Humans logo

My Brother's Eulogy

In My Heart, Always

By Jennifer SkinnerPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like

I would like to start off by saying what a wonderful Man Jason had become. Jason was kind, caring, and compassionate. He also had a lot of patience. After working long hours and sleeping when he could, he still made time for his wife and children, and even myself or others when we came for a visit. When he had a day or 2 off he would make an effort to spend it with his family. Jason was a good worker who had an apt for almost anything. Jason just knew how to fix and do things; like he was born with skills he self-learnt. Jason was a good-hearted man. He was easily liked and loved by anyone he would let into his life as he was not very confrontational.

My brother, Jason David, was born on February 6, 1985 in Provost, Ab. He grew up on Skinner Brother’s Dairy Farm until about the age of 10 when we relocated to Hardisty for a couple of years, before moving near Lougheed in 1998. Jason was there for only a couple more years until he left to go live with Dad in Coquitlam, British Columbia. While in BC, he would fix his neighbors and friends vehicles, just because he knew how to. Jason would also rollerblade to and from school. And In September of 2001 Jason suffered a cardiac arrest while rollerblading. I was in college and remember the news I received of this vividly. I cried thinking I had lost my brother. But Jason made it through strong as ever. Shortly after his recovery Jason ended up in Calgary with Dad and then shortly after that moved in Grandma Pat and Grandpa John back on the Farm.

Jason wanted to experience a lot in life. His main dream was farming though. But he also wanted to get into heavy duty mechanics. In fact, I visited Jason the day before he passed, and he had mentioned to me that he planned on getting his own land in a couple years and that he still wanted to pursue his heavy duty mechanics. Jason had wanted to get his Class 1 license as well at one point, but that was not possible, as it is not granted to persons with our heart condition. Jason did end up getting his 4th Class Power Engineering Degree though.

Jason also grew up loving to hunt and fish, if the animal was being used. Jason especially loved goose hunting with Grandpa. Another passion of Jason’s was nature. He wished he had more power that he could protect nature and all its land. Overall, throughout his adulthood Jason did get to do what he enjoyed most – farm. Some crop farming, but a lot of dairy farming – his main passion.

Only a few months after his cardiac event in 2001, Jason met the love of his life online. It was through a Role Playing Game, Everquest. Felicia went to a different area of the game as she didn’t know what she was doing. Then some stranger, Jason, showed up in this area of the game and asked Felicia a question about the game. Felicia didn’t know the answer. So that was that. Then a couple weeks later Jason found Felicia in that area of the game again. He asked her if she remembered him; she did not. But still they ended up talking for days via this online game. Then eventually the phone call conversations began. It was a connection that was so real to them both - Jason was only 17; Felicia was 21. Jason’s friends and family thought he was crazy and didn’t want this union, as neither did Felicia’s friends. Meeting online was not as popular in 2003 as it is today. But nevertheless, once Jason turned 18, he sent Felicia all his savings which upset Grandma and with that Felicia booked him a plane ticket. However, the plane did not smoothly leave Edmonton and land in North Carolina. Storms delayed Jason’s planes and it ended up with him getting a 1st class flight which he thoroughly enjoyed. His final plane ended up landing in the middle of the night and Felicia waited in her vehicle all worried now that she was meeting up with some strange boy. But Jason called Felicia when he arrived, and she went into the airport to greet him. They went back to Felicia’s apartment and talked the rest of the night. A week later Jason had a flight to go home but he did not want to leave, so he purposely missed his flight. Jason ended up proposing to Felicia on her balcony within the 1st year of their life together, giving her a necklace instead of a ring. This engagement lasted a good 4 or 5 years until Jason’s older sister decided to get married, and knowing Jason might never plan for one, I told him and Felicia that they were coming to get married in a double wedding with me in Banff.

After living together in North Carolina for a year and just doing cash jobs they moved to West Virginia to help care for Felicia’s Grandparents. Then Jason decided he could get a better job here in Canada than Felicia could get in the States, so after a couple of years Jason came home to find a job and then went back to the States to bring Felicia up to Alberta.

