Humans logo

I Fell In Love With A Famous Singer

I Let Him Go Because I Felt I Wasn't Worth It.

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 5 min read
3
I Fell In Love With A Famous Singer
Photo by Austin Neill on Unsplash

It happened many years before I got married, and I never thought that I'd be caught up in such a difficult situation.

I was a young adult, and I met him in Scarborough.

I am not going to mention his name because of who he is. I'd like to protect his identity.

I had met him a few times, long before I met my husband. I wasn't in the best of states, and my mental health was very unstable.

The singer showed me affection, friendship, and love.

The problem was, I didn't feel that I was worth it. My confidence and self-esteem were low, and my life was a serious mess.

I would have gone for it if I had the confidence at the time.

The life of people who have fame isn't easy. They are known by millions, followed by media on tour a lot, and they are very busy.

I was coping with a lot of stress while trying to figure out who I was, and what I wanted to do with my own life. I had also, unknown to him at the time; been healing from a few severely abusive relationships that I had encountered just before moving there.

I was also homeless.

The man was really nice, and we had a lot in common, but I felt nervous talking about what had happened, and I felt like he would have seen me as stupid for admitting my feelings.

My exes and other abusers from my past had drilled it into me that I was worthless over many years, and I started to believe it.

I saw that this famous singer was more than just a singer.

He was a human being with feelings.

He admitted having feelings for me, but I had already been feeling low about myself for some time, so at the time, I couldn't see that he might be telling the truth.

I didn't feel that I was capable of achieving my own dreams, and I felt that I didn't deserve to be with someone so successful.

I also felt inadequate about myself, and I knew that there would be many other beautiful girls out there who would be crushing on him.

I didn't feel as beautiful as those other girls, and I felt that if I started a relationship with him; he would want someone more beautiful or equally as talented.

I also didn't see my own talents, after having lost everything to abuse. I felt useless.

He had heard me sing, seen me dance, and read my poems; and he told me that I had a lot of potential to turn them into a lifetime career, and also that he would love me anyway if I chose not to.

However; I couldn't see myself as someone who he would choose as special enough to make a relationship work with.

I could see him as a person and not just his singing career. I had dined and been out with him, I had walked with him, talked with him, and I had been alone with him many times.

Every time I was with him, my heart would flutter, but I just couldn't find enough trust to be with him.

It wasn't that I didn't trust him. I didn't trust myself, and I ran from everyone who got close to me anyway because I feared being abused again.

I was worried that I would ruin our friendship and his career by having a relationship with him, because of my own mental health and issues with my children.

I was scared that it would be too stressful and that I would collapse under the stress because I had no confidence in myself.

If you have read my other stories in my profile in which I talk about how I became ill, and how I recovered; you will know that my life wasn't easy and that the person I am married to, was supportive but also had a very hard time getting me on my feet.

My past didn't make me feel worthy of love at all, no matter who it was. I had many complicated issues, but I was in love with this man, not just his career.

Walking away really hurt, but at that time I felt that it was for the best. I didn't want to hurt this man with my negative feelings, and rather than seeing my life as changing; I felt that I would ruin his life too.

I also felt that my past would ruin it for him because there were many people in my life who were constantly blaming me for it.

I and my husband met some months after that encounter, but he had problems getting close to me. I kept running one minute and then wanting him the next.

I also went out of my way to try and stop the relationship which went on for many months as a result of the trauma, and the runaway feelings did not stop for some years.

I am very happy now, and I have been married for a long time.

I realize now that singers, actors, and many other famous people do not just fall for people like them.

I have met many famous people over the years who have taught me that no matter how talented we are, we fall for people because we love them and because love is human nature.

I don't regret turning the man down because, at the time, I felt that it was the right thing to do for both of us.

However; I have enough experience to understand how trauma and abuse can shape a person into believing that they are not worth anything to anyone.

Now, when I meet famous people, I treat them like normal people. And, though I am married, I still talk and say hello, because I have learned that connections with people who share my interests are actually healthy for me.

lovehumanitydatingcelebrities
3

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.