Humans logo

New Purpose

Old Things

By Meagan CastanedaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

At a young age I had tons of stuffed animals, probably like most kids. Although would argue that my collection was pretty big. They were of every animal and size. All of them together easily took up the whole bed which was a queen. One Valentine's Day even got like about twenty stuffed animals at once. On that day I woke up and saw them all on the couch, of course being a kid that made me happy. Then as time went on some were let go and some still are with me. Getting rid of them were so hard being a little kid. To the point were my mom did kind of have to force me. Did not help that also had a walk-in closet which made me want to keep them even more. Ar0und the young teenage years still had like a small amount from before. A few were some big teddy bears. One was like this long stuffed weenie dog with hearts. In my room there was a spot which they were like on a chest. Those I guess were my favorite due to the size. They were close to my inner child which still is with me.

Fast forward to me being a little bit older and working. By this time there really was not much to give away. If it was clothes then the first place it would go is good will. Plus it's close to were I am so don't have to go far. For some reason stuffed animals is my weakness. Getting rid of anything else was easy. Like you can see from earlier in the story my stuffed animals were a touchy subject. Another thing that comes to mind for me when giving something is will it be used? Like for the toys they should go to like kids or something like that. Taking them to good will it might take months before getting sold. After hearing from my coworkers about how they have kids it was perfect Here kids were not to little, but had younger nieces and nephews so it still worked. It seems to be mostly me who does not have kids. Being older the toys did not do much. Did take a picture of them before had just to keep a memory at least. Went ahead and gave them to her and she says her nieces and nephews love them. It did feel nice to know they are useful to someone. There is still a smaller collection that stays in my closet, I believe they are staying.

Of course there are like charities for lots of things which is hard to donate. Seeing as hours get are getting cut due to what's going on makes everything tight. Eventually I would like to donate to some, but my budget is strict. In the future volunteering is another option. Like at shelter for animals, wild or not. Animals have always had a place in my heart for as long as ever. That would be nice because sometimes it's hard to know who to trust. Part of my hesitation does come from that since lots of information gets passed on the internet. Does take a while to figure out the truth from the fiction. There will be more spare time in the future for that. Donating money is not the only way to help which is the moral of the story. It's fun to find other ways and this is my good dead which was the most recent. In the future I'll have more resources to help in other ways for people.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.