Humans logo

Our walk down memory lane

Getting through 2020 and into 2021

By Lorne VanderwoudePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
This picture was taken while we were waiting for another delivery.

Our journey on this uncertain path started around a year ago when we learned about a pandemic called Covid-19. I was still driving a taxi for a company which I had been with for a few years. I had been driving a taxi since June 1 of 1993. I drove a taxi from June of that year until May 7 of 2005, when I decided to end my full-time driving career with a part-time one instead.

This was when I started a full-time security guard position at a University. I took a break from driving a taxi for three months, -then joined a new taxi company which had just opened the doors. I worked for that security company from February 15 of 2005, until December 2 of 2007, when I joined a long-term care facility. I have been working for this company up to this point in my life. December 3 of this year will be fourteen years.

The taxi experience with this new taxi company went all the way when they closed the doors in April of 2012. I joined another new company that opened two months after the one which closed the doors. I was hired by this company that I drove for from June of 2012 until May 2015, when I rejoined the company I left to do the security guard job in 2005.

The end of March of 2020 was ending when I had to decide what to do with my taxi career. My wife and I were working for a delivery company which we started around two years earlier. With the restrictions of helping us keep safe from spreading the virus, working for both the taxi and our delivery company was out of the question. My wife and I decided to pick up more delivery shifts and drop the taxi for the time being.

Then at my main job, I went down from working in two worksites to working one site. This path which we have been following since March of last year until now, has been a complete challenge to us as a couple. There were a few lessons that we as a couple had to learn if we were going to get through this hard section of our lives.

The first lesson we had to learn was that we had to learn how to work together as a team to get through this rough patch in our lives. I did drop the taxi so that we as a couple could spend more time together while earning extra money to pay all of our bills. My wife worked from home in the day-time, dropped me off, and picked me up from my main job. She also dropped me off and up from my medical appointments, which I had from time to time.

The second lesson was to learn to appreciate each other for what-ever that person was doing extra in our relationship. There was no time to be negative or to be criticizing the other person's weaknesses. There is no "I" in the word team.

The third lesson we learned was learning to take time to work on our relationship. We have been married for almost twenty-seven years. We are super friends first and married partners second. We will get through this as a team and not by two individuals fightings to have our own way all of the time. As a dual team, we are on this journey together, which will get us through whatever comes in our way to arrive together on the other side of any difficult situation.

The pathway through 2020 into 2021 was a tough one to travel on. We had to stick together as a team, spend as much time together as we could and be positive towards each other in very negative situations until we got through the hard place which we found ourselves in at that time. We are not through this hard patch in our lives. With hard work and a positive attitude, we will get through this stronger than when we first started this tough spot in our lives. These are only suggestions of winning in a very harsh environment while not losing one's mind.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Lorne Vanderwoude

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.