Humans logo

Johnny's Roots

A Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Johnny's Roots
Photo by Adam Birkett on Unsplash

I love the South. Lived here my

Entire life, the cooling breeze

And the neverending heat

My earliest memory, my father could

Tell you was my infatuation

With cars, my father locked up

Every door to prevent me from going outside but what a kid to do. So I took my favorite hat and favorite boots reached for the handle and trying endlessly and out I went.

After playing for sometime, I heard the voice of my father calling me

And ran back to him and he did not punished me but was afraid for my safety and that never happened again.

Did I tell you my favorite memory of my siblings while growing up down South?

My older brother and older sister

Challenged my younger sister and I to a dance off. And they were gracious to let us go first. I tried to do the running man but I just jump in place desperately and my younger sister imitated. My older brother and older sister laughed hard and rolled. My younger sister and I looked dumbfounded and yelled for them to do it. They did in unison and acting like professionals and we imitated them admiringly.

Now that you know a little about me, Johnny. Presently, I'm working at the local grocery in Old Town, Deep South. It is hard stuff. The bus barely comes and Mom has to work all the time, her and Dad divorced and Dad moved up North.

On my way to work, I saw a family of deer and prayed that I would do better if I passed this test. I tried not to stare as the male deer led his family across the road. Then another time, I saw a group of wild turkeys, I love turkey but not like that. They looked and said that I am big and scary too while we quietly passed each other. That was it for me, I told my Mom I was fed up with walking to and fro to work. Mom got tired of my complaining and reluctantly said I can move up North with my Dad.

Dad was a hard man, strong and very tall. Mom had a beautiful smile, enchanting eyes and she was bold. They got together through friends and family, after decades together, they mutually parted in my teens.

Dad met me as my Mom made sure I was safe. He reminded me of childhood, Johnny remember when I place that Kennedy Half Dollar on your leg, to show you were getting grown.

Johnny replied embarrassingly, Dad I know, I know.

His Dad said you look so grown, a job and making money. You know it takes one dollar to make a million. Remember that son.

He took Johnny to his apartment and showed him the neighborhood and gave him advice on women playing his favorite songs and they laughed together enjoying themselves with tears of joy.

It happened after sometime his Dad took Johnny to his favorite fish place and Johnny saw a girl his age and gave her the eye. They gave eachother body signals that they liked eachother but when Johnny tried to talk he spoke Southern. The girl laughed and turn away telling her mother. The mother came when his Dad was in the bathroom and she slyly talk to him. Johnny unaware and feeling uncomfortable slowly walk outside. His Dad came and looked for him searching and found him. Johnny told his Dad and his Dad knew how to talk to him to calm him down. He took him to the beach to see Lilacs. Johnny fell into a deep dream over those Lilacs and even fell in love with them and they could be credit for helping cure his headaches but one day a Gardener prune the plants claiming too many hornets and unsafe for Beach goers. His Dad console him and told him what he thinks about him and his future. He told Johnny he is smart and resemble both of his parents. That he wanted to be remember by his family. And Johnny spent his teenage years up North until he had to go to college to plan his life and helped his Mom and called his parents everyday.

satire
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.