Humans logo

My war

When does it end?

By Omah AmandaPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
Round and round and round we go

”Do you think I will ever be without you?”, I say in despair.

We had reached the point where I could stare right into my enemy’s eyes, I was not sure if I was staring because I feared or because I was powerful.

I bet the reason for my stare was only unclear to me, I would probably figure it out. Or not.

“Will I ever be without you?

Will there be a time when you and all your friends will not be with me?

May I be allowed to be without you? Please”. I was hoping my desperate plea would be enough. Enough to be set free.

I underestimated how cold it could be, a little too much.

Cold fingers caress my face, I shudder in fear. Fear because I did not know what to expect next.

“You and I know you can not be without me. Even if I let you go”.

“That’s a lie”, I defend. “If you would truly… truly let me be. My life would be perfect.

But you are always here, preying on me. Watching me.

The second I feel free, you swoop in and attempt to drown me”, I’m on a roll and just want to express everything I feel.

“Drown you?”.

“How dare you ask me that in disbelief? I hate you so much”, I exclaim.

“Yet you can not live without me”.

“I will and I can. I need to find a way to shake you off permanently”, I resolve strongly.

I am met with silence. Then after a moment,

“It is hilarious to watch you think you can gain control over me. I am practically your soul at this point.

Your soul is equivalent to anxiety. That is why every time you run away, I get back to you. You call for me without even realizing it, you are mine!”.

Anxiety wraps me in it’s cold embrace, I should run but it feels so good. I want to be here but I do not want to.

I love it here but I hate it so much.

Sometimes the cold can be your best friend, I begin to return the embrace.

Drowning down, down, down,

I can feel myself spiral down, so fast that I forget what it feels like to be up.

Up?

I love up, good things happen up. Up is warm, I wish I’d be up forever. And then,

I scream!

Air, I need air. This thought pushes me till I break out the surface.

I feel free, shaken up but free.

I am pretty much familiar with this though, freeing my self from anxiety and starting to feel normal.

I know how it goes though, I always fall back.

Just the thought of it makes me feel like I am about to be swallowed up again.

I can not let that happen, I refuse to.

One way or the other I must break this cycle.

I watch what I say, what I do and how I feel. Anything to never be revisited.

My worst enemy or my best friend, I an unsure what anxiety is to me.

Sometimes I bask in its presence, other times I wallow in despair and try to fight.

A misstep, a poorly corrected error and I’m back into falling. The cycle continues.

Most of the time I know how to stop the fall before it starts, but I refuse to.

Maybe I do love anxiety, maybe it is a permanent part of my life.

I would do anything to run but sometimes,

Sometimes, I want to watch what happens next.

Will it kill me?

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.