Humans logo

My Wife Ran Away

What should I do?

By Raghavendra S RaoPublished 10 months ago 6 min read
4
Photo by Josh Gordon on Unsplash

Sunday morning 7:00 AM

My bedside clock went off. I opened my eyes, grabbed the clock, and switched off the alarm.

It was a nice, bright morning. The sun was already up, its light streaming through the window curtains of my bedroom. After rubbing my eyes and lazily stretching on the bed for a few minutes, I got up.

I headed straight to the bathroom, where I brushed my teeth. It was then that I realized it was Sunday. A smile spread across my face, knowing I didn't have to go to work. I made plans in my mind to spend more time with my wife today.

After completing my daily chores, I stood in front of the mirror, drying myself after the shower. As I began to comb my hair, a thought struck me. I wanted to make an impression on my wife today.

Impressing my wife

Lately, she had been feeling down and keeping to herself. I decided to adopt a new hairstyle inspired by the 1960s, featuring a small tuft of hair at the center front. I hoped she would appreciate it.

mage of a legendary movie star from India, Dev Anand famous for his hair style, By Filmfare — October 1957 issue, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=132888468

After pampering myself for a bit, I stepped out of the bathroom, clad in a nice T-shirt and shorts, ready for breakfast. I returned to the bedroom.

I noticed that my wife wasn't in bed. I called out her name several times, assuming she had gone to the living room or perhaps she was using the bathroom to freshen up.

To my surprise, there was no response. I searched the entire house, but she was nowhere to be found. It was unusual because my wife never goes out for a jog or any morning workout.

By Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Then suddenly, I noticed an envelope near the bedside lamp.With curiosity, I opened the envelope and discovered a one-page note inside. To my surprise, it was addressed to me, written in my wife's handwriting.

Message from my wife

The note contained the heartbreaking message: 'I regret to inform you that I am leaving this house permanently, with no intention of returning. I no longer wish to remain in this marriage."

The note went on to say, "I have been feeling lonely and neglected for a long time. I have found someone else in my life who truly cares about me and respects me."

"Please don't misunderstand, you have been a good husband. However, I have been yearning for something more substantial, something that our marriage could not fulfill."

"I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me for leaving so abruptly and without prior notification. I will provide further details in due course."

My wife ran away

As I read that note again, I was overwhelmed with shock—completely shocked! My thoughts raced uncontrollably, and I found myself repeating the same phrase over and over again.

My wife left me! My wife just left me!

I couldn't fathom the fact that my wife had abandoned our marriage for another man. The idea that she had been having an affair all this time was unfathomable.

I felt devastated, leaving me feeling hollow and empty inside. The weight of terrible emotions engulfed me. Many questions went through my mind.

What was happening? Why now? What did I do wrong? What was lacking in our marriage? Had I said something to hurt her? Apart from minor misunderstandings, we hadn't had any major fights.

Perhaps I failed to satisfy her? Maybe my affection was insufficient?

I found myself incessantly blaming myself for not trying hard enough, for not being enough to keep her by my side.

I just sat in my bedroom, clutching her note tightly in my hand. Desperate for answers, I dialed her number repeatedly. But she did not answer.

After some time, it dawned on me.

My wife ran away.

My wife just ran away. ..... with another man.

What should I do?

I was not sure of my next course of action. I pondered my options. If I were to reach out to my parents and siblings, their reaction would likely be overwhelming and also upset them unnecessarily.

Sharing this news with my friends might bring sympathy, but it would also invite endless discussion and speculation.

Disclosing such juicy gossip to my neighbors would surely result in the rapid spread of distorted narratives, adding further complexity to my already bad situation.

I left the bedroom and went to the living room, and looked around aimlessly. Then I went to the kitchen and poured myself a glass of water.

I returned to the living room and sat on the couch. I took a refreshing sip, hoping to quell the rush of frantic thoughts racing through my mind.

Hours seemed to pass as I sat there, immobilized by the overwhelming weight of uncertainty. I felt utterly lost, unsure of what steps to take or how to navigate this unexpected turn of events.

Emotional tsunami after marriage

Then I realized, before marriage, I was always happy, sometimes, sad, or upset, and maybe jealous. But overall I was mostly happy and content with my life.

After marriage, especially after this incident, I went through the entire breadth of emotions that any human beings would have gone through.

  • I started the day feeling happy and content, only to be abruptly struck by shock upon reading the note.
  • The initial shock quickly transformed into a mix of anger and sadness as the reality sank in, that my wife had left me for another man.
  • Panic gripped my thoughts, leaving me uncertain and anxious about what the future held.
  • Amidst all that, a tinge of jealousy arose, knowing that another man now held the affections of the woman who was once my wife.
  • And in the depths of my despair, I couldn't help but turn inward, blaming myself for not satisfying her needs.
  • Worrying about how the world will perceive about our broken marriage.

I had not been through so many emotions all at once before marriage. I was a wreck.

I was emotionally drained.

In an attempt to distract myself from the overwhelming thoughts, I switched on the television, aimlessly surfed through various channels. As I sat there, I absentmindedly sipped the remaining contents of my glass of water. The weight of all these thoughts and mental exhaustion took its toll, and before long, I dozed off.

Alarm goes off again

The sound of the alarm jolted me awake, and with sleepy eyes, I reached over to silence it. As I slowly came to my senses, I realized that I was still lying in bed.

Confusion clouded my thoughts until I turned around, and to my surprise, I felt the presence of a warm body next to me. It was my wife, who had also been awakened by the alarm, leaning over me with a tender smile.

Overwhelmed with relief and joy, I instantly kissed her, savoring the connection we shared. I held her tightly in my arms, cherishing the moment and the realization that it had all been just a dream—a vivid and seemingly real one at that.

In that moment, a profound sense of gratitude washed over me. I thanked whatever higher power may be, for the blessing of being awake and for the precious gift of being with the love of my life.

From that day forward, a profound shift occurred within me. I made a solemn promise to myself that, for the remainder of my life, I would cherish every single moment I spend with my wife.

The stark realization of the fragility and preciousness of our bond had etched itself deeply into my heart.

I resolved to be fully present, to appreciate the beauty of our shared experiences, and to nurture our love and connection with unwavering devotion. I would no longer take our relationship for granted, or allow the distractions of life to overshadow the profound joy that came from being with her.

With renewed determination, I embarked on a journey of cherishing every breath, every touch, and every word exchanged between us.

Each day became an opportunity to create cherished memories, to express my love wholeheartedly, and to cultivate a stronger bond that would endure the tests of time.

Hope you enjoyed this fictional story!

Please comment below with your thoughts and suggestions.

By Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

advicemarriagelovefamilyfact or fiction
4

About the Creator

Raghavendra S Rao

Passionate about life, people, animals, nature, and surroundings. Love flying airplanes. Educate everyone in various phases of life. Love technology. Learn new things. Help and contribute time and money to the less fortunate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    OMG, I though she really ran away. This was a wonderful story. Did not expect the ending to be hopeful. Really enjoyed this.

  • 📝❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.