Humans logo

His money, Her problems

Marriage gone wrong

By Arielle Danielle Talbert Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
His money, Her problems
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

The day began just like any other day. Camille was sitting at the kitchen table drinking coffee while eating her toast. She felt not like herself this current morning. something was off but she couldn't put her finger on it. As she looked at all the unpaid bills all she could do was hang her head and cry. at this point she felt completely defeated. She always was the type of woman who could fix any situation. Due to the current circumstances, she knew that would be impossible. "Why Henry of all years to die, why the hell Nowwww" she screamed throwing all the bills to the floor. Her abusive, cheating husband had finally kicked the bucket. She was grateful for that, but it was too soon. Everything was in shambles. Camille hadn't had the chance to execute her escape plans. Now she was left with nothing. Her only reason for staying in the toxic marriage for so many years was because of his millions. The thing she couldn't baffle to save her life was where was all the money. She knew Henry was loaded but why didn't she have access to the money. Now after all she had endured, she was left with nothing but bills and regret. Sitting in this big beautiful house she was broke. With only a few thousand dollars in the bank, she needed to figure something out fast.

"Ding, dong, ding, dong" the doorbell rang. "Ughhh, who the hell could it be this early at my door" she whined. In her satin robe, hair a mess, she swung open the heavy wooden door.

"How may I help you," she asked with attitude. "Mrs. Winter, I'm Roger Blackstone one of your late husband's attorneys". "So what are you coming here so serve me with papers to vacate the premises," she asked? "Not at all Mrs. Winter, can I please come in so we can discuss a few things". "I guess, come on in," she said moving aside so he could enter. She allowed him to walk ahead of her so she could check him out. He walked as if he meant business. He dressed the part as well, seeing was believing though. "So what was so important you couldn't call" she spoke irritated. "Well Mrs. Winter, I also had something to show you," he said eagerly. "You can show me in the kitchen, it's straight-ahead". He walked in looking at the scattered mess on the floor. "Looks like I'm right on time," he said with a giggle. "Just have a seat, I have more important things to do". Camille was so drained she could care less would he had to show her. Soon as Roger sat he immediately pulled out a little black book. He slapped it on the table with pride. "Mr. Roger, that book must have a million dollars in it" throwing her head back with laughter. "Not exactly, but I promise it's enough to get your bills paid off," he said with a huge grin. This was no time for me to be greedy I had to take what I could get. "I'm listening Mr. Blackstone. "Your late husband was in bed with a lot of bad people". "Is that the reason for his death," I asked intrigued. "Maybe, the details are very vague to us". "Okay so what's in the little black book", I asked amused. "All I could make out was where to collect this check for $20,ooo made out to you". "You gotta be kidding me, Roger," Camille said screaming. "Not at all, but this check does have some stipulations". "I knew he wouldn't just give me anything without any strings attached". "You have to move out of his house and take only your belongings," Roger said sliding her a paper to sign. "Do you mind me asking why"? "So his girlfriend and kids can live comfortable," Roger said lowering his head. "Even from the grave he still abuses me," she said signing the papers. Camille took the check with relief. She knew if her little $20,000 check had stipulations she could only imagine the woman who ended up with the estate and all his millions would go through. "So what are you gonna do with that little black book," Camille asked? " "Give it to his girlfriend so she can deal with the rest, this book is her problem now".

marriage
1

About the Creator

Arielle Danielle Talbert

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.