Humans logo

Morgan Freeman-Anybody Can Do It

Opinion

By Debra DavisPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
Morgan Freeman-Anybody Can Do It
Photo by Matt Walsh on Unsplash

I just watched a video about Morgan Freeman being interviewed by Don Lemmon, who was trying to get Mr. Freeman to agree that racism prevents people from succeeding, but it did not work out the way Lemmon wanted it to.

(1) Morgan Freeman SILENCES Woke Don Lemon with With Race Truth Bomb! “Your Full of BS Don” — YouTube

Freeman said that anyone can succeed,

Freeman said that anyone can succeed, and people keep talking about racist issues that are not true. It is making everyone think that there is racism, and people need to stop talking about it.

I do agree with him that we need to stop talking about racism, and it is making everything worse, but to say prejudice does not exist is like hiding under a blanket. It may be a small percentage, but in my opinion, racism exists in every nationality, and not necessarily from one particular group.

Morgan Freemon was very popular in the comments under this video, and it seems that I am the only one who disagrees with his viewpoint. I am of the opinion that there is always an exception to the rule. But I am outnumbered.

The point Freeman was trying to make in this issue is that white people are not holding black people back from being successful, although this might be true, I am getting a lot more out of this conversation than that.

I would like to broaden the spectrum of this “Anyone can do it” conversation away from race, and to the “human condition.” And no, I don’t think “Anyone can do it” is true.

For a second, Freeman said something about upbringing being a small factor, but if someone was not completely focused on the video, they would have most likely missed it.

The fact, I believe, is that Freemen’s point of the conversation was “Anyone can do it,” no matter what means to me — that anyone can be as smart as he is, as talented as he is, as rich as he is, and as successful as he is, and if they don’t succeed it is because they are lazy.

He seems to think that background, what a person’s parents were like, and how they were treated by their parents are unimportant. He doesn’t realize how greatly these influences affect how a person thinks; their prejudices, talents, and limitations.

Everyone wishes they were rich, had a high IQ, were exceptionally talented, and were successful.

But what a rich person says doesn’t make it true, nor does it make wishes come true. He neglects the fact that there are many things out of our control in our lives.

For one, we are born with certain traits that can be a blessing or hold us back — Our genes from our parents.

I consider myself a creative and reasonably intelligent person, but I could never pass Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, or Calculus. I have only tried to pass the first two, but I am confident that the other two would also be impossible for me to master, which makes me uninterested in all of them.

My son has a High IQ and a large interest in math. His plan is to go to college, and he knows it will be something concerning math because he is interested in it, and good at it. He is also creative and a good writer, but he has no interest in that whatsoever.

If I had his high IQ, I would be working for “Google”.

We all have ambitions, interests, abilities, and limitations.

Another is our upbringing and the opportunities that are available to us.

I’m not saying we don’t have any choices, or we don’t make bad choices sometimes. Although that could be the reason, we are not successful, I don’t think it is the only reason.

There are many people who work very hard but still struggle. There are many people who have talents that have never developed due to work or being in a personal situation beyond their control. I believe nature plays a role, but I am one of those people who believes that nurture even plays a stronger role.

We all have different personalities and look at the world differently. We all have different worldviews and opinions that may have developed even as children under the influence of our parents.

I know Morgan Freeman came from nothing, and he overcame many obstacles, but like I said before, every person cannot do that because everyone has different strengths and weaknesses. I am not giving excuses, but I am giving reasons.

I am not saying that we can’t do great and important things or can’t be successful. But I believe that success also depends on other factors.

disclaimer: This is just my opinion, and it may not represent the opinions of others or the opinions of this channel.

interviewhumanitycelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.