Humans logo

How to unlock creativity

Authenticity is the daily practice of letting go of who we think we should be and embracing who we are.

By gaozhenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I always wanted to be an artist.

I deeply admire the life of the painter, the writer, the kinder, the quarreler of life. I long to be one of them.

I aspire to create as intensely as they do, to share my voice boldly.

Yet for most of my life, I never felt creative.

I remained in the background, voice and expression insecure, disempowered. I look longingly at those who share themselves freely -- those who create art, improvising, messy with grace, madly in love.

Over the years, I have dabbled in painting, fashion design, culinary art, sculpture, collage and writing.

However, I never felt like I had what other people had. I've never felt like I've lived a creative life; I often feel like an imposter.

I have been learning; I take classes, watch webinars and read books. But no matter what I do, the light and energy from the creative zone never seem to come from other people the way I see it.

Being creative is like working.

Identify as a creator

However, the one thing that doesn't feel like work to me is keeping a journal.

It's the outlet I turn to in my happiest and darkest moments. I was reflecting on a desire for an art form of my own when I pulled out my diary one night - and I realised I had one.

I'm creating with words, even though it's hard for me to see it.

However, I object to writing as my creative practice because all other mediums seem to shine more brightly.

There's a part of me that knows that if I were really a writer, I'd be more specifically in touch with the creative process.

It was both exciting and frightening. It feels vulnerable and alive.

Live a creative life

I write more and more consciously. I turned it into an exercise.

Through writing, I began to explore what it means to live a creative life.

For me, it means seeing the beauty, patterns, life force, connectivity and spirit of the world around me.

This means living with an open heart -- at our core, we are loving and creative.

The creative life is not about the art we actually create, it's about perspective.

I began to feel deeply that finding my creative voice and power was about changing my energy and perspective.

The power within

It means turning inward, feeling the creative, vibrant energy that makes art shine, making artists feel empowered and alive.

That was the part I was missing initially -- I was always looking for the outside to get into a creative life. In reality, it's always been inside me.

In order to live a creative life, we must recognize our inner strength.

I realize now that the more we look inward, the more we see the beauty and creativity we were born with. When we see ourselves with love, curiosity, and wonder, we begin to express love and expression more outwardly.

We shine more.

We express ourselves authentically and energetically.

The more love we find in ourselves, the more art, beauty and inspiration we can bring to the world.

How to truly express yourself

See what you are. Notice how creative you are in your life. Perhaps you notice amazing images that spontaneously emerge from your depths while you sleep. Or the doodle you scribbled on a napkin. Or it could be a fluid letter that gives style to a simple to-do list.

Respect your creative self. When you notice it, spend a moment in the place of witness. Honor it with your attention, with your love, and let it nourish and grow.

Improvise. Speak your truth, your beauty, and your light, no matter what sport you encounter. Connect to your creativity and let it guide how it should be expressed. Maybe you hum a song, maybe you write in your journal, maybe you create a nice meal or a poem. Let it form easily.

Find your constant. What is the form that you keep coming back to that feels natural to you? For me, it's a diary. Maybe it's something you know intuitively, or maybe it's something you imagine but haven't yet set foot in. I believe we are all endowed with creative gifts. Love the one that belongs to you. Let it affectionately hold your voice.

The more we reach inside and express ourselves from within, the more confidence, creativity, and radiance we can exude. Respect your innate creativity. It is already in you; The world needs who you are.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

gaozhen

Husband, father, writer and. I love blogging about family, humanity, health and writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.