Humans logo

Lost in love

Unseen bonds of love

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

He was the most handsome man I had ever seen. He was tall confident and classy. We were sitting at my parent’s dinning table with all our finest China crystals silverware. He sat across from me. Even when he was talking to my dad his eyes never left mine.

Perhaps my dad noticed also and he congratulated him

on his recent engagement, making a joke out of him marrying the bosses daughter. He looked down for a second but then resume his intense look in my direction.

My mom and I went to sat in the parlor after dinner. I sat where we could still see each other. His eyes met mine again and again.

When my dad went out the room to say good by.

He came close t me and whispered,

Forgive me for staring at you but you are so beatiful!

I could feel my cheeks turning a rosy red.

Thank you! I replied and smiled up at him.

Will you have dinner with me while I’m here in town. I don’t leave until Friday.

My dad had told my mom and me that a business associate was coming for dinner.

No I’m sorry! You are engaged .I angrily replied.

Yes— he looked down.

Believe I’m never asked anyone since I’ve been — well- I understand, he answered me.

That night I couldn’t sleep thinking about him. So the next day I call the hotel he was staying at that I heard him tell my father.

Gloria? He said in a surprise tone when he answered.

Yes- I said. Maybe I shouldn’t be doing this but —

You can meet me at the state park near the fountains this afternoon around 5

Okay! He answered in a happy tone.

It was a chilly afternoon with trees a bright fall orange . I sat on a park bench in my brown long cost with a peach sheer scarf around my neck waiting anxiously for him.

The fountain was gushing water into the air and mingling with the other fountain water as it flow down to the bubbling water at its bottom.

When he came around the fountain in his dark long wool coat my heart skipped several beats, and it felt like a sudden burst of light lit up everything.

His eyes met mine as he walked boldly toward me.

I stood up and without saying a word we walked slowly into the flaming fall trees. He gently took hold of my hand. I didn’t resist for it felt so natural.

He suddenly turned to look me in the face and at the same time a gust of cool wind

made the leaves start to dance. His mouth found mine and as I put my arms around him, letting myself go, nothing else mattered except being with him.

I pulled away suddenly remembering there was someone else in his life.

He looked at me and from the look in his eyes I knew he knew what I was thinking.

Let’s go get some coffee- I saw a coffee shop around the corner, he said.

We walked hand and hand to the cozy cafe that had a sofa and tables by a stone fireplace. We sat on the red sofa and drink steaming hot coffee talking about everything until we noticed we were the last ones there as they were getting ready to close.

He walked me to my car. When we got to it I turned and smiled up at him.

Well, I said offering my hand. It’s been a fun time. He looked me straight and with a serious face, grabbed me and kissed me eagerly and passionately Then he suddenly let me go and turned and walked away

not looking back.

I was driving home and my ryes filled with tears and while I wiped the tears fr my cheeks I told myself if he is my soul mate that he would be back. He wouldn’t be able to stay away.

Days, then a month went by and soon it was months. I kept a smile on my face when I was around everyone but at night my dreams were filled with him and longing to see him again.

My mom and dad insisted I go with them to a business dance.

It was at the country club. I wore a lovely pink chiffon gown.

I really was not enjoying myself and told my parent I had a headache and was leaving when he came though the door. It was so wonderful seeing him and I saw in his eyes the same joy. Then I saw he was with someone. A pretty red head, stylishly dressed with dazzling jewels to complement her expensively gown. She stop to see who he was looking at and gave me the once over and looked back at him. She saw the way he was looking at me and pulled him in another direction.

That I thought to myself after I got home was the universe letting me see their was no future for us. Yet my mind said one thing while thinking back at what I saw in his eyes that night my heart was telling me the opposite. It wouldn’t let me give up and I continue holding him close in my heart.

I was walking one afternoon by my parent’s house when a car pulled up and I couldn’t believe my eyes.

It was him. He got out of the car and to me he looked like my princess in shining armor!

When he came close to me putting his arms around me I knew by the look in his eyes before he kissed me he was mine now and forever.

That night my mom fixed a special dinner just for us in celebration of our love.

A few month later we had our small private wedding in front of the flowered fireplace at my parent’s home.

When he put my ring on my finger and kissed me, I knew I had found what my mom and dad had as they smiled in the background at us. I knew I had found my eternal true love.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.