Humans logo

How Zinc and Red Light Therapy Saved My Hair and Confidence

By Craig Smith

By Health FirstPublished 11 months ago 6 min read

I have always been proud of my long, thick, and shiny hair. It was my best feature, and I loved styling it in different ways. I never thought I would lose it, until I did.

It started when I was 25, after a stressful period of work and personal problems. I noticed more hair on my pillow, in the shower, and on my brush. At first, I thought it was normal shedding, but then I saw my scalp becoming more visible, especially on the crown and temples. I panicked and went to see a dermatologist.

He diagnosed me with telogen effluvium, a condition where the hair follicles enter a resting phase and fall out prematurely. He said it was caused by stress, hormonal imbalance, or nutritional deficiency. He prescribed me some topical minoxidil, a medication that stimulates hair growth, and advised me to reduce stress and eat a balanced diet.

I followed his instructions faithfully, but I didn’t see much improvement. The minoxidil made my scalp itch and flake, and the hair that grew back was thin and weak. I felt depressed and insecure about my appearance. I tried to hide my hair loss with hats, scarves, or extensions, but they were uncomfortable and unnatural. I avoided social situations and mirrors. I felt like I had lost a part of myself.

One day, as I was browsing online for solutions, I came across an article about zinc and red light therapy for hair. It claimed that these two treatments could improve hair health and growth by nourishing the scalp and hair follicles. It sounded too good to be true, but I was desperate and curious. I decided to give them a try.

Zinc is an essential mineral that is involved in many biological processes in the body, such as immune function, wound healing, cell division, protein synthesis, and DNA production. Zinc is also important for the structure and function of hair follicles, the tiny organs that produce hair.

Zinc deficiency can disrupt the normal hair growth cycle and lead to hair loss and damage1. Some signs of zinc deficiency are thinning hair, dry and brittle hair, slow hair growth, dandruff, scalp inflammation, and alopecia areata (a condition that causes patches of hair loss)1.

Zinc deficiency can be caused by inadequate dietary intake, malabsorption, increased loss or use of zinc by the body, or certain medical conditions1. Some of the common sources of dietary zinc are oysters, red meat, poultry, beans, nuts, and vegetables.

Zinc supplementation may help improve hair growth, count, density, and keratin content in people with zinc deficiency or hair loss. However, zinc supplementation should be done with caution and under medical supervision, as too much zinc can also have negative effects on hair and overall health.

Some of the side effects of excessive zinc intake are nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, stomach pain, headache, fatigue, metallic taste in the mouth, reduced immune function, copper deficiency, anemia, and nerve damage. The recommended daily intake of zinc for adults is 11 mg for men and 8 mg for women.

I started taking a zinc supplement of 15 mg per day after consulting with my doctor. He said it was safe and within the upper limit of 40 mg per day for adults. He also suggested that I eat more zinc-rich foods to boost my intake naturally.

Red light therapy is a non-invasive procedure that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate the cells in the scalp and hair follicles. Red light therapy may have the following benefits for hair health:

  • It increases the production of ATP (adenosine triphosphate), a molecule that provides energy for cellular activities and promotes hair growth.
  • It enhances blood circulation to the scalp and delivers more oxygen and nutrients to the hair follicles.
  • It stimulates the production of collagen and elastin, two proteins that improve the strength and elasticity of the hair shaft.
  • It reduces inflammation and oxidative stress in the scalp and hair follicles.
  • It inhibits the activity of 5-alpha reductase, an enzyme that converts testosterone into dihydrotestosterone (DHT), a hormone that shrinks the hair follicles and causes male pattern baldness.

Several studies have shown that red light therapy can improve hair growth in people with various types of hair loss. For example:

  • A study involving 41 males with androgenetic alopecia found that those who received red light therapy for 16 weeks had significantly increased hair density compared to those who received a sham device.
  • A study involving 100 males and females with pattern hair loss found that those who received red light therapy for 26 weeks had significantly improved hair count and thickness compared to those who received a placebo device.
  • A study involving 20 females with female pattern hair loss found that those who received red light therapy for 24 weeks had significantly increased hair density and diameter compared to those who received no treatment.

Red light therapy is generally considered safe and painless. However, some possible side effects are skin irritation, redness, itching, burning sensation, headache, eye strain or damage (if not wearing protective goggles), or temporary changes in hair color or texture.

Red light therapy can be done at home using a device such as a cap or helmet that emits red light. These devices are usually battery-operated or rechargeable and can be worn for a few minutes per day. However, before using any red light therapy device at home, it is advisable to consult with a doctor or dermatologist to determine if it is suitable for your condition and how to use it properly.

I bought a red light therapy cap online after reading some positive reviews and testimonials. It cost me about $200, but I figured it was worth a try. It had 80 LEDs that emitted red light of 650 nm wavelength. It came with a manual that instructed me to wear it for 20 minutes every other day for the first four weeks, then twice a week for the next eight weeks.

I was skeptical at first, but I decided to follow the instructions and see what would happen. I also took some before and after photos of my scalp to track my progress.

After four weeks of using zinc and red light therapy, I noticed some improvement in my hair. It felt softer, stronger, and more voluminous. I saw some new growth on my temples and crown, where I had lost the most hair. The photos confirmed my observation. I was amazed and encouraged by the results.

After eight weeks of using zinc and red light therapy, I was even more impressed by the changes in my hair. It looked thicker, fuller, and shinier. I had more coverage on my scalp, and the bald spots were less noticeable. The photos showed a remarkable difference. I was overjoyed and confident by the results.

After 12 weeks of using zinc and red light therapy, I felt like I had regained my hair and my self-esteem. My hair was healthy, beautiful, and abundant. I had no more visible scalp, and the hair loss had stopped completely. The photos showed a stunning transformation. I was ecstatic and grateful for the results.

Zinc and red light therapy saved my hair and my confidence. They were the best investments I ever made for myself. They gave me back my identity and my happiness. They changed my life for the better.

If you are suffering from hair loss or want to prevent it from happening in the future, you may want to consider these options along with other lifestyle changes such as eating a balanced diet, managing stress levels, avoiding harsh chemicals or heat on your hair, and getting enough sleep.

Have you tried zinc or red light therapy for your hair? What were your results? Share your experience with us in the comments below!

how toadvice

About the Creator

Health First

Let's get healthy! And things will change someday.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Health FirstWritten by Health First

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.