Humans logo

How I Found Happiness And Purpose By Focusing On My Family And Community

External Expectations Forgotten

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
3
Tranquility In Abundance-Japan (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

I have always loved traveling. Ever since I was a kid, I dreamed of seeing the world, exploring different places, meeting new people, and learning new things. I was fascinated by the diversity and beauty of life on this planet. I wanted to experience it all. So when I grew up, I pursued a career that allowed me to travel extensively. I became a financial advisor, an educational consultant, and an international school director. I worked with clients and students from all over the world, helping them achieve their financial and educational goals. I also traveled for pleasure, visiting over 125 countries in my lifetime.

I thought I had it all. I had a successful career, a comfortable lifestyle, a lot of money, and a lot of fun. I thought I was happy and fulfilled. But deep down, I knew something was missing. I felt empty and restless. I felt like I was chasing something that I could never catch. I felt like I was living for others, not for myself. I realized that I was too focused on external expectations. I was too concerned about what others thought of me, what others wanted from me, what others expected from me. I was too busy trying to impress others, to please others, to compete with others. I was too distracted by the noise and the glamour of the world.

I neglected the most important things in life: my family and my community. I neglected my wife, who loved me unconditionally and supported me in everything. I neglected my friends, who were always there for me and cared for me. I neglected my neighbors, who were part of my home and my culture. I neglected myself, who deserved to be happy and at peace.

I decided to change my life. I decided to focus on my family and my community, not on external expectations. I decided to live for myself, not for others. I quit my job as a financial advisor and an educational consultant. I gave up my lavish lifestyle and my excessive spending. I sold most of my belongings and donated the rest to charity. I simplified my life and reduced my needs.

I kept my job as an international school director, but only part-time. I chose to work in schools that were located in developing countries or in remote areas. I chose to work in schools that were serving underprivileged or marginalized communities. I chose to work in schools that were making a positive difference in the world.

I continued to travel, but not for pleasure or for business. I traveled for learning and for service. I traveled to places that were rich in culture and history, but poor in resources and opportunities. I traveled to places that were facing challenges and problems, but also had potential and hope. I traveled to places that needed help and support, but also had something to offer and teach.

I learned so much from traveling to these places. I learned about their customs and traditions, their values and beliefs, their struggles and achievements, their joys and sorrows. I learned about their similarities and differences with me, their strengths and weaknesses, their challenges and opportunities, their dreams and aspirations. I also helped them in any way I could. I helped them with their education, their health, their environment, their economy, their social issues, their human rights. I helped them with whatever they needed or wanted, whatever they asked or requested, whatever they appreciated or valued.

I shared with them what I had learned from traveling to other places. I shared with them my knowledge and skills, my experiences and insights, my ideas and opinions, my stories and advice. I shared with them whatever they were interested or curious about, whatever they benefited or learned from, whatever they enjoyed or liked.

But most importantly, I shared with them myself. I shared with them my time and attention, my presence and company, my friendship and love. I shared with them myself as a human being who cared for them and respected them. I also brought back what they had taught me to my family and my community. I brought back their wisdom and lessons, their perspectives and views, their values and principles, their hopes and dreams. I brought back whatever inspired me or changed me as a person.

I shared with my wife what they had taught me about love and marriage, about partnership and teamwork, about commitment and loyalty, about happiness and fulfillment. We became closer than ever before. I shared with my friends what they had taught me about friendship and trust, about support and care, about fun and laughter, about gratitude and generosity. We became stronger than ever before.

I shared with my neighbors what they had taught me about community and culture, about diversity and unity, about cooperation and collaboration, about respect and tolerance. We became more connected than ever before. I shared with myself what they had taught me about myself and life, about who I am and who I want to be, about what I have and what I need, about what I do and why I do it. I became happier and more fulfilled than ever before.

I found happiness and purpose by focusing on my family and my community, not on external expectations. I found happiness and purpose by living for myself, not for others. I don't regret changing my life. In fact, I'm grateful for both experiences. They taught me valuable lessons about life and about myself. They taught me that sometimes you have to let go of the things that are distracting you in order to find the things that are fulfilling you.

They taught me that sometimes you have to focus on your family and your community in order to discover your happiness and your purpose.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee or a hot, fresh pizza by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on various topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

advice
3

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS9 months ago

    this is so amazing go to my post and read the one I have prepared for you

  • MecAsaf9 months ago

    Fantastic work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.