Humans logo

I Would Much Prefer A Girl Tell Me “No” Than For Me To Wonder If We Could Have Been

Closure Is Better Than Wondering

By Frederick EmersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Would Much Prefer A Girl Tell Me “No” Than For Me To Wonder If We Could Have Been
Photo by Isaiah Rustad on Unsplash

No one likes rejection.

It hurts.

It makes us feel as if we are not good enough, important enough, and not valid.

Rejection almost always hurts.

To love someone and not have them love you back or even acknowledge you can feel like a punch to the chest.

It weighs down heavily on our ego and makes us start to question ourselves.

Questions such as:

“Am I not good enough.”

“Did I do something to make them hate me?”

“Did I misread their intent?”

“Were they just being nice and not flirting with me?”

It can make us feel like a fool because, in our heads, we are thinking of how our relationship will rocket off to great spectacular heights, only to see it crash and burn before it even begins.

I know; it has happened to me more times than I would like to say or count.

But even still, if I am interested in a girl, I will ALWAYS ask her out — because the thought of “Could we have been a thing” lingering on in the back of my mind, to me, is far worse than her letting me know “I’m not interested.”

That level of closure is much easier to bear, in my opinion.

My guys, don’t be afraid of rejection.

It is not the end of the world.

And in all honesty, women are most likely never going to be the ones to come up to us and ask us out; even if they dream about us, they most likely will not reach out to us.

At the very best, they will throw out “signs” — WHICH CAN EASILY BE MISCONSTRUED.

Her: “I smiled at you.”

Me (us):"What the hell is that supposed to mean?"

A smile could be that you are just a smiling person, just a friendly person, or just in a good mood.

God, these “signs” are so…women, why not just tell us you are interested?

We can have more time getting to know each other, explore each other, and be with each other — instead of us guys having to navigate through the labyrinth of “does she like me or is she just being friendly?”

Excuse me, I am going into a tangent.

(But really, women, please explain to me why have these small, subtle signs that, for real, us guys are going to overlook.)

It’s just how most women are wired.

I get it, to an extent.

Now, this is not to say some women will not ask guys out — because I have had women ask me out, straight up ask me out on a date.

And I always love that, the confidence, and the unorthodox behavior.

But odds are this happening is like 1 out of 10 girls that would do that.

So, my guys, take the step, make the initiation, ask her out.

Because odds are she may say no, but you equally have the same odds that she may say yes.

And the fact that you will have some closure will help you MOVE ON and start looking elsewhere for love, instead of waiting around on a girl who may not even know you exist.

You don’t want to be the guy who can never get over a girl.

Like My Writing? How Bout Buying Me Coffee

If you find my writing helpful and would like to support my endeavors feel free to become a member of mines and get access to ALL of my articles on medium and other articles for the price of a cup of coffee a month.

Consider following me on Medium (which you can find here) or kindly leave a tip, as that would help out abd be appreciated A LOT.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Frederick Emerson

I am Frederick Emerson, a prolific blogger with a decade of experience in the digital sphere. Through my thought-provoking content, I have captivated readers and sparked engaging conversations on a wide range of topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.