Humans logo

My Group of Friends

An Analysis

By Nossa MamePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
An Analysis

Friend: A person whom one knows and with whom one has a bond of mutual affection, typically exclusive of sexual or family relations.

I arrived at Toronto Pearson Airport on January 15 in the year 2017. A timid 19-year-old with hazy eyes that haven't comprehended the drastic change that took over her life. I spent 10 years in the Middle East, sheltered with the proximity of the comfort of my family and friends that have always been there. Now, as I write this story, the way time flies by baffles me. The haze from my eyes has long been cleared, and that timid girl has dissipated by learning to survive the extreme northern climate of Canada by throwing herself into a world of self-serve, confusing transport systems, interviews after interviews, and finally, that girl is no longer a girl. But "a woman on the go," a label that I proudly captioned my latest Instagram post. A label that I find pride and joy in.

I had to learn a lot of things.

But this story isn't about my journey.

It's about the one thing that I know best.

Making one hell of a great group of friends.

I know. It sounds weird. Most people wouldn't even mention this as a skill because it isn't really recognized as one. Even if they did, I think it would be masked with a prettier word like "Amazing Networking skills," but I don't excel in that, nor is it something that comes easy to me.

One day, I was on the train and a thought occurred to me. I realized that throughout the two years that I stayed in Toronto, that had I found myself an amazing group of friends. Back when I lived in Dubai, I also had a great group of friends, too. So why was I intrigued you may ask? The reason why is this felt like an epiphany to me. If I were to evaluate myself, which I have done countless times, I don't know what I am good at. I'm pretty sure you know where I am going with this now.

"THIS IS IT!" I thought to myself.

After that, I couldn't stop patting myself on the shoulder.

All these years of looking for my talent. Here it was. It took me 20 years. 20 years to figure out what I could confidently call as my talent.

"The sad part is that I am the only one that could benefit from this" was what hit me next.

But that wasn't true.

What if I observed each one of my friends, their role in the group, and why this mix of personalities create such an addicting feeling that we naturally feel obliged to identify as a group of friends?

You're probably wondering how can others benefit from this?

Readers will be able know why certain friends are essential in groups and why certain friends can be toxic, and that sense of harmony also solidifies a friendship.

And from these real-life examples that I have encountered, one can finally know what kind of friend is necessary and what kind of friend they should stray away from.

Follow me. Read on. Tune in.

As I dissect my group of friends!

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Nossa Mame

you'll find me in a dimly lit café watching asmr videos.

Instagram: nossamame

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.