Humans logo

Home

In The BWCA

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Top photo: Joanna, Rose, Denise Bottom photo: Mary, Denise and Joanna

Every year in my 30's - 45 or so, I took three trips a year into the Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCA). Once a year it was a girls trip, which I loved as we would paddle in, find a quality campsite and stay there, taking day trips from that campsite. I thoroughly enjoyed these trips as we would go in just a little ways and then packing up and paddling out on the last day wasn't work. Fun times. In those early trips my friend Mary, was our leader and planner. Once I became familiar with the process, I could lead a trip. We had a favorite campsite that had the right cross breeze to keep the mosquitos away and it had a nice rippling stream that we took air mattresses down. So much fun in the sun and water.

One year after talking and talking my mother into going up there, she finally agreed to go. As we were portaging out, I heard her mumbling, "I could've stayed home and saw a chipmunk." Her problem with going into the boundary waters were bear. She didn't want to run into a bear or even see a bear, so I blamed her for seeing nothing but a chipmunk on that trip. I remember that trip where a friend decided it wasn't for her either. I never cared who didn't like it, I just knew that I would be back. The BWCA has always felt like home to me.

Other trips each year were with family. I would go on a couples trip (not always family) and a family trip. The couples trips we would plan a route that would take us in one way and we would come out another way. Sometimes we were able to do a loop, while other times we had to park in two different spots to accomplish that. As the kids got older they could do more and more and carry more. It was easier when that would happen, and I loved it up there even more. The blueberries and fish up there are the best. No wonder there are bear up there. They know where to fish and pick berries!

When there was a large fire up there in the late 90's, I decided to take a break from the BWCA. My current love interest liked camping in a popup, with 4 wheelers. And neither were part of the BWCA for me. Then a number of years ago, I started back up there and it wasn't the same way as we took motorcycles, or drove up and stayed in a cabin. One of the 3 children that grew up going to the BWCA continues that tradition by going up with a friend or friends. A couple years ago, that friend could not go and that is when my youngest son asked me to go with him.

I thought for sure I wouldn't be able to get in and out of the canoe, or get into and out of the tent. I said yes, before I could really think about it. As I said already, it feels like going home to me. My son assured me that he had all the equipment that we would need, including cots that would be easier for me to sleep on. I had gotten used to carrying an air mattress or minimally an inflatable to put under my sleeping bag. He did a very nice job of selecting the spot and of putting us on an island that was beautiful and had no critter problems. My mother would've loved it as we still saw critters but didn't have any on the island.

I have friends that are ministers, traditional healers, spiritual, and religious people. I asked for prayers and I really think that helped me to have such a nice time and I had no trouble getting around, even though I was aware of how I have aged. The BWCA became my home away from home for many years and it continues to feel that way.

travel
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.