Humans logo

I have some concerns as I prepare to become a mom. (Part 1)

Before things get better, they're going to get worse

By sara trifPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I have some concerns as I prepare to become a mom. (Part 1)
Photo by Hoi An Photographer on Unsplash

One. Is it even moral to have a child in this day and age? Due to climate change, we will see water scarcity over their lifetimes as well as a rise in international conflict. Before things get better, they're going to get worse. How can I introduce a new human into it without breaking my moral code?

What would the world look like if only those who did not believe in climate change had children? It's a flawed answer, but that's how I came to it. Yes, they will need to contribute to the solution, as will everyone else. For a person who didn't ask to be born, it's a difficult request. However, I'm sure they'll be useful in the future.

2. How does nationality appear? I think it's significant, but why exactly?

Being a child of a third culture, I have never lived for an extended period of time in a country of which I was a citizen. I've already talked about how I don't identify with any nation or religion.

I am a product of all the ethnicities and civilizations that came before me, so that's not completely accurate. Even if I don't really identify with any of them, they still belong to me.

The mother, Erin, carries the entire weight of their situation and comes from a different background than I do, so that's just me. How can you respect both circumstances and backgrounds while still downplaying the significance of nationality and patriotism in general?

What matters to me is that kids are aware of their diverse ethnic backgrounds and that they have limitless opportunities. Instead of patriotism, I want children to feel connected to all people and proud of being human. I want them to have open minds and a truly global perspective. They have unlimited options because there are so many things they can do. At the same time, everyone and everything matters, and those who are closer to them do not have a greater impact than those who are farther away. I want my child to enjoy the benefits of connection and openness.

Three: I wish to ensure their wellbeing. That is incredibly intimidating all by itself. What if I somehow harm them?

Four. I've been in front of screens all of my life. Writing stories that utilized the Sinclair ZX81's keyboard's BASIC shortcuts was how I actually learned to write. Characters would frequently GOTO somewhere, run, and then do something else. Watching the cartoon network announcements on our tiny TV in Amsterdam is one of my first recollections.

What should their interaction with technology be? The general consensus is that giving children access to screens too early can hinder their development. In addition, my dad in particular purposefully let me play with everything at the same time. I disassembled radios, played about with computers without consequence, and I had no qualms about technology from an early age. And it's really helped me out.

I'll admit that I have a negative attitude toward the parents of toddlers who carry iPads around with them. What authority do I actually have to feel that way? Up until today, I have never had a child. I could have a completely different feeling.

In addition, I have strong opinions on tablets and phones in general. I didn't possess a hacker-proof device until I was in my twenties. Every component could be disassembled, programmed for, and modified. In our home, there were no video game systems, and until I was older, cellphones weren't really a thing. I agree with the open technology only concept. Teach children to be makers, not consumers, from a young age.

Five. Should I get them a domain name? Get a Instagram handle reserved? Is that indulgent of you?

advicefamilyhow tohumanitylove
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.