Humans logo

My Journey to Long and Healthy Hair with Shampoo and Red Light Therapy

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 10 months ago 8 min read
Like

I have a confession to make. I used to hate my hair. Not because of the color, texture, or length, but because of the flakes. Yes, I had dandruff. And not just a little bit, but a lot. It was like a snowstorm on my scalp every time I brushed or washed my hair.

I was so embarrassed by my dandruff that I avoided wearing dark clothes or going out in public. I felt like everyone was staring at my flaky scalp and judging me. I also worried that my dandruff was affecting my hair health and growth.

I noticed that my hair never seemed to grow past my shoulders. No matter how much I trimmed it, conditioned it, or massaged it, it stayed the same length. I also noticed that my hair was thinning and breaking more than usual. I wondered if I was doing something wrong or if there was something wrong with me.

I started researching online for ways to improve my hair growth and health. I learned that there are many factors that can affect hair growth, such as genetics, hormones, nutrition, stress, and health conditions. I also learned that there are many products that claim to help hair growth, such as supplements, oils, serums, and shampoos.

Shampoos are one of the most common and convenient products for hair care. They can help clean the scalp, remove dirt and oil, and prevent infections and inflammation. But not all shampoos are created equal. Some shampoos can actually harm your hair by stripping it of its natural oils, drying it out, or causing allergic reactions.

So how do you choose the best shampoo for hair growth? Here are some tips on what to look for and what to avoid when shopping for a hair growth shampoo.

What to look for in a hair growth shampoo

A good hair growth shampoo should do three things: strengthen the hair shaft, reduce breakage, and stimulate the scalp. Here are some ingredients that can help with these goals:

Protein: Protein is the building block of hair. It helps repair damaged hair and prevent breakage. Look for shampoos that contain protein sources such as hydrolyzed keratin i Keratin that has been broken down into smaller molecules for easier absorption by the hair. , wheat protein i A plant-based protein that can moisturize and strengthen the hair. , or silk protein i A protein derived from silk fibers that can add shine and softness to the hair. .

Biotin: Biotin is a B vitamin that plays a role in the production of keratin. It can help improve the elasticity and thickness of the hair. Look for shampoos that contain biotin or other B vitamins such as niacin i A B vitamin that can improve blood circulation to the scalp and nourish the hair follicles. or panthenol i A B vitamin that can moisturize and protect the hair from damage. .

Caffeine: Caffeine is a stimulant that can increase blood flow to the scalp and extend the growth phase of the hair cycle. It can also inhibit the action of DHT i A hormone that can shrink the hair follicles and cause hair loss in some people. , a hormone that can cause hair loss in some people. Look for shampoos that contain caffeine or other stimulants such as ginseng i A herb that can boost energy and blood flow to the scalp and hair follicles. or peppermint i An essential oil that can create a cooling sensation on the scalp and stimulate blood flow to the hair follicles. .

Antioxidants: Antioxidants are substances that can protect your cells from free radicals i Molecules that can damage your cells, proteins, and DNA by causing oxidative stress. , which can cause oxidative stress i A state of imbalance between free radicals and antioxidants in your body that can lead to cellular damage and aging. . Oxidative stress can damage your scalp and hair follicles, leading to inflammation, aging, and hair loss. Look for shampoos that contain antioxidants such as vitamin C i A vitamin that can boost collagen production, fight free radicals, and brighten the skin tone of the scalp. , vitamin E i A vitamin that can moisturize, heal, and protect the scalp and hair from free radical damage. , or green tea i A plant extract that can reduce inflammation, fight free radicals, and inhibit DHT production on the scalp. .

What to avoid in a hair growth shampoo

A bad hair growth shampoo should do none of these things: weaken the hair shaft, increase breakage, or irritate the scalp. Here are some ingredients that can do harm to your hair:

Sulfates: Sulfates are detergents that create a rich lather in shampoos. They can help remove dirt and oil from your scalp and hair, but they can also strip away your natural oils, leaving your scalp dry and your hair brittle. Look for shampoos that are sulfate-free or contain mild sulfates such as sodium lauryl sulfoacetate i A sulfate that is derived from coconut and palm oils and is gentler on the scalp and hair. or sodium cocoyl isethionate i A sulfate that is derived from coconut oil and is mild and moisturizing. .

