes, I am supposed to go.”

Caitlin nudged him. “Have you priced airfare?”

Macon pointed to the cuff links. “Which pair?”

LC pointed at one set and Caitlin shook her head.

“That’s too elderly, get the others with the small diamond stud, there’s a silver pair and a gold pair and maybe a couple of plain ones, gold and a silver.”

“Why not, it’s not like I’m wearing them tonight anyway.”

Macon walked toward a display. “Here’s the underwear specified, you get to pick 12 pairs. I’m told you prefer boxers.”

LC looked at Caitlin, “Wanna help? You can pick out about anything in a boxer style. I would prefer no cutie animals or anything of the kind. But, I really don’t mind what else you choose. After all, I put you to bed the other night. But, I don’t want blue silk underwear. Get half V neck t-shirts and half crew neck.”

Caitlin seemed upset. “How do you know I was wearing blue silk underpants?”

LC could feel his face flush. “Uh, I undid your jeans so you could breathe.”

“Oh,” Caitlin ducked her head. “Betty Jo didn’t tell me.”

“I don’t think she was there, she was getting the bucket.”

“Oh.” She turned away and pulled off several pair of boxers. “Here, are these alright?”

“Good to me.” LC replied while staring at the socks preselected. “Hmm, no white cotton socks?”

Macon looked over his shoulder. “Wasn’t in the order. But I’ll throw in a bundle of white Gold Toe, your order is quite extensive.”

“Okay, what’s next?”

Macon pointed to the wall. “Dressing room is over there.”

Caitlin was already walking that way. “I’ll help him.”

A half-hour later, LC and Caitlin walked up to the cashier’s station.

“Is that it?”

“One small thing. Sleepwear.”

LC coughed. “Like really?”

Macon nodded.

“Here, these are perfect.” Caitlin held up a nylon pair of ice blue sleep bottoms.

“Okay. Cait toss them on the pile. Mr. Macon, is that all now?”

Macon grinned, “Well, it’s all you have to make decisions on, the rest is odds and ends, toiletries and such. I’ll handle it if that’s okay?”

“Good to me. Okay, I’m out of here. Thanks for your help, I guess.” LC put his hand in the middle of Caitlin’s back and gently pushed.

“Hey pushy, take me to Boombalatti's, I’ll let you buy me an ice cream.” Caitlin turned and took LC’s hand, squeezed his fingers, and pulled him to the escalator.

“You know the way to a guy’s heart.”

Caitlin laughed. “Or pancreas, I know you haven’t had your sugar rush today. And I, for one, like you at your sweetest.”

“Speaking of pancreas, I have my last Human Physiology class tomorrow. I’ve already turned in the final so I don’t even have to attend. I’ll officially be a college graduate, woo hoo. With pending graduate school applications floating everywhere.”

Caitlin squeezed his hand. “Cool. We can officially celebrate. Do something totally decadent; we could go skinny dipping at the beach.”

“Somehow beach sand and sticky, salty, skinny dipping doesn’t exactly go together.”

Minutes later, they were sitting in the trendy ice cream parlor enjoying treats, and chatting about nothing in particular. LC felt distracted.

“So, no nibbles for grad school?” Caitlin interrupted LC’s sudden, and unexpected, silence.

“Oh, uh. Probably, Carolina or ECU. I haven’t heard yet from either one of those or others I applied to, but the pre med program dictates a strong anatomy and biology background; I have most of that so I shouldn’t break the bank, like I should qualify for some grants,” he laughed. “Make that the student loan company.” He paused. “I have applications elsewhere too you know. NYU looks promising.”

“Well, it’s only May and you didn’t send your applications in especially early, you might be one of those taking grad classes without a program.”

“Yeah.”

“LC, what’s the blue funk you seem in? How can I cheer you up?” She leaned over and touched his hand.

He reacted and touched Caitlin’s fingers. “This whole mystery thing got into my head. Now, this clothes thing.”

She gripped his fingers. “Well, when school’s out, I have to go to Boston for the summer and do diligence with Aunt Tess. I think I am due to be the relief maid or something. You know, you could come help me. Maybe take a class at Northeastern. Be my roommate.”

LC laughed. “Your aunt would probably love to have a lumbering pre med student shacking up with her niece.”

Cait almost spit her ice cream laughing. “No way, she’d be all over you like the chocolate syrup on this ice cream. She may be 60 years old, but she’s a party waiting to happen. Of course, you’d have to take your tea hot and dress for dinner, but the cocktail hour, shall we say, gets a little dicey. Like I said, she’s the life of the party. I think she stayed single after my uncle died so she could party and play the field.”

“I hope people say that about me when I’m older. Your aunt sounds like a lot of fun.”

Caitlin high fived LC. “Say, dirty old man. Take me home you cad, chasing after my aunt.” She laughed and stood quickly brushing the front of her blouse. “So, you really unbuttoned my pants?”

“Just unsnapped the top button, really.” He laughed. “In the condition you were in, I could have taken full advantage of you and you wouldn’t even have noticed.”

She laughed and walked away. “I forgot you prefer older women.”

To be continued...

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Dub Wright

Curmudgeon; overeducated; hack writer; too much time in places not fit for habitation.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dub WrightWritten by Dub Wright

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.