Humans logo

I'm Fed up

Don't small talk at me

By Tetrenius CobaltPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
I'm Fed up
Photo by Anna Vander Stel on Unsplash

Learning to love people is a real challenge lately. Let’s start with the boring small talk that they make. Why as people do we continue to have small talk with each other, and then go home and have conversations about how we hated it. No one is forcing us to speak to each other, but yet we still do it like our lives depended on it. I went to the store today looking for a small table. The table I found was perfect; just the right size and color for the space I needed. Unfortunately the packaging was broken, and so was the table inside so I was forced to ask an associate for help. Now, while I was waiting for this associate, to get a hold of another associate, to help both of us I see this man scanning the area were occupying. He first walks on the right side of the aisle then the left side, and finally ends up on my right shoulder. He too was looking for a small table for his family, and goes to reach for the table. I told him “That table is broken”. He replied with a thank you, and we both proceeded to wait for our end tables to arrive. An associate finally arrived and asked his fellow co-worker what the code was so they could go retrieve them from the back. He received the code and left, and this is when it got terrible for me.

Now before the man had arrived the associate and I were standing in silence. There was no need to talk to each other as I had a one track mind, and he was on shift. One minute in to the three of us standing there the man turns to me, and starts telling me about his last experience when he was in the store. He says “I was in this store yesterday and they had thirteen of these tables” So, I replied with something easy along the lines of they were good tables, and that must have been the reason. He then continues talking to me! Telling me about how his wife wanted another table, and how he was there to buy a new futon with cup holders with a new more comfortable design as well. Which, couldn’t have been true because of the store we were at. I pull out my phone again, clearly establishing that I want no part in this banter, but the man keeps going now saying things like “They might have it in stock, but it’ll be stocked in Arkansas” followed by a medium volume chuckle… I turned to him and gave him the most shallow fake laugh I possibly could. Finally the associate came back and gave us both our tables, and I skirted away into the distance and had a sigh of relief.

The man was about five foot even with a dark blue tennis shirt that was starched, and tucked into his khaki pants. His shoes were white like the ones Mark Zuckerberg wears and he had on a pair of auburn brown square framed glasses. The situation wasn’t as bad as it could’ve been, but my eternal question to everyone is why? Why do you think everyone cares about what you have to say? He really thought “Were standing here waiting for the same thing let me try and bond with him” like he’s the main character of a book. Your not, no one is. We all live our individual lives for ourselves and maybe a couple others that are close to us, but beyond that no one cares. I could care less about your wife, kids, animals or anything else that’s been going on in your life. Realistically none of us are living that great of lives anyway. Stop telling me about good things that are insignificant and don’t matter. The next person that comes up and speaks to me should tell me about how their mother has recently passed, or how their child has just contracted cancer or I don't want to hear it! Life is terrible. Be honest when was the last time any of us got to sit down for a whole month, and just experience life without something wrong happening. Without recurring bills, constant job stress, or a death in the family? I cant remember the last time that was for me and I’m young I remember almost everything. There are over seven billion people on this earth and maybe only a couple hundred who I am personally connected with, and those people can be summed up as high school friends, childhood friends or my parents friends. The rest of the world doesn’t know who I am, and if they did they still wouldn’t care, and I prefer it that way.

No one cares about you on an in depth level. The people that do aren’t in the grocery store looking at end tables for their girlfriend. We avoid the people we should be talking to, and then force ourselves to converse with someone we have no connection to and it needs to cease. Stop speaking to random people as if you have something important to say because you don’t. If your not making at least a million dollars a year guess what were basically living the same life. Leave me alone permanently. Your life is not good, my life is not good, and we don’t need to talk about it. When are we going to start being real with each other and start telling it how we see it. Maybe then I could get behind having small conversations from time to time, but we don’t. We laugh and joke together in public view and then go home and contemplate leaving this earth, and everyone in it. I’m tired of it, and you should be tired too.

advice
1

About the Creator

Tetrenius Cobalt

If you want to read something that's going to make you feel something more than happiness welcome home; everything I write comes from the well within and inspires thoughts and emotions once abandoned. Everything you've thought I will say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.