Humans logo

প্রিয় সেরা বন্ধু: My Four-Leaf Clover

Dear Best Friend...

By Allegra MyersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
A Train rides

To my Best friend, Biffle and Soul sista

“A good friend is like a four-leaf clover: hard to find and lucky to have.” - Irish Proverb

Who would’ve thought that nine years and one hot, sweaty game of Steal the Bacon during gym period in freshman year later, you would be my four-leaf clover?

From dressing up for twin day to hanging out in the music club room, to those two sessions of the bowling club, we were pretty much always up to something. We literally did everything together !

I love how the world has always been our oyster. And by 'the world" you know I really mean NYC.

One of my favorite things about our friendship is that we're both foodies, which means we always go on lots of foodventures!!

Remember spending every day together at Kelley Park after school while splurging our entire $10 allowances on Chipotle because we didn’t want to go home? And then creating make-shift costumes so we could get our $3 burrito/bowls for Halloween? I’ll secretly never forgive you for when you made me eat that whole ghost pepper from your mom’s garden. Haha.

What about those days when we would sit the park and secretly hope that our crushes would come and see us? Good times.

Remember sitting on the school staircases while eating ice cream and crying over boys we didn’t even know we didn’t want?

What about loitering in the hallways while doing henna?

Who could forget when we would slay the school talent show every single year as we riled the audience up with Adele and Avril Lavigne ballads?

One of my favorite things to do when I got home from school was to call you on the phone and talk to you about our days. Remember talking until it was time for bed?

And the time we ran up your phone bill so much that your dad got suspicious. LOL

Dude, you made my high school experience so amazing and you don’t even know it. I’ve always been shy and had social anxiety but with you, it’s always felt like anything and everything is possible.

I love how your family is my family and vice-versa. I love your ammu and abbu, and of course, the little sis. All your sasis, khalahs, fufus and mamis. The way your mom makes me curry beef with paratha when I come over early in the morning and feeds me until I leave late at night.

I love how we travel together, have fun together, grow together. #TorontoTakeover

I wish we could work together again like we did at M&M's world. I don't think that I've ever looked forward to a job as much as I did then. The smell of chocolate everywhere + my sister from another mister? Oh, yes.

Every day I admire the woman that you’re becoming. I admire your ability to be such a beautiful, kind person in a world that can be so dark and mean.

I love how you always uplift me and make me feel better about myself.

I love how you always tell me the truth, even during the times when I least want to hear it.

I love how it is so, incredibly easy for me to be myself around you. Let's go to another graduation and yell "YERRRRRRRRRRRRR" like the typical New Yorkers that we are again.

Thank you for brighter days no matter what we've gone through. Thank you for never giving up on me. Thank you for always including me in everything. And I just want to thank you, in advance, for being my maid of honor. Hehe.

Thank you for great, big bear hugs, countless laughs and precious memories that I'll go on to remember forever. #Norefundsonthistripyo

At 13-years-old you were that four-leaf clover, at 22-years-old you still are, and at 85-years-old, you’ll be that four-leaf clover.

I want to thank you for being the Sun in a sky full of gray.

Did this make you want to cry? Same.

Yours Truly 💖

friendship
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.