Humans logo

My Story 2

The chilling experience of encountering a 'father-figure'.

By Ms. HellenaPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
2

DISCLAIMER: This narrative includes a detailed account of child abuse. If such stories evoke traumatic reactions, it is recommended to read with caution.

Today, I took a moment to reflect on my life and a particular incident came to mind that completely changed the course of my journey. It's a memory that still haunts me to this day. Let me share with you this horrifying experience from my early years.

After leaving my grandmother's house, my aunt took me in as her own. She had just gotten married into a wealthy family with a lavish lifestyle. They owned a ranch and were prominent suppliers of agricultural products in the region. Needless to say, the comfort and stability I experienced with them was a stark contrast to my previous life with my grandmother. Back then, missing a meal or two was a normal occurrence, I had the privilege of sitting under the shade of a tree, listening to my grandmother's stories of her past joys.

I started high school a year after leaving primary school. I was enrolled in a girls' boarding school in a different town, and I was thrilled about the change and the new environment. The school term lasted for three months, followed by a month-long break. The first year went well, and my grades were excellent. Did I mention that I was a bright student? I consistently achieved straight As. Now you know.

As the second year began, I blossomed into a beautiful young woman. I was a proud black beauty, with a smile that could light up a room. My slender figure was enviable, and my hips added to my overall allure. Naturally, I caught the attention of the boys around me. Their heads turned whenever I walked by, their voices cracking as they tried to speak, and their faces still healing from acne breakouts. Their broadening shoulders were a symbol of their emerging masculinity. But to be honest, this newfound attention made me uncomfortable. As a shy and introverted person by nature, I did my best to avoid any situation that would expose me to their gazes.

Unfortunately, I failed to notice the lingering stares in the place I believed to be safe, the overly friendly man of the house, and the innocent touches on my shoulders and back that seemed harmless to me. However, this was merely the nurturing of a sinister side within him. One fateful day, my aunt was sent on an errand out of town to fetch farm supplies because her husband, who usually took care of it, suddenly fell ill. Following our usual routine, I woke up to do the household chores, and my aunt's husband called for my attention. Thinking he needed assistance, I obliged and took a seat as requested.

Little did I know that this would be the moment when his true nature would reveal itself. At the tender age of fifteen, he asked if I lacked anything for myself, to which I replied that I was fine. He then proceeded to comment on my beauty and confessed his feelings for me. In that instant, I realized I was in a dire situation. My heart raced, and all I could do was nervously fiddle with my nails. The monster within him did not stop there; he continued with his inappropriate intentions, using explicit language that I had never heard before in my young life.

Fear consumed me, and my only thought was to find a way out. I glanced at the distance between where I sat and the door, knowing that I wouldn't make it if I provoked him. Summoning a bit of courage, I pointed out that his words and intentions were wrong, reminding him that I considered him a father figure. The look on his face told me I had made a grave mistake. He reminded me of the favors he had done for me, providing me with a place to live, food, clothing, and education under his roof. He then presented me with two options: either I comply and follow him to the bedroom within the next five minutes, or he would kick both my aunt and me out of his house.

The decision was entirely mine. In that moment, I wept. Tears streamed down my face, filled with anguish, betrayal, and sorrow for my mother. Tears shed for the loss of my grandmother, for the heartless monster who showed no remorse. I cried for my aunt, knowing I was about to lose her. I wept for my fading chance at education, slipping away from my grasp. I mourned the impending destruction of marriage for the woman who took me in wholeheartedly. The monster stood before me, his palm open, signaling five minutes without mercy or regret. Some burdens weigh heavily on the heart, and some secrets damage the soul.

As I reflect on my life, I shed tears for the hands that almost preyed upon me. This is why I write, finding solace and fighting my mental battles. Writing is my refuge, as the sorrows of life nearly overwhelmed me. Nevertheless, I know I will rise above and conquer my pain. I will soar and live my dreams, reaching for the stars beyond the sky's limited horizon.

featureStream of Consciousnesshumanityfamilydivorcebreakups
2

About the Creator

Ms. Hellena

My emotions are in my words, my haven is in my writing, because my love is speechless before you, so when faced by us I resolve to paper, please read me...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    I'm so sorry your uncle did that to you 🥺 I was sexually assaulted by my uncle too when I was 4 years old until I was 8. So I totally understand. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.