Longevity logo

Mindful Meditation: A Walk in the Park

Shifting Headspaces From an Overwhelmed State to a Calm, Peaceful State

By Allegra MyersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

As I open the door and step outside of my apartment, the Sun eagerly awaits me for my morning kiss.

We greet each other: "Good morning, beautiful."

The sun washes over me. Starting with the top of my head and progressively making its way down to the bottom of my feet.

Airpods? Check. I open Spotify and consult my favorite playlists. I’ll start with some of my favorite songs that make me feel high on life. Then to wind down, I’ll play the White Noise Peaceful Owl Forest Sound queue.

Lana Del Rey sings to me “dancing in the dark in the pale moonlight,” and her soft and jazzy, yet eerie voice fills me with electricity.

I envision colors. Bright white, gold, purple, blue. They fill me. They wash over me, starting with the top of my head. The colors fill my head. Then my shoulders. Then my stomach. All the way through my entire body. I practice color meditation with each step that I take.

I come to a halt and gaze up. The sky above me is bright blue and vast. There is not a cloud in sight. Above me, birds take flight. Where are they going?

The hustle and bustle of New York City surround me. To my left, there are cars rapidly moving and to my right, buildings that soar as high as my dreams.

The air? Crisp and autumnal. Beneath me, I hear the crunching of colorful leaves. I know I have reached my destination- Central Park.

Time to take in the scenery: a beautiful fountain and colorful trees. I switch to my relaxing owl sound playlist.

Each step of the way color and sunshine fill me, and I embrace my surroundings in their entirety. I channel all of my senses as I realize my place in the vast and incredible universe. Wow.

Deep inhale through the nose. Hold it… hold it. Deep exhale through the mouth. My blood flows and as I venture into the forest, I am full of oxygen.

The reservoir sits in front of me, now. As the owls continue to beckon me, I can't help but absorb its beauty.

Time to prepare for yogic nostril breathing: index and middle finger at the center of the forehead. Thumb on the right nostril, ring finger on the left. Open palm on the left hand.

I close the right nostril with my thumb and take a deep breath through my left nostril, hold, and then exhale through the right. I then inhale through the right, hold, and exhale through the left. I practice alternating my breathing for 20 minutes, as my headspace completely shifts to a calm and peaceful state. My body is still for a moment and my mind, quiet.

For once I'm embarking on a journey with no destination. No end. A road that will lead me to inner peace.

That's when it hit me- the smell of the horses. Gotta love Central Park, am I right? To my right, beautiful black stallions neigh.

To my left, I can hear New Yorkers ordering dirty water dogs from the hot dog stand. I am tempted by the savory aromas of hot dogs and salty pretzels, but I remain focused. My mind is sound.

I continue down an empty path in the park. There isn't a sound. Just the owls and I, and the crunching of the leaves beneath me.

The air no longer smells like horse. I can smell fresh foliage around me as I enjoy the sounds of the forest.

I turn around to look back at what I've left behind. In the distance, I see the city- the rushing yellow taxis and skyscrapers. I hear the voices of the city's inhabitants, the propelling of the racing cars, the honking of the bicyclists, the barking of the dogs. I can taste the crisp air; it reminds me of a pumpkin spiced latte with extra espresso. My body feels light, airy. Abundant.

For the first time, noise surrounds me and as I completely take it in, my mind is silent.

meditation
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.