Humans logo

NFT: No F**k This

A story about digital art

By Andres Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
This is my work

Do you know what NFTs are?, Mark said.

No, I said.

Everybody's coming in, Mark said.

But what is it?, I said.

A new kind of art, –said Mark–. You like to draw, right?, he said.

I hadn't heard of that, I said.

You know that, Mark said.

I hadn't really heard of NFTs, I mean, maybe I heard them mentioned, but it escaped my brain as fast as it got. So it's a new art, I thought. Maybe I could do something. I just had to do a little googling to find out. In short, NFTs are a kind of virtual contract that allows transactions between people in a secure way. There are platforms to sell NFTs, the best known is OpenSea.

Everyone is making money, Mark said.

How much?, I said.

A lot, Mark said.

There was no reason not to try. But something that nobody says is that to create NFTs you need money, a lot of money. Apparently the transaction fees are high. At that time I had $100, nothing more. Mark insisted that he try. The complications appeared one by one. First you have to get a type of digital currency, something that does not give me confidence. It's like a game, Mark said. And it seemed like it, entering the world of this digital art was an adventure.

However, he was not clear about what he could do with the NFTs. I like to draw, but I couldn't tell if what I'm doing is something that works like an NFT.

The art on this platform is insane, said Mark.

I don't even understand it, I said.

The art is very different from other things I have seen, there were images that even looked like memes.

I'm not sure it's something I want to be into, I said.

Lots of money, Mark said.

Tempting, I thought.

How could you make an NFT that someone wanted to sell? Where do I get the money to do it? As soon as I have time to write, I will have to get another job and sleep less. A new technology, I don't know. This sounds like something to me that would be in a video game. The aesthetics of digital art encompasses hundreds of things. I still don't even understand what it is about, or how money is made.

I need to learn how to do this kind of thing, I said.

We will make money, said Mark.

The $100 dollars became $80 after buying a cryptocurrency, the next day it was $65 dollars. With that I bought two pictures in which a pig smiles. Life is a constant search for wealth, I thought.

The afternoon passed very quickly, we read and watched YouTube videos. I learned some basic things; the blockchain, the speculation, I learned about the Beeple case and the Cryptopunks. Also about the Cryptokitties. I was entering a fascinating world. In my head I shine the image of myself drawing and becoming an artist. Could I do it? Things are complicated in the world, my parents' basement is turning into a cave from which I cannot escape. There is a possible way out of all this disaster that is my life. Mark lit a joint. I opened a few beers.

Imagine we become real artists, said Mark.

What is it to be a real artist? I said.

I don't know, sell a lot, said Mark.

I doubt it, but I wouldn't say no to a lot of money, I said.

What would you spend the money on?, said Mark.

I'd get out of here, I said.

Where to?, said Mark.

I don't know, to France maybe, I said.

It was very late when Mark went to his house, I was spinning in my head. I thought of Aria, the girl who lives across the street. Maybe if she saw me succeed she might fall in love with me. I'm tired, I said. I closed my eyes to dream of another kind of life.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Andres

I write...

🦂🥀

https://bybio.co/andres

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.