Parabens: Parabens are preservatives that prevent the growth of bacteria and fungi in shampoos. They can help extend the shelf life of your shampoo, but they can also disrupt your hormone balance, which can affect your hair growth and health. Look for shampoos that are paraben-free or contain natural preservatives such as phenoxyethanol i A preservative that is derived from green tea and is considered safe and effective. or sodium benzoate i A preservative that is derived from benzoic acid and is considered safe and effective. .

Fragrances: Fragrances are chemicals that add a pleasant smell to shampoos. They can make your shampoo more appealing, but they can also cause allergic reactions, irritation, or inflammation on your scalp, which can hinder your hair growth and health. Look for shampoos that are fragrance-free or contain natural fragrances such as essential oils i Oils that are extracted from plants and have various aromas and benefits for the scalp and hair. .

How I used shampoo for my hair growth

I decided to try a shampoo for my hair growth after reading some positive reviews online. I ordered a bottle of shampoo from Amazon that contained biotin, caffeine, and antioxidants. It was sulfate-free, paraben-free, and fragrance-free.

I started using the shampoo every other day, massaging it into my scalp and hair for a few minutes, then rinsing it out. The shampoo had a mild scent and a creamy texture. It made my scalp feel clean and refreshed, and my hair feel soft and smooth.

I also started using red light therapy for my hair growth. Red light therapy is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and healing in various tissues of the body. It can also benefit your hair by increasing its growth rate, thickness, density, and strength.

Red light therapy works for hair by delivering photons of light to your scalp and hair follicles. These photons are absorbed by the mitochondria i The organelles in cells that produce energy through cellular respiration. , the energy-producing units of your cells. This triggers a cascade of biochemical reactions that increase the production of adenosine triphosphate (ATP) i The molecule that stores and transfers energy within cells. , the main source of energy for cellular functions.

By increasing the ATP levels in your scalp and hair follicles, red light therapy can:

Stimulate the anagen phase i The active growth phase of the hair cycle. of the hair cycle and prolong its duration. This means that more hairs will grow faster and longer.

Increase the blood flow and oxygen delivery to your scalp and hair follicles. This means that more nutrients and growth factors will reach your hairs and support their health.

Reduce the inflammation and oxidative stress in your scalp and hair follicles. This means that less damage and inflammation will occur to your hairs and their surrounding tissues.

Inhibit the action of 5-alpha reductase i The enzyme that converts testosterone to DHT. and lower the levels of DHT in your scalp. This means that less hairs will fall out due to hormonal causes.

I ordered a red light therapy cap online and started using it three times a week for 20 minutes per session. I wore the cap over my head like a helmet. It had built-in LED lights that emitted red or near-infrared light to cover my entire scalp area. It was convenient to use at home or anywhere else as it was portable and battery-operated.

What results did I see from using shampoo and red light therapy for my hair growth?

I was amazed by the results I saw from using shampoo and red light therapy for my hair growth. Within a few weeks, I noticed that my dandruff was gone and that my scalp was less itchy and flaky. Within a few months, I noticed that my hair was growing faster and longer than ever before.

I was thrilled by the changes in my hair. I felt more confident and beautiful. I started getting compliments from my friends and family on how great my hair looked. I felt like I had achieved my childhood dream of having long, healthy, and beautiful hair.

I have been using shampoo and red light therapy for my hair growth for over a year now and I am still very happy with the results. My hair is healthier, stronger, and longer than ever before. I love my hair and I love myself.

If you are looking for a shampoo for your hair growth, I highly recommend you to try one that contains protein, biotin, caffeine, antioxidants, or other ingredients that can strengthen, thicken, stimulate, or protect your hair. You can also try best red light therapy for your hair growth, as it is natural, safe, and effective for improving your scalp and hair health and growth. You have nothing to lose but your worries and your hair problems.

I hope this article has inspired you to try these products for your hair. If you have any questions or comments, feel free to share them below. I would love to hear from you!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.