Humans logo

My personal growth experience

Upbeat live

By hongzheng liPublished 12 months ago 11 min read
1
  • My name is Li Changgang, born in October 1981, born in the year of chicken. Maybe a little older than most of the class.
  • I was born in a remote urban area of Wuhan City, Hubei Province, which belonged to Hanyang County in ancient times. My ancestors were landlords, and it was said that our family had quite a lot of property. However, in modern times, due to well-known reasons, my father and uncle encountered many difficulties in their studies and life. They both excelled academically, but were unable to continue their studies after finishing junior high school. I have seen uncle's writing, writing quite beautiful. My father's handwriting was strong, too. My father told me a lot about the family, and our family had produced a lot of talented people.
  • Maybe he had a few serious illnesses when he was a child, so he is not tall. When I was 4 or 5 years old, I remember being carried around by my father on his bicycle. I can take even bitter Chinese medicine because I'm used to it. My father also said that once, in order to cure my disease, he sold the only fat pig in the family. Every time I heard my father tell this story, I was filled with emotion and even tears. Fortunately, as I grew older, it may have been the wise doctor who prescribed a particularly good medicine and cured me. After the second grade, I was almost disease-free, and my grades got better and better. I'm basically in first or second place in my class.
  • I like reading since childhood, after school walking in the mountains, sitting on the hillside lawn, looking at the books borrowed from the school library, very comfortable. He didn't go home until it was almost dark.
  • I've had my ups and downs in school. The test play is not particularly good, poor key high school line more than ten points. There is an ordinary high school can read, but too far away from home, choose a nearby secondary school.
  • Three years in the secondary school, learning harvest is also very big, in addition to learning, also participated in a lot of activities, ideological growth is particularly fast. Mainly by chance to know a few good teachers. One of my teachers recommended me to read "The Ordinary World", which still influences me today.
  • At the end of 1999, my family was raising fish, and the economy was bad. So my father planned to do something else to help the family. They decided to go to Wuhan to buy a batch of soybean seeds back to send bean sprouts to sell. I slipped on my way back and broke my leg. Or relatives in Wuhan sent home, and then in the district hospital operation. I borrowed the money for the operation from my uncle. After a few months of recuperation, the legs were fine, but the heavy work was not easy to do.
  • It was during this period that I was thinking about my future. I was 18 years old and should rely on my own efforts instead of relying on my family for a long time. Even if I could go to college, I'm afraid I can't afford it now.
  • I was very close to a classmate named Peng Yong in my class. His uncle worked in a wool weaving factory in Guangdong Province. So I wrote to him and begged him to take us out to work.
  • So after the Spring Festival in 2000, my classmates and I set foot on the train to the south. All I had with me was a few clothes and some books. Though he moved around a lot, he did not throw away the books. They have been with me in good times and bad, and are my greatest spiritual wealth.
  • My classmate's uncle has some connections in the wool weaving factory, so I asked someone to let us learn the technology of wool weaving without paying tuition. After one or two months of learning and familiarity, we have already met the technical requirements of the wool textile factory and officially started my working life.
  • The work in the woolen mill was dull and boring. It was only repetitive mechanical work, and the working time was almost twelve hours, with no Sundays or holidays. Life seemed to go from bright to grey.
  • Even at such times, there is no lack of warmth in life. When I was in Huidong, I often liked to go to a bookstore to read books after work. Because I didn't have much money, I rarely bought books and just read them. The lady who runs the bookstore is familiar with me. Look, I just read a book and did not buy, she was not angry, still let me read. Once I saw a particular favorite book, it was getting dark, several times want to go and loathe to give up. The owner saw my predicament, then gently said: "like to buy home to see!" . I said I didn't have enough money. I said it was only 10 yuan. But the price tag for this book is more than 30 yuan. She said it was fine, you give me 10 yuan and take it back. Give it to me next time you have money. I looked at her in surprise. She smiled at me and nodded slightly. I will never forget this smile. Just a few days later, my classmate and I were arranged by her uncle to work in another place, and we didn't even have time to say goodbye to her. Three or four years later, when I went back to that location, the bookstore had become a grocery store. It also makes me feel guilty about the owner. She was speaking Mandarin. I don't think she was from here. May the good of her life be well.
  • The two years spent in the woolen mill were not very fruitful except for some wages. I thought I had to make a change and go to another factory. If there is no opportunity for other factories to develop, it is not too late to return to the wool factory. I need a change of scenery anyway. At least find a place where there is growth.
  • In 2002, I came to Huiyang. So far, Huiyang should be my second home, it is also a rare fate. It may be good, and it may not be perfect in some places, but I have lived here for almost 20 years. I have walked through its streets, tasted its fresh delicious, in my life journey, is also the place where the dream began.
