Humans logo

Iyanya Gets Real About Reality Show Singers

"I'll be honest with you..."

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

With the rise of reality competition shows like Big Brother Naija, Gulder Ultimate Search, Ultimate Love, The Voice, Project Fame, Nigerian Idol, etc, it is easier now more than ever for a person to get an audience. These platforms have served as launchpads for the careers of many musicians including recent acts like Big Brother's Laycon, Nigerian Idol contestant like Kingdom, and The Voice Nigeria contestants like Naomi Mac.

Now, Nigerian musician and performer Iyanya is giving his thoughts about these 'reality show singers'.

Iyanya

It is important to note before reading his response that Iyanya himself actually went through a singing competition himself (Project Fame West Africa) and he won his season. So, his answer is also from experience and the things that he has seen. When asked about his thoughts about reality show singers, this is what Iyanya said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Iyanya on Pulse TV

Speaking during an interview with Pulse, Iyanya was asked "What do you think of the reality show singers?" to which he responded saying:

I'll be honest with you, I feel like most people who win these reality shows and competitions, not all of them had true intentions to be a performer or an entertainer. Some of them just got blessed or lucky, that's it, to win the competition and then after that, most people just say 'look, after 1, 2 years, this is not my life. I'm going to go back.' So for me, I always wanted to be who I am today and even bigger. So when I got that opportunity, when I got that chance, I was like this is it, you know. I win or I lose. And when I won, it was the platform I always prayed for to take off, do you understand? Because if you talk about Iyanya now, the first thing is to talk about Project Fame, the winner of Project Fame West Africa. So that was the platform. Some people win, they go back to their normal lives. Some people win, they go through life man and not many people are willing to invest in music these days, obviously, because of how the industry is. And that's what I think.

Hmm, what do you think about Iyanya's answer? Especially the part where he said, "I feel like most people who win these reality shows and competitions, not all of them had true intentions to be a performer or an entertainer. Some of them just got blessed or lucky". I don't know, for some of these people like Laycon who entered the Big Brother house and said countless times that he did it to promote his music, or contestants on singing shows like The Voice or Nigerian Idol, I think their intentions had to be true no? I personally don't think it's 'most people', I think it's some, especially from shows that are not singing reality shows. What do you think about it? Let me know what you think about Iyanya's thoughts by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.