Humans logo

If I only had a heart

My life-long passion

By EJ ArundelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
If I only had a heart
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

When I think of being fulfilled, it is always the same thought. The thought that I have had since I was in 5th grade. I want to have something I have created, using my imagination and creativity, be able to provide a livable wage for me and my family.

Sure, everyone wishes for their talents to make them a millionaire. And of course, that would be wonderful. However, to accomplish my goal of reaching fulfillment in my life, I would be able to feel the contentment knowing I’ve finally reached my lifetime goal with a livable wage.

Using my creativity and imagination is everything to me. It is when I am at my happiest. It’s a mixture of exhilaration, anxiety, and joy that, to me, feels like sinking deep into a cozy bed with the blankets cradling and swaddle you as you lower into a blissful state of comfort. Its where I belong.

I was wise to movie magic at an early age. I loved the chance to go to the movies and become pulled into the stories as I watched. My fascination grew into not just acting and getting to play different characters but also how it was all created to make the movie. I spent many an hour drawing gadget cars, like James Bond had. I had a story for everyone I drew.

I played with my action figures and came up with elaborate stories and adventures for my little heroes live in. As I got older, the stories became more detailed. I remember on many occasions asking my mom not to disturb my sets, as I called them, because I hadn’t finished playing out the different scenes of my stories.

I then got my first taste of acting in the 5th grade and I was hooked ever since. I went on to be in drama clubs, did some community theater work, and got paid a few dollars, but I was forced to give it up. The need for money was too great for me and I had to find paying work.

While searching for employment, I got my acting fix from being a member of a medieval reenactment group. My imagination would run wild with the backstories of my persona’s past. I went so far as to telling a few dramatic tales at different meetings and gatherings. Some stories created on a spur of the moment from nothing. But as I grew up, I got more responsibilities, which meant I needed a better paying job.

By Fringer Cat on Unsplash

That led me to working in the radio industry. I had found a new home in broadcasting, and I loved it. It was just like acting without being on stage in front of an audience. Over the 22 years I was in broadcasting, I learned most aspects of the business. But sadly, I never got the chance to really show off my talents. Even when I did get a chance, it wasn’t for any length of time. I was always pushed into positions to work behind the scenes. I reached my early 40’s and radio was dying for lack of conforming to the technologies that were passing them by. I looked back on my career and was tired of being shuffled from one station to the next. I was exhausted form having to move every couple of years. So, I left radio for good, but found myself without an outlet for my imagination and creativity.

It wasn’t until an exciting night of playing a fantasy roll playing game, one of the few chances I had to flex my creative muscle, that I had my stunning realization. My stories! They have been the constant behind it all throughout my entire life. If I wrote down just half of the stories and flushed out some of the ideas I’ve collected in my mind over the years, I bet there was a book in there somewhere.

By Linda Gerbec on Unsplash

So, there I was, 46 years old, working a job just so I have money to keep my cell phone working and my car in working order, and I began to write. I wrote down every thought and idea I had, and I started developing stories. Characters were examined and given their own stories so vast they sound as if I were talking about living human beings. That led me to giving the characters a world in which to live and function. And now, as I am 50 years old, I turned all of that into the creation of an entire fantasy world with its own languages, religious belief pantheons, and new races of creatures. A world filled with beings of all kinds and they all have stories of their own. And letting my imagination flex a bit more, I created a fictitious western themed world and characters that inhabit it.

Writing has always been with me. From that daydreaming kid in elementary school, to today. A 50-year-old dreamer trying to conquer my fears and keep writing my stories so that one day, before it’s too late, finally get that chance to accomplish my goal.

I realize ton of people want to be writers. The website is founded on that exact idea, giving those who wish to write, a chance to write. To be honest, because of my age and my lack of financial readiness for any kind of retirement, I fell writing is my last attempt in life to accomplish my goal. However, after spending countless hours, sometimes to the early hours of the morning writing and researching to build this world, it’s no longer about making the livable wage or the sense of finally accomplishment. My motivation is to do all I can to get these stories published and out to the world.

Victor Hugo once said, “A writer is a world trapped in a person.” I would add to that by saying when a writer creates a world, they create a living entity. To have it published, is releasing it to the public for them to provide its heart. You see, the public decides if a world lives or dies. If they give it a heart, the story will survive for a millennia after the writer is gone. It will continue to thrive and grow.

And that is why I believe people should support my passion. Because I’m counting on them to give my world its heart.

humanity
4

About the Creator

EJ Arundel

A storyteller, world creator, poet, and aspiring bestselling author. When I'm not writing, I'm usually thinking about writing and creating new stories. However, I also enjoy movies, traveling, and supporting my LEGO addiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.