Humans logo

LOVE MY JOB

Contributing to a Better World

By Babs IversonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
34
LOVE MY JOB
Photo by Yannick Pulver on Unsplash

Because of all the freedom, independence, and heartfelt experiences it provides me, I can honestly say that I love my job. Are you questioning? Asking yourself, what job provides these three benefits and opportunities? Did you silently say, "Sign me up!" Truly, retirement is a fabulous job. In fact, it is the best job I have ever had. With my retirement job, I am able to impact the world in a positive way.

Having worked in an educational environment, worked for government departments, working with small businesses, worked at non-profits, and worked within large corporations, I have worn many hats which shouldn't be a surprise to anyone. While being employed outside the home, I've worn many hats inside my home too.

Upon my retirement eleven years ago, my curious coworkers asked, "What are you going to do?" My immediate response,

"I'm going to write and paint."

Indeed, I have painted all the rooms in our home. As for writing, I have written lots of personal letters, business letters, and the writing of business documents. Then, VOCAL found me. Vocal was in my Facebook feed. As they say, the rest is history.

Of course, freedom is a state of mind. It surely is. Because of everything you tell yourself, the mind definitely believes it. In fact, for me, freedom is the ability to make management decisions on my own instead of being micro-managed. No mandatory meetings!

In my opinion, the majority of meetings are a waste of everyone's time.

Splendidly, the freedom to schedule tasks, activities, and even medical and dental appointments without the required supervisors or third party's approval and consent is liberating. Retirement gives me total freedom. Sometimes, my to-do list is short. On the other hand, there are times when my list is quite lengthy.

Well, do I have a job description? Obviously, the answer is no! While there aren't any formal duties and responsibilities, I can give you an idea of some of the tasks that I do on a daily, weekly, monthly, or yearly basis. I am a writer, researcher, poems/lyrics writer, storyteller, assistant chef, chief smoothie maker, meal planner, chief financial officer, coach, cheerleader, buyer/purchaser, photographer, chief marketing, and CEO of sales for gently used or never used items, problem solver/fixer, investigator, nurse, unpaid laundress, cleaning lady, nurse, personal assistant, chauffeur, mediator, reader, and dreamer.

In addition, independence refers to the process by which I can control my own life. Self-determination is exhilarating. Being dependent on a boss to determine my work, my assignment, or what can and can't be done, the thought causes my heart to beat rapidly; and my head begins to pound from a tension headache.

Now, I have control of what I choose to do; and when I choose to do it. If I feel like reading, I will read. If I am in the mood to write, I'll write. With any task, I get to pick and choose when, where, and how.

Amazingly, I can be as productive or unproductive as I like. I am independent! There isn't a schedule. Staying up and watching an old movie until 2:30 a.m. isn't a problem. As an independent, I am not dependent on an individual or individuals with the title of supervisor, manager, or boss. It’s refreshing and luxurious.

With Linked in, Vocal, and Facebook Marketplace, I can be a cheerleader and positive voice through stories, reviews, comments, and other informative pieces that I write. Through kindness, I wholeheartedly believe that focusing on the positive can make the world a better place.

Unfortunately, many individuals, groups, governments focus on differences and privileges, as we know, this leads to division, hatred, and unhealthiness to families, to communities, to states, to nations, and to the world. It is imperative that we focus on our commonalities and similarities. By doing so, kindness and positivity creates inclusiveness, resulting in healthier families, communities, states, nations, and the world.

Unsurprisingly, the Vocal platform gives me a chance to write positive stories, poems, and informative pieces. Hopefully, people will read my stories and will be influenced in a positive way.

Proactively, I've decided to sell my gently used and never used items on Facebook Marketplace locally which allows people to purchase needed or wanted items for less. Besides, the items are recycled, helping our environment too, and making the world a better place.

At the end of the day, I love my retirement job for the freedom, independence, and heartfelt experiences that it provides me. Because it's good to spread positivity to people; in turn, the positivity flows outward onto the world. Optimistically, the world will become a better and kinder place.

humanity
34

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • This comment has been deleted

  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author2 years ago

    I luv your freedom outlook. Fantastic.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Lovely. I enjoyed knowing more about you. 🥰

  • Retirement is the best part of life. I gate being micro managed and yes, meetings are definitely a waste of time! Omg, I totally understand the feeling of doing things at our own pace and comfort. Your experience with retirement was a very wonderful read!

  • it was refreshing to read,nice to hear a positive perspective. I sometimes feel like i am wasting my potential, but i have to agree it is nice to make my own schedule and be my own boss. Less stress once you are retired. but i miss the excitement of getting paid. it is always easier to manage free time when you have money

  • Because I am very much into the technical side of writing I want to first state that this article is very well written. You did an excellent job. There is a lot of heart in the words you wrote and it is all put together in a manner that really connects with the reader. This is one of the best things I've read in the past few days. Babs, thank you very much for relaying the message of optimism and simply having a flair for life. I benefited from reading this today and I am going to keep in mind the message that you communicated through this writing. Thank you very much.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    wonderful piece. Thanks for sharing.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Retirement sounds like a job I would love. Thank you for using your time and energy to flood the world with positivity!

  • Luke Foster2 years ago

    Good for you. You are always an encouraging voice here and I’m glad that you are enjoying life.

  • This is definitely how I view you. You are always the first to heart, encourage and like most of the things I write. I have also seen your kindness serving as an umbrella over many of us here. Thank you, and thank you for this piece. It is a valuable reminder that kindness along with many other things, is a virtue.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.