Jason and Felicia stayed at Grandma and Grandpa’s for a short while before coming to Camrose to stay with Me, Michelle, and Cody. Jason started working at the pipe plant and shortly moved into their own apartment in Camrose, with Cody as a roommate, for a couple years. Jason was itching to get back into farming though. Jason and Felicia went to Lethbridge for a couple months, but the farm there was not suitable with how the animals were treated so Jason had to leave. Jason had always had a soft heart for his animals. Fate would have it that the day he quit, a farmer near Spruce Grove called and offered him a job. He stayed there, with Cody accompanying them, for about a year. Then in 2008 Jason and Felicia went to Spirit River. Here they stayed for 5 years, and their oldest Kaiden John was born. Jason and Felicia basically ran the farm up in Spirit River with Jason do the farming and Felicia the paperwork. Jason was constantly working and realized he did not having enough time with his son, so he decided maybe a change in pace and he started his 4th class power engineering. Felicia would read and record the textbook information for Jason to listen to and learn while working. Then to finish his course Jason needed to go to Sait in Calgary so they packed up and moved there. When finished in Calgary, Jason and Felicia moved to Mom and Rob’s to work for a few months. They purchased a holiday trailer and ended up in Camrose at the trailer court for about a year, while Jason, once again, worked at the pipe plant. Here, living all winter in a RV, they learned that propane turns to gel in minus 40 weather! Jason, once again, wanted to do what he was born to do – farm. He ended up near Eckville on a dairy for a few months. Then near the BC border in Bonanza for a couple years, but at Bonanza it was field work and eventually the work was outrun by the oilfield. Then down south to Drumheller for only a month Jason, Felicia, and Kaiden went. But that was not a good fit. Then they went to South Four Farms near Piers, Ab. Jason worked on the dairy for a year until they sold that, but Jason stayed on for field work for additional year. At this farm is when they started with their Bengal Cats. Jason was laid off and then the small family moved to CherHill for a year, and this is where Ashton Jace was born. Then Jason and his family ended up at DenOudsten Dairy where the final addition, Elijah Everett was born to complete the family. Jason tragically lost consciousness at DenOudsten Dairy on July 30, 2021. Medical intervention could not resuccitiate him and primarily due to a genetic heart defect Jason lost his life and passed at Ponoka Hospital. Jason held on longer than most ever could. He was a strong man. And, personally I was so proud of how hard I know he fought.

Now I would like to share a few personal stories of Jason and Jason and I, these are stories my close friends already know as I love to share them. Jason and I never saw each other as often as we should have as we both had our own adventures and families but made a point to try to meet up every year or 2 for a visit. We were siblings who for the most part got along, but maybe that is because when we were younger and would fight I would just sit on him and jump up and down on him while he was on the couch. So, he knew who was boss and who not to mess with!

Another time, while younger, we were all jumping on and off the couch in the basement of our house on the farm. Mom was out working in the yard, and we were told to stop of course. But, that evening Jason was complaining of a very sore toe. But our parents told us we were doing something we weren’t supposed to and to tough it up, Jason is fine. But the next morning, Jason’s toe was very swollen, and he had to go to the doctor, it was broken, and he ended up in a leg cast for a while.

At around ages 8-10, when we still lived at Skinner Brothers Dairy Farm, Jason and I would play goalie catch. My favorite game. We would pretend we were NHL goaltenders and with a baseball and a ball glove we would throw the ball at each other across the room and try to score on each other. I assume I always won. Jason ended up playing Goaltender at the end of his young hockey career, and he was pretty good at it. Besides some hockey when younger, Jason also, at Hardisty decided to try golfing – I do remember him and I golfing once at the Hardisty Golf Course.

Another time at the Skinner farm, Jason and I were playing baseball. We were using one of those large fat plastic bats, but a regular softball with it. When it was my turn at bat, I connected with the ball and it was gone. We were so amazed. We hit it from close to our cement pad and we were even out looking in the field for it. Anyone who knows that yard knows how far that it, but we believed it must be out there as the ball wasn’t in the yard. We looked and looked then gave up and grabbed another ball. I am back up to bat and grabbed the bat and the ball was stuck in the bat. I contacted the plastic bat with the ball too hard and instead of a homerun the ball was stuck in the bat. We laughed a lot about that. And looking back I always wondered why we thought I could ever hit the ball that far.

Another time, when I was about 10 or 11, Jason 2 years younger, I was grounded to my room. But I told him to come play with me. And we bounced a bouncy ball back and forth while I stayed in my room and him in the hallway. But one of us bounced it too high and broke the florescent light cover bringing glass down and cutting Jason’s ankle. He ran to the bathroom crying and I went with him. And I was yelling at Mom that Jason is hurt and Mom yells at me to get back into my bed. Then she came downstairs and saw Jason was actually hurt and he ended up with stitches. And even over 25 years later that scar was so sensitive to Jason.

Then just a few years ago, when I had my gallbladder taken out, being a newly single Mom I didn’t know how to get home. Jason was kind enough to help his sister out. Jason and Felicia even with 2 kids came to Edmonton so Felicia could drive me home after surgery in my van and Jason drove to Camrose with the truck and boys and then they all drove back home. So, a lot of driving to help his sister out. I was so appreciative.

Jason was my brother, but he was also my friend. Ever since Jason passed, I hear his voice. One example I will share is that since his death if I feel a bit happy, I get sad knowing that my brother just died and feel bad for being happy. Then I hear Jason’s voice and think wow he would so slap me. But Jason would tell me no that that is the last thing he would want. He would tell me to stop. So, I do every time I have that feeling. I never let his voice hold so much power over me, but now it does.

Jason you will be missed by many, but I know your boys will grow up strong and loved. You were an amazing Dad, a loving husband, a trustful son, a willing brother, a faithful grandson, and a kind stranger to the world. I believe I speak for everyone when I say, Brother Rest in Peace, know you were and are loved, and that you will be thoroughly missed.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.