Humans logo

"I will be cool with my man having chicks outside" - Simi and Seyi Shay fight about monogamy.

"It's my ideal situation."

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

"It's my ideal situation."

Simi and Seyi Shay are two of Nigeria's top female singers. In fact they are two of Nigeria's two top singers overall.

They both do very different types of music and they both have very different personalities and public persona. Seyi Shay's public persona is sexy, foreign, mysterious. Simi's public persona is demure, local, and relatable.

So when these two women ended up in the same room for a taping of Simi's Youtube Series, Stoopid Sessions, I knew it was going to be interesting.

But my oh my was it GOOD!

The topic up for discussion was monogamy and just as different as these two women are in their music and public perception, so also are they different in their thoughts towards the subject.

Are you ready to see what each side thought about the matter? Then let's go.

**Before reading on, make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

The Video

The Argument.

This video is 36 whole minutes long. I know if you're like me, you don't have the data to waste. So as a good friend, I've burned my data for you and I've brought you the HIGHLIGHTS of the conversation. Here it is:

Simi opens the discussion saying:

Simi

Monogamy, is it still valid or obsolete? What do you think about monogamy specifically in marriage? Do you think that there's any point to monogamy? Are we deceiving ourselves?

Seyi Shay

Monogamy. To be honest with you, I feel like if two people have an understanding before they enter into the relationship, I think it's cool. I think everybody should just be clear and open with each other. Are we going to be exclusive or are we not? Can you handle it? Can you not? I don't know if I can trust myself to be with one person forever, but I love you, can you handle it? I think communication is important from the beginning.

Simi

Do you think that you're capable of it?

Seyi Shay

I think that I'm capable of it. I actually do. I was in a relationship, I almost got married. I got engaged last year and the people that knew knew, I had my ring on and everything but I feel like people thought it was a fashion ring but it was actually an engagement ring. A few months later, we broke up.

Simi

I'm sorry. Unless he was a douchebag then I'm not sorry.

Seyi Shay

In the stress of planning the whole wedding, our relationship started to break down and eventually I found out he was cheating on me. I found out because I walked in on a situation I really wish I didn't have to. To me marriage is more than just the big ceremony and the contracts, it's spiritual. So as long as the two of you are open and honest, then ya.

Simi

I feel like marriage is a choice everyday. Even relationships, forget marriage. Cuz if you're committing to somebody, you're committing to something. It's not necessarily a choice because it's easy. I don't think monogamy is obsolete at all. I can promise you that I'm going to do something, the fact that I don't do it doesn't mean I'm not able to do it, that's what I'm saying. The fact that people are not keeping to their oaths or to their promises because of temptation...

Seyi Shay

But what is the promise? In the beginning when you meet somebody and start dating them, you guys fall in love and it's like "I can spend the rest of my life with you." Isn't that the goal? So if the goal is to spend the rest of my life with you, I need to decide now what I can put up with and what I can't put up with from now instead of wasting time down the line.

Simi

But the question is the people that are promising that they will stay with only that person, is it possible? I think it's possible.

Seyi Shay

In theory it's possible, it's something that we should aspire to for sure. Listen, this is going to sound crazy and I hope the women don't bash me for this. I would actually be cool with my man having chicks outside. As long as they're chicks and not one. Because if he has one chick on the side, then it is more likely that he can fall in love with that one chick. But if he's got like chicks outside and he's doing his thing...as long as I'm number one, he doesn't have to tell me about it, but as long as we have the conversation about it, that's my dream. That is my ideal situation, let me not lie.

Simi

What the fuck though?

Seyi Shay

Ya, I feel like monogamy is something to aspire to and a lot of people can achieve it quite successfully but in this day and age, it is getting harder.

Simi

I don't think it's getting harder.

Seyi Shay

I think it's a nice idea. However, in this day and age it's hard. The reason I told you my own personal story is because in the beginning, I didn't sit down with my own guy and ask "Hey can you handle monogamy? I can or I can't?" So when it actually happened to me, it really tore me apart. So now, I know that the next person I meet, there's some conversations we must definitely have.

Simi

See, as long as you say you choose me, make the fucking effort. If you're not willing to make the fucking effort, leave me alone. Just leave me alone. It's not by force. It's not by force to marry so if you say you're gonna be in a marriage and you make that oath, then do it. If you know you cannot do it, then don't do it.

***********************************************************************

So there it is. For Seyi, it's as long as there's communication, you're good. For Simi, it's you should make the effort and try to stay monogamous if you decide to take those wedding vows.

What do you think? Do you agree with Simi or do you agree with Seyi Shay?

Let us know below.

That's All.

**Don't forget to like my page.

I'm sure you've loved reading this piece. To make sure you keep having fun and don't miss out on any fun in the future, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page above. It's a really fun page and you're really going to love it. So what's stopping you? Like it!

To catch up other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day!

dating
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.