Humans logo

How to Effectively Be What You’re Not

Success is achieved by developing our strengths, not eliminating our weaknesses. ”~ Marilyn vos Savant

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
How to Effectively Be What You’re Not
Photo by Gemma Chua-Tran on Unsplash

I often hear the words "be yourself." I love those words, and I truly believe that everyone should strive to be the strongest version of who they are. There is nothing more appealing than that person, even when society tries to push them away.

People with a strong desire are some of my favorite species. They can be good. They may be overly sensitive. However, they know what they want, they know who they are, and they know that no one else decides for themselves.

They stand for what they believe. And most important, they represent others when it comes to matters.

As a very powerful person, I also appreciate the beauty of the phrase "be yourself." However, I am also grateful for the soft side of quitting.

This includes making mistakes sometimes and admitting them. This includes opening my mind to the possibility of everything possible; seeing the good of the bad, understanding the behavior of those who may seem wrong (to me), taking advantage of the other side of the loving debate, and learning the details when I want to reject it.

As someone who preaches the importance of being who you are, I admit that I am fooling my self-conscious arm. Yes! I feel so wrong even to just say that.

This deception is well-known in the world of Positive Psychology, a name coined by Martin Seligman, Ph.D. psychological.

Now what is this strategy? If you're feeling down and depressed, it might be helpful to ask yourself:

"What did I enjoy doing this time?"

This not only puts you in a position to focus on goals, but also takes responsibility for helping those who may be hearing. It takes the form of your mind from "oh woe to me" to think of what will make you happy. It works.

When you can see yourself as something bigger than you are feeling right now, you are actually hitting a small button in your brain that will try to push you into that image.

This can work not only when you are feeling down, but for whatever purpose you may have in mind.

"What could I do to stay healthy?"

"What could I do to have my courage?"

"What could I do with my success?"

You do not embarrass yourself in any way; you just move your mind gently set on what works and is best for managing your life.

When I had a problem with depression, I often slept in my bed in the morning and did not want to get out. It seemed like no point.

I was given a beautiful baby at the age of twenty-three, and even though it was the light of my life, at that moment my identity felt torn in my soul.

The relationships I had at the time were abusive and emotionally abusive, perhaps on both sides. I never felt like myself and I felt very blocked. My tireless spirit turned into a small, depressed hole, crumpling deep inside my heart.

Now, this may sound strange to some, but I have always been fascinated by heroic women. I believe I have some military qualities within me (we all do), and when I think about them, I feel strong, as if I could do anything!

One day he just clicked. As I lay in bed, not wanting to get out of it, I thought, "What will the hero in me do?"

I got out of bed! I continued to use that word in many different ways and months. Now it has become part of me.

I am that heroic woman.

I am strong enough. I am not a victim of health conditions. I create my life and everything in it. I don’t respond to life. I make life what I want it to be.

To me, a hero is not a victim. A hero makes his life what he is; he creates himself.

When I put my mind to this state, I realize that some people are not in control of me; I control myself. No one is in control of how I feel.

In my relationships, I kept putting that control in someone else's hands, and it was only when I decided to regain control of my life that I finally realized that the relationship wouldn't work out in any way. Unfortunately, we had to part ways, but the lessons were learned and I was finally able to sit down and breathe.

Try this tool, and see how it changes your perspective the next time you feel stuck.

Who knew that pretending to be something you are not (in a good way) could reinforce the qualities you never knew were inside you

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.