Humans logo

My personal experience with fear

I am sharing this not a personal treatment or because I think I am all special or interesting. Instead, the most important part of knowing is the fear of confession

By Sabin PaulPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
My personal experience with fear
Photo by Jasmin Sessler on Unsplash

I am sharing this not a personal treatment or because I think I am all special or interesting. Instead, the most important part of knowing is the fear of confession. I have also struggled with how my fears have affected my personal and professional life, and perhaps you will point to some of my experiences.

I had to open this section with my favorite rating for fear. From the Litany Against Fear in the Dune science fiction series by Frank Herbert. The litany is all powerful, but I use these two sentences to help me push back in fear when I hear it. They better understand how fear paralyzes and how dangerous it is to let go of fear.

Most of the impact of fear on me has been psychological. Even as a child, I had little fear of physical pain. Anything I had was taken out by the Marine Corps. (This isn't really a good thing!)

However, mental and social fear has always been an important part of my life.

Shy Child

I was a shy child with a disability. It was difficult to talk to young people. I didn't even like being watched by adults. One positive result is that those with whom I was in contact often became close friends. This practice of strong bonds continued into my old age and is related to my introduction.

However, it also limits my ability to make new friends and to gain experience. I tried to stay at friends' houses, but I always ended up having to return home. As a result, I stopped being invited to things. I was not able to overcome this embarrassment (especially) until my teenage years when sports helped me to bond in non-personal ways.

I know I missed important communication and experiences because of the embarrassment I grew up with.

Fear of Failure

Fear of failure is common. For me, though, it’s probably the defining aspect of my life. It's been both good and bad. I have always had a need for success in everything I have chosen to try.

Benefits: I work with my ass to make sure I can do something. I also made a name for myself as a talented person because I would do something in front of others if I was sure I knew it well.

There is a clear decline in this approach. First of all, learning is slower if you do it only one at a time. I used to get a helpful answer because I just refused to do something new in front of others. Instead, I worked hard to become proficient in it. Only then would I allow myself to work in the community. This is very small, and I have had to work hard to overcome perfection.

The biggest limitation is, there are a lot of things I just refused to try at all because I wasn’t ready (yet). I missed learning so many new things.

Fear of Being the Second Best

This is the beginning of the fear of failure. For various reasons, I have always been expected to be unique in everything. I put this in early. It was never enough to enjoy anything.

Because I was the best person I could be, I used to do almost nothing. I worked hard all the time to get better. Again, this would be a good thing. However, it also prevented me from enjoying many things that were supposed to be "fun." As one example, I ran out of games.

Social Concerns

The fear that I struggle with the most to this day. Ironically, I am not afraid to speak in public, which is lucky in my current role. I know, and I do, the unspoken language in front of thousands of people with just a normal level of panic.

Enter the living room to make a small talk? Something completely different. If I can get out, I will. If I have to go, I will be anxious and angry for days.

This is obviously not good for socializing. The incredible value of the world depends on the ability to make instant senseless and emerging conversations. Because of this, it would take me years to build a connection that others might build in one day.

Fear of Disappointment / Public Laughter

This is directly related to my fear of failure. Somehow, I ended up participating in a very public role. As you may have noticed, I also take my professional responsibilities very seriously.

Because of this, my greatest fear comes from the thought of failing in a public sense that makes others see me as a failure. While this ensures that I do my job with full effort and obesity, it can also reduce risk. Taking risks is important for innovation.

And again, this is not a personal life. This fear keeps me from really enjoying my job and may be the main reason if I ever decide to retire early.

How Knowing Fear Affected My Mind

… Fear of weak feelings that is why I despise you. We were scared of almost everything, we were even afraid to tell the truth…

–LUPE FIASCO, WORDS I DIDN'T SAY ..

Lupe Fiasco’s song is important to me because it conveys why I hate fear. It is not weak to feel fear, but fear can make me feel weak. It took me a long time to see the boundaries of fear set for me. And a long way to go and building strategies to deal with it.

I am lucky to be in good health. I worked hard, used my energy, and got lucky along the way. However, it would have happened earlier and it would definitely have been much more fun if I had seen and dealt with my fears before.

Fear holds us back from so many things. It can create serious drag on your financial life…

Ways To Fear Can Affect Your Money

I am not the only one who is affected by fear. In fact, I fight that fear is one of the biggest challenges on the road to financial freedom. Some people are afraid to spend money. That's not my thing, as evidenced by my depressive phase of lifestyle!

Fear can keep you from seeking important opportunities, taking production risks, or even taking action.

humanity

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sabin PaulWritten by Sabin Paul

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.