Humans logo

Love and Respect

Relationships

By Karina CastilloPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Love and Respect

After ending a hurtful and cruel marriage, I ended up seeing myself dating a couple of guys for a year or so. Truly the relationships with some of them didn't really last much, since some of them were interested in intercourse and not take the relationship serious. There was a time when I said to myself, "Enough," I rather be a single mom until I find the right guy that will accept me the way I am and of everything that is part of my life. Like my son, with time as I stopped dating, I chose to join a dating/friend’s app where I ended up meeting this single and respectful man who has never been married, no kids, and stable job. I said to myself, "OK let's see how this goes."

With only a month speaking to each other through the social app, we realized that we had a connection and so much in common that we decided to meet up and little did I know, we hit it off right away! Up until today, we are still dating, our relationship is healthy, fun, respectful, and exciting! By doing the math I can honestly say, that we have had only one discussion, but resolved it like a couple. We support each other, we look out for one another, and we are like a crying shoulder. Through time, we have learned that there is to be love, respect and honesty in a relationship and that being intimate is not the only thing. Planning fun days, continuing to know each other, and learning together. My word of advice: Get to know the person first before stepping into marriage, regardless of your sexual preference, getting to know each other first is important before taking the next huge step that is marriage. P.S. Love and enjoy a healthy relationship. <3 Love is Love <3

Confidence is also a big part of a relationship like this one that I am currently in, and when I mean confidence, I mean not blasting his phone with ten messages less than an hour, because that might show him that you are in desperation of getting a quick answer back. Hey! We all have a life, especially when we don’t see each other, like work, family, school, personal space and even social life with friends. Literally this hasn’t been a problem for me ever since I started dating this wonderful and hard-working man. I have learned so much from him that I am truly grateful for having him in my life. Even if we haven’t moved in together, haven’t met each other’s family or have done something bizarre. It’s true! During this relationship I have also learned that there should be no secrets or lies from one another. If you feel that something is wrong or uncomfortable in the relationship then communicate, talk to one another and see if there’s something that you both can solve as a team. It’s not that hard you know, and if he or she does not feel comfortable to talk about the situation then by all means, no pressure. No pressure at all because the more pressure is added then problems will soon begin to rise and having problems within a relationship is normal but not up to the point where verbal, physical or emotional abuse is presented. Many years ago, I lived that type of experience and it affected me so much that it took time for me to heal and to move on. Yet again, happiness will approach into your life once more but this time in a healthier manner, fun, loving, and sincere way. Confidence is, my favorite element in a relationship.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.