Humans logo

Love

A good day to contemplate the meaning.....

By Vikki Conley IkardPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Love- it has so many different meanings and it is subjective to any one person you ask. Just as happiness is different to different people so is love. I have loved many times in my life. However, it has never been the same. In the end, however, love fiercely because this all ends. Even if you did not receive the love you believe you should have received as a child, please love others. Be who you needed when you were younger. Hurt people hurt other people. The only way for us to all make a better world, we need to be the change (each of us) that we wish to see in the world. Romantic love is just one type of love. Platonic and familial love are also just as valuable and just as important as romantic love- sometimes even more so. If your parents are still alive, you are blessed more than most. I know that at 47, I am incredibly blessed. Life- is indeed an interesting journey. A lot of people in this life equate sex to love. You can be intimate with someone and never be close to their heart. As a young girl, I never would have understood that concept. As an adult, it still took me a little time to understand this concept. Reasons people need to learn how to date, it's something I have never been good at. Society pressures young women from a young age- intentional or not- to find a mate. More attention needs to be given to young girls and their self-development to where they focus on their career, and strengths as an individual. Women are more than hosts for men to reproduce. I love my son dearly and believe that women can have it all BUT one has to have a super supportive partner to accomplish those goals. A lot of times you are competing with someone's else's self-esteem and ego- not even another person. A lot of people struggle with loving themselves and some never get there; they die first. Growing up in an alcoholic home, along with a codependent mother who was hopeless as well as helpless in love, it was HARD for me to learn to how to love myself and it took a lot of years. You either fight or run forever. And I could not do it with anyone else in my space. I wanted to ensure that I gave my son the best life I could that was free of generational dysfunction- to the best of my ability. We have to learn forgiveness in this lifetime. Comparison is the thief of joy and in this age of social media, it is a constant. Your journey is yours and yours alone to take in this life. Choose to spread love in this hate filled world. You will be rewarded in the end. What I have found is if you focus on helping others, you will find the love. Do things FROM love and not FOR love. There is indeed a difference. Unconditional love is a hard thing for most people. Most love with conditions. People can only meet you as deeply as they have met themselves. If someone tells you something about themselves, as bad as you may see more potential in them than they do, believe them for they know themselves better than you. If you love from a genuine space without conditions, then you won. If you walked away from ANY relationship that was low vibrational, you won- collect that win. Change your thinking and change your life. It happened for me.

love
1

About the Creator

Vikki Conley Ikard

I am a person who believe that each one should teach one. Never leave those who come after you to learn by the 'trial by fire' method. Be who you needed when you were younger. I am from a divorced mother of one son who is now 22.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.