Humans logo

I found that I enjoy spending time at home

At home, where I have the freedom to work without interruption, I have been at my most inventive

By sara trifPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I found that I enjoy spending time at home
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

I used to enjoy going out when I was younger. My scene consisted of concerts, meals, book stores, plays, movies, and seasonal events. Even at pubs and neighborhood parties, I performed on keyboards in a band.

I believed that I would be missing out on life if I wasn't out doing anything. I frequently visited people, joined a gym, went on nature walks, and would never consider staying in on a Saturday night.

I often felt depressed when I was home alone over the weekend. The fun was all going on without me. Except for me, everyone else was having a nice time. I had a losing feeling.

Everything changed when COVID occurred. Going outside wasn't as enticing now.

I found that I enjoy spending time at home. There are all of my favorite things. Nearby are my kitchen, piano, and books.

My haven is at home. It's where I'm happiest. It's the setting where I can express my true self by dressing whichever I like.

Each of us has a lingering need for home. the secure location where we are free to go without being interrogated. – Maya Angelou

Most Americans prefer to remain at home.

I'm not by myself. According to studies, 55% of Americans prefer to stay at home. When you can relax with a good friend and Netflix at home, why go out to a noisy club with a crowd of strangers sneezing on you?

Additionally, more Americans are choosing to work remotely. Commutes are no longer a hassle. Stop annoying your coworkers. Additionally, the coffee maker and refrigerator are close by.

Some of my friends have transformed their residences into mini-resorts. They have a home gym, a swimming pool, swings and trampolines for their kids, and all of their favorite games.

Bettering the balance between one's personal and professional lives is simple.

I can watch my favorite movies at home. I can test out new dishes. Most importantly, I can write quietly.

A funny black and white cat purring alongside me as I relax on the couch with a cup of coffee and my laptop is one of my favorite things to do. I can find several wholesome snacks whenever I get hungry.

I can take a break at home if I'm feeling under the weather without contaminating others. If I was up late the previous night, I can take a little cat nap.

Nothing is worse than having to attend a meeting in person when you're feeling under the weather. Speaking to someone on a screen while at home is considerably simpler.

I don't have to constantly purchase expensive clothing and receive exorbitant manicures and pedicures at home. I can spend the day doing my nails while wearing comfortable clothing.

Friends schedule visits and make frequent phone calls. Sometimes I make them a homemade meal, and other times we grab takeout.

Every day I talk to my family, and we frequently Facetime or Zoom visit.

My favorite place to be is at home. I can do everything I want there. I have all day to be creative. I can exercise, plant, and go for walks. The supermarket is nearby. You may access Amazon with one keyboard click.

When you can explore what you want online and have it delivered right to your front door, why stand in line at department stores? When shopping from home is an option, why pay for gas?

All the important individuals are still in my life, and we communicate and get together frequently.

However, I now tend to decline most invitations to socialize. I don't need to attend a live performance by a performer I've already seen. The first time I saw him, he was much better.

I don't require raucous clubs, packed gatherings, or lengthy queues. I also don't constantly feel the desire to socialize with new folks. The people in my life are unique.

I don't have to feel uncomfortable at gatherings where people are spreading COVID germs all around.

Since socializing is overrated

I adore my cozy home, which is warm in the winter and cool in the summer. I adore being able to relax and spend time doing what I enjoy.

At home, where I have the freedom to work without interruption, I have been at my most inventive. I can't think of a better place to be.

Sweet home, indeed. The location to discover happiness is here. If it's not found here, it's not found anywhere. — M.K. Soni

There's a reason why they name it "Home Sweet Home." Nothing is sweeter than being at home.

familyhumanityreview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.