Humans logo

Love picking

Ripen love

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

The pear tree had bloomed in the school yard. I stood just looking in awe at it. It was beautiful! Each year ad I dropped off my son to school I would stop and take in its beauty.I saw it in every season. Summer heavy with delicious fruit, fall with falling leaves winter -bare and spring, like now, full of beautiful flowers.

I had my jeans on and a basket of food and water. I climbed the tall pear tree and sat on the wood platform with my 11 year old son.

I looked at him with his light brown eyes and curly hair.

Yes mom he said. There no reason to cut down this tree. They can’t cut it down if I’m sitting here. I grew up with this tree, We need more trees and all the kids they love this tree.

Okay - then as your mom, I support you.

The principal with his hands on his hip and frown on his face stared at me as I came down from the tree. All of Mikey’s friends were cheering him on!the news reporters were gathered around with their tv cameras. They were broadcasting how a young boy at the school was protesting the school cutting down a pear tree in the school yard so they could plant grass in order to have more space for the kids to play.

The guy that was hired to cut down the tree drove up in his truck. The principal came over to me demanding I tell my son to get down out of the tree

I think he had every right to stand up for what he believes I said back at him.

The tall good looking guy who from the name on his truck implied he had something to do with trees. came over and got between the principle and me.

Leave the lady alone! He demanded to the principal.

The principle surprised looked at him and me! He knew he was no match to him. So he stormed off into the school with an angry look on his face.

I looked at the man who helped me. He had on blue jeans and a shirt open at the neck. He was very handsome.

Thanks I said to him.

Sure thing! He answered back.

No one should talk to a lady that way.

I settled myself in the yard chair I brought to stay close to my son.

My son had always had a mind of his own like his dad and he took it pretty hard when we broke up.

This was the first reaction out of him for a long time. He found something to fight for and I was going to support him and most of all support him coming back to his old self.

The sun went down. Everyone went home. I noticed the guy that was to cut down the tree stayed in his truck watching us.

I watch my son eat the food I brought him, Then he layer down on the platform pulled his blanket over him and went to sleep.

The guy came over with some coffee and offered it to me.

I smiled and welcomed the company as he sat down on the ground beside me.

The moon was full snd the sweet smell of the.blossoms filled the air.lt felt comfortable with him there . He made me feel safe and that someone cared .

You know, he sad, you got quite a brave son. You doing a good job!

I don’t have any kids - never been married but if I did I would love to have a son like yours.

I looked at him and saw the sincerity in his eyes and smiled back at him. I saw something in his eyes that I hadn’t seen in a long time.

Jack, he told me was his name , stayed with us all that night and I slowly dozed off in the camping bed I had brought along.

The next day the principal came with papers and the police. The papers proved my son was trespassing and they were going to arrest us both if he didn’t come down. So he did.

Jack told us both he was sorry. I turned to him as we were leaving and said.

Look —you’ve been so nice I

live right behind the school, why don’t you come over tonight for dinner. I wrote my address down on a piece of paper and gave it to him.

He took it and a big smiled came over his face.

Okay. That would be great , I could use a home cooked meal.

That night my son and I was talking like old times. We were laughing about all that happed as he was helping me cook. When the doorbell rung he ran to the door happy and excited to see Jack.

The dinner was lively and we all laughed at what we had shared together with the pear tree.

It was like I had know him all my life and I could see how my son liked him also. After dinner Jack snd I watched the sun sitting in golden pink clouds from the sliding glass doors.

My son went out in the back yard, Snd Jack and I sat on the sofia in the living room with glasses of wine.

I want you to know , I tried to say with a humble tone/- well I would like to have you come around sometime-

Well-You are good for us!

He looked at me and before I knew it I was in his arms and he was kissing me. I eagerly kissed him in return.

I accept the offer. He boldly replied holding me close. We both laughed and I snuggled up closer to him.

Then my son called me to come quick !

A tiny pear tree was coming up in the backyard. The roots of the old tree had somehow managed to grow under the tschool fence into our yard.

We were shocked and overjoyed!

From that day on Jack was over and as the months went by we knew we couldn’t or didn’t want to live without each other!

We had a small wedding in our backyard next to the pear tree.

we all four of us - the néw addition to our family Jack Jr. watch the pear tree change every season and celebrate each summer with a delicious pear dessert out on the patio watching the sun go down.

dating
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.