Humans logo

Mission Impossible: Codename Love

A 2021 Cinderella Story

By NikkiPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Mission Impossible: Codename Love
Photo by Glenn Haertlein on Unsplash

Ping.

Instagram notification: You have one unread message. Ugh! I am going to do a social media detox. I think to myself.

Day 1

The notification is still there. I can do this! I can stick to my plan of not checking that message for a whole week. I can do this. Let me start doing something else to take my mind off of the message. I pick up the book, Just As I am by Cicely Tyson.

Day 2

Why am I still seeing this notification? It should have disappeared by now. OMG! This isn’t making things easier for me. I got this! I have the willpower to not read this message. I decide t9 take a hot bubble bath and continue reading Just As I am.

Day 3

Ummm, I cleared this notification yesterday. I saw it disappear. How is it still here? The Universe won’t let me be great or is the Universe telling me that I need to read it. The curiosity got the better of me. I swipe to my DMs. There it is in the unread message. The profile picture is of a white rabbit and their username is Alice’s Wonderland. The message that was sent was an emoji of a white rabbit. The message bubble pops up. The person is typing:

“Hello Tiffany”

Okay, that was weird. How do they know my name?

“Hey! Who’s this?

“I am the ONE”

What does that even mean? I think to myself.

“Who is the ONE?”

The typing bubble appears

“I am who I am.”

Why is this person talking to me in code.

“ I don’t know what that means. Could you explain yourself more?”

“LOL! Sorry about that, my name i Michael”

“Hi Michael, how’s your day going?”

“It is better now that I am finally able to talk to you.”

“LOL! Why the sense of urgency?”

“It’s because the fate of Earth is in your hands.”

What!?

“LOL! Yeah that could definitely be a thing”

“Could I Facetime you?”

“WOW! This feels like we are going on our first date.”

“Nah!b If it was our first date, I would take you somewhere and blow your mind.”

“Ok!I’m going to hold you to that.”

“So can I call you?”

“Yes.”

I type in my phone number.

Ping Ping

His face pops up on the screen. I couldn’t believe my eyes.Why is Michael B Jordan Facetimin me right now? I slump down to the ground.

“Tiffany are you ok?”

I fumble with the phone in my hands. I hold up the phone to my face and examine him. Could this really be him?

“Yes! I’m ok. Why are you facetime me?”

“WOW! Most women would have reacted differently.”

He smirks.

I blush and look away from him. I tend to turn on mommy interrogation mode automatically as of lately.

“Sorry about that! I am still in shock that it’s really you.”

“This matter is extremely urgent.”

“Uh Yeah, you said that the fate of Earth was in my hands?”

“Yes! It’s tied into who you marry next.”

What!?” I start cracking up. A tear drops from my eye. Michael’s face was very serious when I looked up at him. I sit up straight and stammer.

“Huh?” With a confused look on my face.

“Like I was saying, it’s tied into who you marry next. If you marry someone, they have to be pure of heart. That means that the pandemic will be over and it will trigger peace on Earth. But if you marry someone of a dark heart, the pandemic will be the new reality. It will keep going and things will get darker and darker.”

How did he know that I was divorced?

“Ugh, I was going to be single for a minute. I just got out of a 12 year relationship.I need time to really know what I want.”

“I totally get that but you know, Earth is kind of on the line.So can we get this done sooner rather than later.’

“What?Are you asking to marry me?”

“Yes, I am”

My mouth just hangs open. I’m trying to close it but my body is not working. I shake my head.

“Excuse me?”

“Tiffany Diamond Cubias, will you marry me?”

I’m still silent.

“Ugh? This played differently in my head.”

“This feels like a dream come true but why me?”

“Tiffany, this was already destined. Remember your first boyfriend, what was his name?”

I think about it.

“Ugh, Michael”

“Yes! And when was that?”

“Ugh, I don’t know. We were in the 2nd grade.”

“Exactly! Don’t you remember the kiss?”

Hmmmm

“We were leaving the computer lab. We were lined up and waiting for the teacher. I whisper to you ‘let me get a kiss’, You said no and turned around quick. Then I tapped you on the shoulder. You turn around and I go in for the kiss.”

I felt like I was there experiencing that moment again.

“WOW! I had forgot about that”

“Don’t you remember that I was super sad one day and I told you my family was moving. We kissed one last time that day and it was magical!”

As he tells me this my jaw drops. I am looking off into the distance. I am trying to process what he was telling me. How does he know all of this? Could it be? No way! This isn’t possible.

“Tiffany are you ok?”

“Ugh, I’m just trying to understand what is really going on.”

“I’m asking you to be my wife.”

My heart starts beating fast.

“Ugh, Yes!”

“Okay, I will send a car to come pick you up on Thursday.”

“Thursday is tomorrow!?”

“I did emphasize that the fate of Earth is on the line right?!”

“Right. What time should I be ready”

“The car will pick you up at 10 am”

“Okay”

“I will be sending you some stuff at 8 am.”

“Okay” I look off confused.

“See you tomorrow!” He smiles

I blush and look away.

“See you tomorrow.” I return the smile.

I hang up the phone and sit there with a puzzled look on my face. Did that just really happen? Was that really Michael Bakari Jordan? Did he really just propose to me? I couldn’t believe this. I had to tell somebody. I call my mom.

“Mom you are not going to believe this!”

“What happened?”

“Guess who just proposed to me?”

