Humans logo

Home In The Evergreens,

Home where you feel irrevocably safe, comfortable, accepted, and at peace.

By Misha AlslebenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
10
Photo by Wes Hicks on Unsplash

For many when you say the word home, they think of the place they go to retire to at night. A comfortable haven of brick or wood where family and friends gather and memories are made.

Home for me is where my heart and head are happy.

That means home can be in the arms of my husband or chasing my kids while we camp. Of course, we have a traditional "home" a house that as a family we have crafted into a home together. However, homes are in the end material objects. Should we ever find ourselves without it as we did in 2017 after our house fire. We have to remember that home is where and what you make it.

I can be home while not being home and for some, that may make absolutely no sense. For me, though it's in my soul. A home is a place where the people and things I love are, it's a place that brings me joy and happiness even if I don't have my favorite corner of the couch to curl upon.

I can feel home nestled amongst the evergreens with crisp air around me and I feel home sitting in my husband's car while we talk for hours under the stars in the middle of nowhere. Home is the feeling of my kids swinging their arms around me after a long day at school or after they've been gone. Home to me is having a bad day and then finally sinking into my husbands arms.

Home isn't just a house, it's not just a place, and never just a person. Home is a feeling. It's a feeling of security, warmth, and love.

Home is the one place in the world where hearts are sure of each other, a place of confidence, a place where we can tear off the mask of guarded and suspicious coldness that we are forced by the world to wear as self-defense. Where we pour unreserved communications of full confiding hearts. A spot that allows tenderness to gush out without any sensation of awkwardness or dread. Never a place, and always people because if you go back after all the people are gone all you see is what isn't there.

A home is a place your feet may leave but your heart never does. Home is where you build a life you love. When you decide to hit the road home can follow you but as roads go the road home is always the best one. Home is where we create our tomorrows by dreaming of them today.

A house is made with walls and beams and a home is made with love and dreams. Family & people are home and that means you will love and be loved for the rest of your life no matter what.

Anita Krizzan embodied this belief with her quote " I beleive all our lives looking for a home. & if we are really lucky we find it in someones loving arms. I think that's what life is, coming home."

Home is where love resides, memories are created, friends always belong, and laughter never ends. Hireath is such a beautiful word to describe the desire or longing for home. That feeling when all you want is to be 'Home' rather that is a place, person, or an actual physical house. Hireath: a deep longing for something, especially one's home.

Another favorite of mine is from Marvin Ashton "Home should be like an anchor, a port in a storm, a refuge, a happy place in which to dwell, a place where we are loved and can love."

Home; by my definition anyway is undoubtedly

Home is a place to treat friends like family and family-like friends. A place you long to go back to, and find solace you know exists there. Where small smiles and big alike are found shining. Rather its inside a home , surrounded by nature and the ones you love or in the arms of a warm squishy hug from your person.

Home is where you feel irrevocably safe, comfortable, accepted, and at peace.

family
10

About the Creator

Misha Alsleben

Wife & Mom Fueled by ;

Caffeine & Gratitude, when I’m not writing you’ll find me raising awareness about our planet’s needs , in the kitchen ,outside with the family, taking photos or in a bookstore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.