Humans logo

My Three Pet Peeves…

Of driving. It’s hard being a motorist. Let me explain why.

By Iris HarrisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
My Three Pet Peeves…
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

I detest driving. Honestly I do. I don’t know about the driving experience in other states, but for where I reside…it’s a NIGHTMARE. It’s one I try to avoid as much as possible. Unfortunately, in order to gain the most out of life I need to drive to events of my liking. For all those road riding enthusiasts, you may be questioning my abhorrence towards the four wheeled adventure: “What would have had to happen to a person to change their attitude towards the freedom offered by a four-wheeled vehicle?” Well, aside from the constant fear of accidents and falsely issued citations, an explanation is due.

Don’t Drive So Close to Me

This is as simple as it is. One of my greatest pet peeves is witnessing a car approaching so close to my rear bumper that they are practically in my back seat. It’s the moment when you, the driver, can no longer see the tailing car’s headlights because it has fallen below the horizon of your back window. I worry if I have to make a sudden stop the car behind me will instantly become lip-locked with my back bumper permanently. I know the reckless driver would be at fault for riding dangerously near me, but I would be upset if I have to wait for my car to be repaired because of an overly anxious vehicle operator. Normally, when I witness a tailgating tyrant, I immediately signal for a lane change and move out of the way to avoid any road collisions.

The Driving Rendezvous

Where I live, there are many two lane roads. A knowledgeable driver knows that the two lanes are purposefully made to provide a slow and passing lane. Most people do not understand the purpose of the right lane. It is designed for those who wish to drive below the speed limit and “smell the proverbial roses of the road.” Meanwhile, the left lane is named the “passing lane” to allow those who need to pass with care.

The problem (one of many) comes when two people who are heading in the same direction happen to realize they know each other. In most cases, this coincidental occurrence ends with each waving to the other and one progressing ahead towards their destination. Every once in a while a rendezvous blossoms instead and the two asphalt rollers attempt to synchronize their velocities in order to enjoy a conversation complete with a cappuccino. Meanwhile, behind the two automobiles, an annoyed audience forms and become prisoners until the driving discussion comes to a close.

I often wonder what goes on in the minds of people who decide to play “social catch-up” with their family or friends they run into on the road. Why can’t they just pull over and talk off the road instead of while driving? Do they not know each other’s cell number? Are they unaware of the herd of moving metal behind them? Whatever the reason, this is definitely a pet-peeve I had to add to this list.

The Weeknd’s Blinding Lights

When I first began driving, headlights were a soft glow that displayed the road. Unless someone forgot to switch their highlights off, there were blinding lights flying towards me. Recently, there has been a disturbing influx of high definition headlights where I live. While I like to respect the fact that a person has a right to do whatever modifications they want to do to their vehicle, I would also like to point out the inconvenience these decisions have on your fellow motorists. It is terrifying trying to drive at night when you suddenly have your vision is impaired because of high defining headlights. That life threatening situation increases when the HDLs are on their bright setting. When this occurs I cannot help thinking how “blinded by the lights” I am, but I’m not looking for eternal sleep upon the metallic touch of another vehicle or lamppost. Hard pass.

Instead of The Weeknd, I have to become Corey Hart and wear my sunglasses at night just so I can keep track of the visions in my eyes (namely the road). With the excessive amount of light illuminating the road where I live, it’s almost like driving during the daytime. The good news is I am able to see the road while wearing sunglasses, especially when the HDLs come glaring in view .

I Have Reached My Destination

These are just three of the many annoying factors on the road for me. Trust me there is more and with my age increasing like the temperatures of climate change, I find more and more reasons to desire hanging up my keys and leaving the driving to others. Until I can actually afford a chauffeur, I will continue driving defensively for my life.

What about you? What are some incidents you find annoying while driving? What other situations would you like me to write about? Let me know in the comments below and I will make a part two to this driving disturbances.

humor
1

About the Creator

Iris Harris

An aspiring novelist. I enjoy writing ghost, horror, and drama. Occassionally, I dabble with some essays. You can find more of my work with the link below:

Learn more about me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    Loved and subscribed! Can't wait to read more of your work! Consider having a look at mine and if you like it, please subscribe... there's a lot to come! I look forward to seeing more of your work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.