Humans logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Kathy Griffin Undergoes Second Vocal Cord Surgery in Hopes of Regaining Voice

Kathy Griffin has provided an update on her recovery after vocal cord surgery

By Mian HamidPublished 9 days ago 3 min read

Kathy Griffin Undergoes Second Vocal Cord Surgery in Hopes of Regaining Voice

Kathy Griffin Undergoes Second Vocal Cord Surgery in Hopes of Regaining Voice

Kathy Griffin has provided an update on her recovery after vocal cord surgery.

On June 12, the 63-year-old comedian shared a photo on Instagram showing her throat with a gauze bandage where the surgery took place.

"Vocal cord surgery went well. 🙏 As you can see some scarring and swelling. It will be worth it if I get some of my voice back.🙏🙏🙏," Griffin wrote in her caption.

Related :Keltie Knight Battling with Rare Blood Disease Microcytic Anemia

The day before, Griffin posted a video on Instagram explaining her upcoming procedure. "I'm getting an implant in my left vocal cord, which was left permanently paralyzed during my lung cancer surgery, where they took out half my left lung," she said.

She added, "I also have an aperture, which is a tear above my vocal cords, and that's why sometimes when I'm doing stand-up my voice goes to a higher pitch."

Kathy Griffin Undergoes Second Vocal Cord Surgery in Hopes of Regaining Voice

Related :Megan Thee Stallion Confessed Posses Tools To Alter Thinking

Griffin admitted she was a bit nervous about this surgery, despite being accustomed to medical procedures. "I'm never nervous before surgery and I've had quite a few. But I am a little nervous about this one 'cause it's my voice and I've already gone through it once with the voice problem," she confessed.

As part of her recovery, Griffin won't be able to speak for the next couple of weeks. "Wish me luck, and I can't talk at all for two weeks, which is going to drive me crazy. So I'll be watching a lot of TikTok, and I won't be making any," she informed her fans.

Related :Keltie Knight Battling with Rare Blood Disease Microcytic Anemia

She emphasized her ongoing efforts to improve her voice, concluding, "This is the last thing I can say for two weeks."

Kathy Griffin Undergoes Second Vocal Cord Surgery in Hopes of Regaining Voice

Griffin’s My Life on the PTSD-List tour is set to continue on August 23 at Connecticut's District Music Hall.

Related :Abby De La Rosa Revealed How Son Zillion Autism Diagnosis

This surgery follows a previous operation on her left vocal cord in May 2023. Griffin told the following month that the earlier procedure, which addressed damage from lung cancer treatment nearly two years prior, "was really gnarly."

In August 2021, Griffin revealed her lung cancer diagnosis and underwent a lobectomy to remove the tumor. By November, she announced she was cancer-free but has since discussed the difficulties stemming from her paralyzed vocal cord.

Related :Jennie Garth Opens Up About Body Image Struggles and Self-Care

"The crazy and mindf--k thing is that when I had cancer, I had no symptoms. Then I had the surgery to remove half my left lung, and now it's like, I sound and feel like I have cancer," she told.

She noted, “The frustrating thing is I actually sound like I'm in pain, but I'm not.”

Related :Abby De La Rosa Revealed How Son Zillion Autism Diagnosis

The Quran - Chapter Ar-Rahman : 52 - 55

In each will be two types of every fruit.

Then which of your Lord’s favours will you both deny?

Those ˹believers˺ will recline on furnishings lined with rich brocade. And the fruit of both Gardens will hang within reach.

Then which of your Lord’s favours will you both deny?

celebrities

About the Creator

Mian Hamid

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mian HamidWritten by Mian Hamid

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.