Humans logo

Is there anything I am a snob about?

New Writing Prompt #4

By Victoria WardPublished 24 days ago 3 min read
Like
Found on Bing Images

Me; a snob? Never! I wouldn't call myself a snob; I am more opinionated than snobbish. I am a strong-willed female who likes to have my voice heard. I respect if someone doesn’t agree with my opinions, just that I want the chance to be listened to. I also like putting in my two cents to conversations. Speaking of my two cents, I am going to unleash my most snobbish opinions.

First, I am most opinionated about wasting food, money, and time. I strongly do not like it when people don’t care about using, saving, and recycling commodities. Please, do not go to a restaurant, fancy or not, if you don’t plan on eating a full portion. If you plan on taking part of it home for another meal, you are not wasting it. However, if you order a full plate and do not take it home, you are wasting the cook’s time to prepare the meal, the money you spent on it, and the food is thrown away. If you are not hungry, please, don’t order a large portion of food.

Waste not, want not! Ethnic groups in other countries don’t have the opportunity to roll up to a restaurant, order a ton of food, and then leave it for someone else to deal with. The culture in other parts of the world includes growing, preparing, and preserving their food to keep for long as possible. Think about those who live in Africa; they have to walk miles, every day, in the hot sun, to get water. The meat they hunt has to quickly and efficiently be used before it spoils. They don’t have the privilege like we do, to put meat in freezers to keep for a week. We should remember this in the future when we go out for food.

Second, I am highly adamant about how I spend my time and energy. In the past, I have experienced extreme burnout, which has led to anxiety and depression. Burnout from working too hard, too long, or not getting enough sleep is a real thing. I have learned that it is important to slow down, even when you need to work fast, to move forward. I like to tell myself that I don’t need to work at super speed when working on tasks, but I need to continue working. I am more intentional with my time and energy, so I experience burnout less.

When I see someone struggling with burnout it makes me sad. I don’t like to see other people going through a rough time. I feel the need to give advice to those around me. Okay, call me a snob, but I promise I do it from the heart.

Third, I know that everyone is not as quick and efficient as I am, but is it a crime to want people to have the same gusto as I do for getting things done? I am the one who plans everything out before starting a task. I like having a structured plan to follow, so I don’t lose focus on what I’m doing. There have been many times when multiple family members have gone to the grocery store on the same day. We could have gotten everything we needed in one trip!

Confession time, I don’t want to be called a snob, but my opinionated personality is a bit snobbish. Wasting food, money, and time is a passion subject for me because I always experience situations where I see someone wasting what they own. In time, I hope this world starts, especially in the United States, to remember that we are blessed to have access to food, water, and time that we do. I care about how we productively use the resources God has given us to the best of our abilities and we remain grateful. I may be a snob, but I know what I stand for.

Stream of Consciousnesslisthumanityadvice
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Ward

I am a girl who likes reading, writing, watching, and having fun! I love writing about books, movies, music, games, and anything else that makes me happy.

Come down the rabbit hole with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.