Humans logo

#1 Writing Prompt Challenge

You find yourself at the end of the rainbow

By Victoria WardPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
From Bing Images

* In honor of St. Patrick's Day 2021, here is a fun little story!

Wow, how did I get here? I’ve never seen a grassy hill this green and lush before. The hills race so far into the distance that I can’t see anything beyond them; I don’t know where they end. Turning around, I survey my surroundings. behind me is a clump of bushes sprouting little yellow flowers. They look like the yellow flowers from Animal Crossing; I think they’re called Camellia flowers.

Approaching the flowers, I lean down to smell the foliage and find that it smells as sweet as the berries and cream yogurt I had this morning for breakfast. The scent is tantalizing, and I don’t know if I will ever be able to stop inhaling the delicious smell, but then, I hear a weird sound coming from somewhere nearby. It sounds like the person is laughing over something they find hilarious. I hope it isn’t me, I’m still in my flowered pajamas. Well, at least I blend in a little with the flowers around me. Maybe the person can’t see me?

Standing up, I straighten myself out and clean off the dirt that stuck to my hands and clothes. The noise seems to be coming from a small clearing hidden by the bushes I was just smelling, so I stick my face through the bush as far as I can, and to my astonishment, I find a small green man dancing around a large pot!

This funny-looking man is only about four feet tall. He’s wearing a light-green checkered shirt with too many pockets to count. He also wears a vest, pants, and pilgrim style hat with a shiny square shaped buckle all in different hues of green. From the rest of him, bright red like the red of fire adorned him. His hair falls down in rivulets from under his hat and he has a beard that’s almost grown to the ground.

I heard once, if you catch a Leprechaun, they have to grant you three wishes or maybe that was for Genies. I think making a few wishes would be nice, but I would have way too much trouble trying to decide what to wish for. Do you go for the classic world piece, a million dollars, or something more personal? I don't know, but I need to focus back on the man dancing a complicated jig in the middle of the forest.

I can’t see from my hiding spot in the bushes what is in the large pot, but if definitely sparkles a little. There’s another group of bushes closer to the little man, so I’m going to try and sneak over to get a better look. As I came closer, I came to realize what this guy was so happy about, he was dancing around a pot of gold! This was a Leprechaun and his pot of gold, which means, yes! Above me is the most beautiful rainbow I’ve ever seen. The colors are not dull, but the brightest of any color pattern I have encountered.

The gold was creating the rainbow that was pulsing the brilliant colors in the sky for everyone to see for miles around. I wonder where the other people are or other magical creatures, I might be able to discover? Thinking to myself, I don’t know where I am, and watching this Leprechaun is entertaining, maybe I should figure out where I am. I need to get home before anyone realizes I’m gone; I also have a huge math test tomorrow, and this new world I found isn’t going to help me pass the exam.

* Thank you for reading! Don't forget to where your green attire!

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Ward

I am a girl who likes reading, writing, watching, and having fun! I love writing about books, movies, music, games, and anything else that makes me happy.

Come down the rabbit hole with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.