  • Actually in 2002 and 2003 I was still working in some small wool mills, but by this time I was already asking people about the endless possibilities in other factories.
  • Once and a few workers to go for a walk, aimless walk, suddenly smell waves of aroma, looking for the aroma to see the past, is a 3-story dark red building, aroma is issued from here. I asked my friend what factory was this? Friends said this is a paper towel factory ah, these perfume is on the paper towel.
  • A few months later, when I was looking around for a job, I came to this factory again and found a sign on the door of his factory. I went into the office and had a chat with the boss. The boss said there was a vacancy. Would you like to give it a try? Of course I wanted to, and I didn't even ask about salary and benefits.
  • That's how I started my relationship with paper towels. Although it was a very large paper towel factory, it was not easy for a person to do business in a paper towel factory at that time, including loading, car following, payment collection and business integration. Bill or no bill, they had to go out every morning with a carload of goods and come back at night with empty carloads and money. The advantage of a small factory is that it has access to all aspects of production, and after leaving the factory, all things have to be done by itself, so it also has access to a lot of different types of customers, but also know a lot of shops, malls and wholesale department owners. These are all valuable resources for me to start my own business in the future, but at that time, I didn't think so much about it. I only thought about how to provide good customer service.
  • Willing to suffer a little loss is my life purpose, I am sincere to customers, so many customers 20 years or good friends.
  • After a couple of months I got used to it and did fine. Working in a paper mill, I didn't need to go to work at night, so I used the time to read and write in my diary.
  • Three and a half years later, the owner of another paper towel factory approached me and asked me to work in their factory. Because the original paper mill's products in the market competition is getting weaker and weaker, although the salesman to the boss put forward a lot of suggestions, but he did not change, my judgment at that time is that it may be eliminated in the market in a few years.
  • But thinking about it today, I can probably guess what he was thinking. Paper towel factory processing threshold is very low, large investment is not necessarily able to improve the competitiveness of the product, it is better to take advantage of the previous wind, earn more than the last copper plate. A few years later the factory was selling for hundreds of thousands on his former fame. At the time, it was just a trademark and two outdated machines with a market value of no more than $100,000. From an economic point of view, it maximizes profits; In the long run, he has sacrificed his brand for many years, and is still a small influence brand. Among the dozens of processing plants that started around at the same time, about four or five still survived, two became influential brands, and a few were only tolerable, while the others were ruthlessly eliminated by the market.
  • In another paper mill, I worked for six years. Finally, when the time was right, I decided to go out on my own. After talking with the boss, maybe I think I am a good person, or maybe I have contributed to the mill in recent years. He decided to give me the same business I had done before. Then he sold one of his delivery vehicles, and from then on, when these customers placed orders, I would do the delivery. That's a great support for me.
  • I also found a local friend to be my partner, and the two of us started our business little by little.
  • It has been seven years since 2012. During these years, our company has grown from two people to dozens of people, and the sales volume has grown from 300,000 yuan to 12 million yuan a month. We have gradually become a paper wholesaler with some influence in Guangdong.
  • Compared with others in the same industry, our company is developing faster and better. My thinking at that time was: with the improvement of China's living standard, the market share of brands would definitely be higher and higher, and the more developed cities would be more obvious. So from the beginning of our business is determined to change the positioning of most wholesalers: to brand paper, to the third and fourth line brand as a supplement. At that time, the spread of the peer is that the brand does not make money at all, the competitiveness is large, far less than doing small brands. But I also thought about the fact that the best and biggest companies in the industry are all brand dealers, and the smaller secondary companies have no influence in the market at all. Even though I used to work for a small brand, I felt that the only way to have a future was to do it the way a big company does. In fact, this positioning also let our company, particularly rapid development, and soon opened up the gap with the peers.
  • The other thing is that we both put our own interests at the bottom and put the company's interests first. Little regard for their own personal interests. As long as the company becomes more competitive, it will reflect our value. That consensus has not changed.
  • All the way through, wind and rain. I've made a lot of friends, I've had a lot of hardships, but I've come through it strong.
  • Like learning, like thinking, in order to improve their judgment. A person goes fast, a group of people go far. In 2018, I joined a big writing platform called 007 that allowed me to meet a lot of interesting people. One of my friends recommended getting to me, and that was the first time I knew about getting.
  • Today, I finally join the school. I feel very comfortable and happy to learn and grow together with a group of people who resonate with me. Let my classmates and I can inspire each other, between each other fai Xue, achievement each other!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.