Humans logo

Jelly Much?

By Vincenzo RuscianoPublished about a year ago 4 min read

Jelly Much?

Being in a position to help others has made me see how valuable I am as a person and has shined a light upon my perception that I am not overlooked in society. Helping others has made me feel needed,vital and has given me contentment with my presence in the world.

“I am now in a position to help others.” The thought came to me one sunny afternoon. Something had happened and it made me feel as though I had grown up in some way. I learned that I have a place in this world just like everyone else. I came to realize that people do notice me and that I have an identity. I didn’t think I would have a problem with this, but it made me conscious of the fact that people will see me and judge me. They will notice my mistakes and hold me accountable to them. This led me to believe that I must learn how to be more careful, and admit when I am wrong. I feel that we all should be ashamed of nothing because we as people are all fallible. The event I experienced enlightened me to that absolute truth.

“Excuse me?”I hear her in the distance. “Excuse me?” she cries again. Is she talking to me? I'll take a look.

“Hello there!” Yep. She sure is. I can’t believe it, what could she want? Did she know me? She didn’t look familiar? Was she a teacher? Did I do something wrong? Maybe I had a booger and she was being polite by letting me know it’s protruding from my nostril. Who knows? How does someone converse with a total stranger at the grocery store? I had always thought of myself as invisible, that no one really notices me. I’m pretty quiet and do not bother others too much. People do not come and take pictures of me because I’m famous nor do I make myself a hub for entertainment. So, why would I expect to have all eyes on me? She caught me off guard.

“How can I help you ma’am?” A question I regretted immediately. I was afraid she would ask me for money, or help with her groceries. I don’t have time for that, spit it out lady!

“I could sure use that jam up there” she exclaimed. “Well, then go get it” I thought to myself. I looked at her quickly and assessed, “Oh! That’s right you can't reach that!” As I reached for the jelly I started to think to myself “Wow, I never thought that I would be helping someone out like this. I feel like I’m in a movie!” I wondered if this is what my life was going to be like every time I would go to the grocery store. I imagined that other people would view me as a tool to help with lifting heavy objects and reaching distant and out of reach items. My mind wondered as I thought “Wow! Will people look forward to me walking down the aisle? And what if a person who sees me helping someone would like some aid as well?” I thought of how I will forever have to endure the temptation of people wanting to take advantage of my height to get top shelf goods. I might be feeling sour one day and would not want to help both of them. Could I just tell them to shove it or take a hike? No, that would be rude and unlike me. I came to my senses as I doubted that there would be so many people bugging me and that it would become an issue, although I could have my groceries delivered if it ever got really bad.

“Here you go!” I said as I handed her the jar. I felt accomplished; there was an overwhelming feeling of joy as I realized that I have made this lady’s day. Handing her that jar gave me the feeling of doing a good deed for the day. Knowing she needed help and approached me instead of asking someone else made me feel noticed and visible which in turn changed how I viewed myself.

“Thank you so much “ she exclaimed “I really appreciate that.” She smiled from ear to ear as she hugged her spread. She will no longer have to stare at sweet savory goodness lying beyond the bounds of her reach. She can go home and eat. I was glad.

“You’re Welcome!” I waved and turned around never to see her again. My life has changed forever. I walked down the aisle amazed as I thought to myself, “From this point on, I will be as helpful as I possibly can.”

I saw life in a new light that day as I learned that we cannot hide from ourselves and we must accept who we are. We are all human and we must accept our shortcomings. I knew I must help this lady get her jam and that there will be many other helpless ladies that will need my assistance in the future. Maybe there will be times when I am not in the best of moods or I am in a bit of a rush. We all have those moments when we just grab and go, and yet how many times have we stopped someone to ask where the hummus was located? We should not have to be afraid to ask for help. There will be times where we will be asked to lend a hand, afterall our capabilities as human beings differ and we need each other in order to survive and achieve our goals as a society.

humor

About the Creator

Vincenzo Rusciano

This is my first time sharing my stories publicly, I hope ya'll enjoy reading them as much as i enjoyed writing them. Thank you and have fun!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VRWritten by Vincenzo Rusciano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.