Humans logo

In The Middle

Being goofy can be good sometimes!

By J.DPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
I am the apple split down the middle.

Social things are hard for me. I never knew where I belonged in when I am not myself. I am comfortable being the person everyone expects me to me. In my family, I split my identity between black and white. In school, I split my identity between kind and cruel. Online, I split my identity between whom I wanted to be, and who I was not. It but a monster, and hated the thing I'd become. It was difficult to maintain the weave of deception, and in that tirade of self-hatred afforded me no real friends. I was alone. I had been alone for so long.

It was a few years ago when I decided to give myself a chance. Those moments were hard, because . To me for me. Even now as I stare at him, I am forever grateful. It was unfortunate he had to endure my metamorphisms. I'm still stuck in my cacoon, but I can mountains, the warm weather, and the open roads. Massachusites surround me with a smorgasbord of visual delights. Do you know how long its been since I've seen a proper tree or forest? A long time!

This new . Coming from a broken home, the desire for true family was something I didn't know I craved. I told him I would do my best to be respectful, open minded, and adapt meeting. saw something in the corner of my eye. It looked like a guitar, but had a wider body and a long neck. When I picked it up, I began to strum in and sing a stupid song. Why? Heck if I know.

After my weird gesture of lightening the mood, his parents laughed. I still sat amazed asking them what the instrument was. His father told me it was an oud. M after, and my boyfriend and I went home.

Later in the evening, I asked him if I made a fool of myself in front to accept me, because he accepted him. I went to sleep unconvinced, but accepted the fact I ruined an effort to try and understand them. They liked me.

Ever since then, they've treated me like their own. I never felt more comfortable with parental figures in ages. I call them "Mom" and "Dad" respectfully. You could say I adopted them for myself. I am grateful to have them in my life and am thankful for my boyfriend believing in me.

Why was I writing

humanity
Like

About the Creator

J.D

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.