She chuckles.

“Umm, I don’t know, who?”

“Michael B Jordan”

My mom starts cracking up. I’m silent on my end, waiting for her to finish.

‘I’m serious mom, he messaged me on Instagram and then Facetime me.”

“You are always talking about him.”

“I know! But I would have never guessed that all this would happen.”

“What are you going to do?”

“Ugh what do you think?”

“This is finally happening, thank the heavens”

“He’s sending a car for me tomorrow.”

“Wow”

“Yeah and he is sending me some stuff tomorrow.”

“What kind of stuff?”

“I don’t know mom!”

“I’m going to let you go mom. I have to wake up early tomorrow.”

“Okay, I love you daughter.”

“I love you too mom.”

I decide to get some rest. My 7:30 AM alarm is going off. I reach over and grab my phone. I groan and roll over.

Ping

I get a text. It’s from Michael! He says:

“Good morning beautiful. Ihope that you are well rested. We have a big day ahead of us.”

I text back

“What do you mean by a ‘big day?”

“You will see.Your first gift should be there any minute.”

Just then, my doorbell rings.

I look through the peephole and see the most beautiful dark skin girl I ever saw. Her skin was deep chocolate, her eyes are ice blue, she has black braids pulled back into a bun.

I open the door.

“Hello!”

“Hey! My name is April and I am your wedding planner.”

I stand there in a daze. I shake out of it.

“Hi! I’m Tiffany, it’s nice to meet you.”

“Alright Tiffany, let's get started.”

She unzips a garment bag and pulls out this beautiful cream colored dress.The dress was made by Bottega Veneta. She sends a text and then 5 minutes later the doorbell rings. The door opens and walks in Rihanna. When I make eye contact, I shake my head in disbelief.

“Hi Tiffany, it’s finally nice to meet you.”

I start crying.

“Can I give you a hug?”

She smiles and opens her arms. I hold her tight. I can’t believe that this was really happening to me.

“Your music saved my life!” The tears start streaming from my eyes.

“Hey it’s okay! I had to share my story to help women like us, survivors and warriors.”

I pull back and wipe my face.

“Okay girl! It’s time to get you ready for your wedding.”

Rihanna used skin care and beauty products.

There’s a knock on the door. The door opens and Ursula Stephen walks in. I couldn’t believe that she would be styling my hair. She did a soft tussled, not too curly look. She made my hair look like it has loose waves.

I feel like a princess that is getting ready for the ball. I slide on a pair of clear colored Manolo Blahnik two strap sandals. They looked like glass slippers. That was the final touch to make me feel like Cinderella. I say goodbye to the ladies. I take the elevator and walk out the front door.

Parked out front was an all black Tesla Model S. The driver comes over to my door and opens it for me. I tried to look out the window to see where we were going. My thoughts were racing.

“How could all this be happening to me?” I thought to myself. The car comes to a stop.

I look out the window and a huge smile spreads across my face. We were at the Descanso Garden. There was a metallic purple carpet on the ground. There were flowers spread across the carpet. I look up to see my family. My mom, dad, brother, and the kids are there.

“Wow Mom!” Serenity gasps.

“Yeah, Mom you look like a princess.” Said Orion.

I reach out to give them a kiss and big hug.

“You smell good!” Orion says.

I was wearing Chanel Paris, Coco Mademoiselle.

“Thank you!”

April appears next to me. She hands me a bouquet of lavender, pink, and white tulips.

“Five more minutes Tiffany and then your dad will walk you down the aisle.

I take a deep breath in.

“Okay, thanks!”

I look at my mom and tears start filling my eyes.

“Hey, it’s ok, this is really happening.” She tells me.

“I know mom! It feels like a big dream and I’m Cinderella.”

“You deserve this, no more tears, hold your head up.” She fixes my veil.

“Thanks Mom!” I reach out and embrace her.

“It’s time Tiffany.” April says

My dad walks next to me and links arms with me.

“You got this baby girl.”

“Thanks Dad!” I lean my head on his shoulder. We start walking and the song Most Beautiful/So in Love by Maverick City starts playing. I look up and I see him. He’s wearing a cream colored suit with green and brown accents made by Bottega Veneta. He has a smile on his face filled with joy and pride. T.D. Jake is standing next to Michael. I take a deep breath and walk over to him.

“I Michael, take thee, Tiffany, to be my wedded wife, to have and hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, till death do us part, according to God’s holy ordinance and thereto I pledge thee my faith.”

“ I Tiffany, take thee, Michael, to be my wedded husband, to have and hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, till death do us part, according to God’s holy ordinance and thereto I pledge thee my faith.”

“I now pronounce you husband and wife.”

“You may kiss the bride.”

I look him in the eyes as he admires me. He leans in and our lips pressed together. His lips feel like satin pillows rest upon my lips. It felt like we were standing there kissing like we did when we were kids. I felt like I was floating on clouds. Then the song Church by Samm Henshaw plays.

We are sitting in front of everyone lifting our glasses of Presto sparkling Rose. Everyone else is lifting up a glass of Maggio Merlot. We toast to a good life. Then I wake up and look around the dark room.

I sigh, it was all just a dream.

The toilet flushes and the door opens. I look down at my left hand and I am wearing a Tiffany Victoria Alternating Diamond Ring.

The End.

love
1

About the Creator

Nikki

Sharing my gifts with the world. 💻

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.