Humans logo

Memory

This is Something No One Wants To Lose

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
5

Introduction

I feel that I am always forgetting things that I should know. I am getting older and since I passed thirty people have stopped talking to me and insulted me because of my age. I have been turned down for jobs because of my age but have also got jobs this millennium because of a positive attitude to age. I am past the old UK retirement age now and to many people that means I don;t exist, but the reality is I still feel and act as though I am about fifteen, and actually have friends who are teenagers (maybe they didn’t notice how old I was for some reason) to a lot older than me. If we don't see and talk to people directly on line age almost becomes non existent although it's wrong to try and con people that you are a different age, although as a teenage I expected bus conductors to treat me a child for cheap travel and pub landlords and cinema boc offices to treat me as an adult for beer and "X" Rated films.

My Memory

Back to the point of this piece someone asked me to share a story on self publication, and I couldn;t remember what it was called, and I wrote the damned thing. When this happens, at my age, you always become aware of the spectre of Alzheimers, though the irony being if I was developing it I probably wouldn't be thinking of it.

The story is below, I found it, although I have written nearly a thousand Vocal stories, so that was the reason I couldn;t remember the name of it, because it is one of a thousand items in my catalogue.

This happens a lot to me but then my brain thinks “How else can I find it?” and I put a few words into a search bar and then what I was looking for suddenly appeared. I have always been good at finding things but not that great at remembering things.

When I took Law as part of a Business course I could remember all about what happened in cases and what the verdicts were but not the name of the cases. So my course work was good but my exam results were dubious, but my course tutor gave me a forty percent score which was enough for a pass, because he knew my course work was flawless but my exam work was very flawed.

We all lose things and I find the best way to find them is to stop thinking about them, which is difficult to achieve especially if it’s the keys you need to start your car or get into your house, but usually when I put lost items out of my mind, usually by finding something else to concentrate on, then the turn up. Not always, but usually, so, for me, it is a good strategy.

Brain Works

Although I think I cannot remember things (usually people’s and things names) my memory must be full of lots of useful information that allows me to know how to find and research things, create solutions to problems, find my way from “A” to “B” without maps or directions (or Google) so I think I am just wired slightly differently.

If you ask me a question, I may not be able to answer immediately but give me a little time and I will have an answer.

Conclusion

The fact that I have put this together, in my opinion, shows that I am actually doing alright. I will leave some links which may be helpful to friends who are having to care for people who actually do suffer from Alzheimers and other mental issues. The toll on carers is enormous and we must always try and be there for them, even with just some supportive words.

I am doing OK.

Below are some links that you may find helpful.

advicefamilyhumanity
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Good read. Thank you for your insights and for sharing your experiences. The links are also helpful although myself I have been dealing with my mom for 2 years so I was already aware of the various organizations out there that do help. But thank you again this is a good informative article.

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    Mike, this article is a WINNER! I can so relate to many of the things you discuss, especially being prone to have a glitch in memory when I am trying to remember something or talking about a familiar subject and suddenly, there is a blank space where I need a word to fill it. The specific word just will not come. I get frustrated, maybe a bit angry....then I slow down and (as if talking to myself from someone else's viewpoint), I say, "Oh that's okay. Never mind. If it won't come, just whatever". I go on and do something unrelated and that little lightbulb will suddenly come on and the word or fact I needed just stares back at me. A kind of weird experience, but by now a familiar one. AND that song by The Cats....OMG, that is awe inspiring. I will be coming back to listen to that again (and again). Thanks for sharing this gem.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    You seem to be doing just fine! You are exercising your brain every day by using it to write new things - that's important - and the ability to find solutions instead of remembering facts in a heartbeat is important, too - especially as we get older, we have a lot more information to remember than we did in our twenties and our brain works different now than it did than. :) Thank you for sharing this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.