Humans logo

How we as a society treat each other?

The little nasty note .

By Lorne VanderwoudePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Like
A note which I found in the elevator

How do we as a society allow abusive behaviour towards one another? The way how our society has changed over the past fifty years is very suddle. These changes have crept in very slowly over the past years. This is what I mean when I say this.

I was housekeeper in this low income apartment for five years. I tried to clean this place the best which I could with the cleaners and tools which my bosses gave me to use. I tried to be friendly and to treat all the tenants with respect.

I will let you know as the reader that as of October 28 of this year, I was pulled from this apartment due to my health. I now am working in another department which is in the same company which I have been with for the past fifteen years. My life is a lot better since I do not have to put up with abuse like this since that date. I am a very friendly person and I do like to chat with everyone who I come across. I do try to deal with any complaints personally that these tenants have so we can keep management out of the situation. I did try to fix any cleaning problem which they might have.

This note always reminds me how one person’s rude treatment can ruin one’s working experience in a work place. I was told by my bosses that I was not allowed to talk too much to these people. The problem was with my talking and not with my cleaning.

This did not make any sense to me because if my talking did not interfere with my cleaning, then why was that an issue? I was told that as long as they were paying me, I had to do what I was told. I was told to never stop being me but just do not talk too much to people. I was told that my cleaning was excellent.

I always thought that as long as you get your work done, then a little bit of visiting is okay. I received a lot of complaints that the building was very dirty and I spent too much time talking. Since I have not been the housekeeper, in the place, the tenants decided that I kept the place cleaner than the new housekeeper who replaced me. When the tenants inform me of their concerns, I do remind all of them that temporary, I do not work in the building. I request that they contact the manager of the building to make their concerns known to them. I remind them that I have nothing to do with the building for the time being. I could be back by February if my doctor signs me back to full duty.

Society sure has changed over the past fifty years. I do believe in the principle, “What comes around goes around.” Life sure can roll out changes which can be very helpful to make situations in your life a lot better than these situations were months ago.

Now, back to my question of how we as a society treat each other? The world needs people who think of others before they think of theirselves. There is a good saying out there which I have heard as a child. “Do unto others as you would have done to you.”

People here in this world, have one hobby which they enjoy doing so very nicely. They enjoy complaining about others. In this society, most people have two very bad habits. They think of theirselves a lot and then complain tons about everything and everyone. However, this does not make for a good society if this is all the People we have in that society. This is why we need people like myself who are friendly and very much thinking about the needs of others rather than just thinking about what would be best for my life.

This is why there are many people who complain about people who like to chat with others saying that people like me do not get our work done because of our chatting. These people want people like me to act like theirselves. They want everyone to be self centred and selfish only saying “ Hello” or “Goodbye.” Therefore, it is what these particular people are all about. This was why this person wrote that note and put it in my elevator that morning so long ago. Is this how our society treats people like me? These are questions that we do have to ask. How people react to each other over the years, in my opinion, has changed. It was not against any rules to be too friendly to people as long as your work which one is getting Paid for got done. Now, it is a part of our society to punish those who are very outgoing and caring. This change is not for the good but rather not very good for our society.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Lorne Vanderwoude

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.