Humans logo

Good deeds make the world a better place

Giving and receiving have the power to brighten up your day and improve your attitude.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

It is very true that it is more blessed to give than to receive. I appreciate any little gesture that comes my way because no one owes me anything. When people think enough of me to do something nice, I am elated. I feel more joy and such a sense of fulfillment, however, when I know that I have assisted someone else, especially those who really need help. Within the past three weeks since Thanksgiving, I have been the benefactor and also the recipient of a number of good deeds. I find it amazing to see how what goes around often does come back around and it gives me a very happy feeling.

My brother and sister in law and their nephew gave me a cooked turkey and a complete Thanksgiving meal because my husband was in the hospital. A lot of time, money, and love went into this much-appreciated gift. My youngest son wanted to buy two specific items for his older brother for Christmas. He found, however, that he had tapped out financially after purchasing a number of presents for his niece and nephews. I bought the two items for him and said he did not have to repay me. A ministry associate gave me $25.00 via Cash App for no reason and a good friend sent me an email with a $25.00 gift card to Starbucks to show love while my spouse was hospitalized.

Give to the less fortunate

My oldest son mentioned a man who was running out of food and wanted him to take him to a food pantry. I knew the lines would be long and this man does not like crowds so I decided to help. I boxed up some of my canned goods and items from my freezer for my son to take to him. I also purchased a few things at the grocery store and put them in the box. My son added some food that he had bought at the store and added it to the box. He took everything to the man and allowed him to think he had gone to the food pantry on his behalf. He never told him where the food actually came from. We have been blessed to repeat this good deed a second time.

My firstborn told me he received a $50.00 gift card from Belk and did some shopping with it. A few days later he called to say he got another gift card for $25.00. Although he had not finished his holiday shopping he gave me the $25.00 gift card then this morning took me to Belk so that I could use it. Instead of purchasing something for myself, I got gifts for my daughter and her oldest son. An older cousin received more food than she needed when she went to a food pantry and she shared some of her items with me two weeks in a row.

Be kind and give when you can.

Because of COIVD, I cannot see my grandchildren as I used to but each week I leave a care package on their front porch of the snacks and goodies that I know they enjoy. Three times within the past few weeks I did not feel like fixing my morning coffee and each morning there was a knock on the kitchen door. It would be my oldest son who had stopped by to bring me a cup of coffee on his way home from working the night shift. Last week he surprised me by taking me to Chilli's to eat and paying for it. ( Naturally, we used sanitizer, wore our masks, and social distanced).

One morning my debit card would not work in Kroger and a lady who saw my dilemma paid for my purchase Last week I saw a homeless man under a bridge and on the third day of passing that way I gave him $5.00. . I have had people to allow me to go ahead of them in line when I only had a few items and I found myself doing the same 3 or 4 times this week. I recently filled my son's gas tank up for him as he has done for me and his dad in times past. These are but a few of the ways I have experienced giving and receiving.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.