Humans logo

Have you ever...?

Love of a lifetime

By Selena Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
I still look at those stars wishing you were next to me...

Have you ever fell in love with someone before you even saw them in the flesh? I have...

A simple paragraph about who I am, what I wanted and was looking for. A reply. It was very simple, yet sweet. The chats turned into messages that turned into texts, that turned into calls, that turned into a meeting...

I never had anyone who seemed to understand me. Not my parents, not my family, not my friends, so how could a stranger from another state seem to? We talked for months. He knew everything. Good and bad and still he stayed. We made plans to meet finally. A month turned into 3 days. I was so excited. He made the 4 hours and a half drive to come meet me. Have you ever opened your door and time stopped? I have...

You know how all the romance stories say time stopped, well, i finally understand what they meant. He was here, before me and it seems like we had done this before...our eyes meant and i just knew. I know that sounds so cliche, but i knew. I knew this man was the man for me. He hugged me and I never felt so safe, comfortable and like a pair of arms were made to fit me, but yet, here i was, being held in arms that seemed to know exactly how to hold me when they had never held me before. Have you ever been hugged so well that all your broken pieces have fit back together? I have...

The conversation always flowed easily. We would talk for hours and never tire. In person, it was even more amazing. He met my son, my parents and everything just seemed to fit. We had such a simple day but it was one of the best days of my life still. The way he would touch me as i went past him down the aisle in the store, the way he would reach for my hand to hold whether in the car or out walking. The kisses, ha, have you ever been kissed and if someone could ask you what your name is, you wouldn't be able to answer them? Not cuz your mouth is kissing, but because that kiss takes you somewhere where it doesn't even matter if someone is talking to you, let alone what your name is? I have...

The looks, compliments, flowers, notes and love letters. Telling you how beautiful you are, how lucky they are to have you, how much they love you. How they love what you think are your flaws. How your imperfections are perfection for them. How you are the most beautiful woman they have ever seen, let alone had the pleasure to be with. Have you ever felt like an ugly duckling every day of your life, even when other people called you beautiful but you never believed anyone til this one person not only said it to you, but truly made you feel like you were indeed beautiful? I have...

I cant even begin to describe what happened when we became one. It wasn't even about our bodies, it was so much more. Like you were offered a psychedelic mushroom for the first time and you went to a dimension you didn't even know existed. No scary hallucinations, only images from the most beautiful angels telling you all the secrets of the universe. Have you ever felt your soul meld with another soul? I have...

The conversation, the company, the jokes, banter, the affection, love, everything just fit. Him never watching The Notebook, your favorite movie, and him saying, lets watch it and him actually liking it. Crawling in his truck and hearing Al Green, Lets Stay Together. You thinking you were the only person your age that liked that kind of older music and here he is, listening to it too. Him wanting to spend time with your parents when none of your other partners wanted to. Him being so good with your son that your son says he wishes that he had him as his dad. Your best friend, your gram, telling you that you better not let him go, cuz he is one of the good ones. Have you ever had just a glance make your knees go weak? I have...

The nosey people. The prying people. The people who have to have control. The past mistakes. The judgmental, the closedmindedness, the hurt and anger. The tears, the love that was promised to not fade. All the excitement, the wishes, work, seem to disappear in just a moment of someone else's hatred. Someone else not understanding. Not having empathy or compassion. Not being able to fix it, only being able to watch in horror as it all is ripped away. Have you ever had your whole world walk out the door and never come back? I have...

Years pass...the pain and sadness still feel new. Tears still flow. His side of the bed is still empty. Still missing your best friend, lover. New love has came and gone. No one can fill the hole that is in your soul. Have you ever mourned someone who still walks this earth? I have...

love
Like

About the Creator

Selena

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.