Humans logo

Life Exponentially Tie-Dyed

My creative journey through purpose to passion, grace, happiness and beyond

By Nicole de VriesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Moon Cycle- the cycle of love in life, loss and rebirth

With math, one of the first rules we learn is 2+2 equals 4; with ideas, adding is so much more, exponential even. I am a data scientist by day and a tie-dye artist by night, and the intersection of where science meets creativity is my jam. Adding math to science to creativity equals exponential results. Any idea can build on the next, and it is mind-blowing how many things in life share the same pattern or fold. My tie-dye designs organically contain sacred geometry, stemming from Fibonacci series, binary or ternary systems. From simple spirals to mandala folds, it is all about how a modest, small thing, once repeated, adds up to so much more. The most beautiful fractal design starts with a simple pattern - a lotus flower with one petal, a journey of a thousand miles with one step… or snip! But most importantly, the journey matters more than the destination.

Curiosity turns me every way but loose on my journey. From childhood I have been a creator, sewing felt puppets with my grandmother and my mom with afternoon crafts to cut the stresses of growing up. After school we always had something creative lined up, from coloring books to less common activities like making corn husk dolls. These are some of my fondest childhood memories, and I cherish this early nurturing of my creative superpower. Many creative activities are assisted with tools making scissors a part if not fundamental tool for so many adventures. I've studied ceramics, stained glass, and photography, dabbling in sewing, stamping, and beading along the way. My tie-dye journey has been focused for about 2 years now, sticking with me because it lights me up on so many levels.

They say the more senses something appeals to, the more it sticks - whether studying for a test, recalling a memory, or engaging with a craft. The process of folding cloth is satiating, from the tactile moving of material to the logical puzzle of how to fold to get the repeating pattern desired. After starting a fold, I use waxed sinew to tie off sections. Ties create a line of tightness in the fabric the dye cannot penetrate and will resist, making sections between ties for different colors of dye to stay separated, along with white lines where no dye penetrates the tie. The sinew must be wrapped 3-4 times before I pull hard to cinch it tight. The act of cinching is so satisfying; like popping bubble wrap. I continue down the fabric, repeating the wrapping and cinching, tying the fabric at specific points in or directions of the fold to set up the desired pattern for dye. Once the material is all tied up, or at key shapes or points, I cut the sinew from its roll.

After the tie, comes the dye. There is a whole area of science and chemistry behind dyes and techniques. Liquid dye is the traditional method, where dye is dissolved in liquid water and soaked into material for 24 hours to set the dye, then rinsed. An alternative method is hot water irrigation, where hot water is used to instantly set the dye in less than an hour. There are plenty of other methods to choose from: low water irrigation method, batik wax resist method, and so many more - - but my favorite method has got to be ice dye. With ice dye, instead of dripping liquid to saturate fabric with color, powdered dye is placed directly on the material and then ice placed on top. The slow drip of the water over powdered dye causes the dye particles to split. Larger dye particles moving less and smaller particles collecting in crumples or edges creating a stained-glass effect. Different elements are mixed to make different color dyes and the resulting color splits on the fabric can be visually thrilling: black to red, pink to purple, green to brown, and beyond.

I am most motivated by this "beyond:" The act of creating is to shape and share a message beyond myself. In creating, I'm seeking to be a part of something larger than myself. The more purpose I find, the more passion comes to me. I think this rule holds true for all humans. Our thoughts lead to feelings, feelings to actions, actions to results, and results to our legacies! I am here and awake for a reason. Consciousness is a gift and a responsibility. I want to put something beautiful out into the world. If I can leave more good, create more than I take, then I feel I added something. What gifts do I have? What was I created for? I love creating tie-dye specifically for someone. From a favorite shape, color and number, I can make a piece of my soul in the theme of someone else’s to share in. We conscious beings are each a part of each other, souls repeating in time, showing patterns to review and refine. Life without purpose is activity without meaning, without direction, trivial and pointless. We connect by being and sharing with each other - snips of our time and creativity is our most precious resource - making happiness not a place, but where we make a bit of grace.

There are so many opportunities for grace on this journey or any creative process. Sometimes dye comes out great, sometimes it doesn’t, just like with bits of life. I am my own worst critic but find grace in knowing sometimes things must be broken apart to be put back whole. Trying to make anything in a vision or working in a series is a hard experience, there will be failures but also successes, both teach me to reevaluate approaches for the next round. It takes courage to use scissors or to break things. To know we are cutting something apart but in order to make it a part of something bigger than the sum of its pieces. I miscarried in December and though I may have lost the life I was creating, life has a cycle of rebirth, life finds a way. With grace comes hope. The creative process recharges my soul, and saves me from still sadness. The chaos, in process and life, wakes up the journey, wakes up our purpose and corresponding passion, showing us the fluff to cut out and keeping what matters or brings us joy. Here is to grace and hope, to finding passion and creating happiness, and to being the change we want to see, exponentially.

diy

About the Creator

Nicole de Vries

High energy, low maintenance.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nicole de VriesWritten by Nicole de Vries

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.